Books Young Adult Fiction Cinders & Sapphires (At Somerton #1)

Cinders & Sapphires (At Somerton #1) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/5e/36/ff/_000-1359849130.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
753   0
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 22, 2013
ISBN
1423171179
Buy This Book
      
One house, two worlds...

Rose Cliffe has never met a young lady like her new mistress. Clever, rich, and beautiful, Ada Averley treats Rose as an equal. And Rose could use a friend. Especially now that she, at barely sixteen, has risen to the position of ladies’ maid. Rose knows she should be grateful to have a place at a house like Somerton. Still, she can’t help but wonder what her life might have been had she been born a lady, like Ada.

For the first time in a decade, the Averleys have returned to Somerton, their majestic ancestral estate. But terrible scandal has followed Ada’s beloved father all the way from India. Now Ada finds herself torn between her own happiness and her family’s honor. Only she has the power to restore the Averley name—but it would mean giving up her one true love . . . someone she could never persuade her father to accept.

Sumptuous and enticing, the first novel in the At Somerton series introduces two worlds, utterly different yet entangled, where ruthless ambition, forbidden attraction, and unspoken dreams are hidden behind dutiful smiles and glittering jewels. All those secrets are waiting . . . at Somerton.

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

As an avid fan of Downton Abbey, I really enjoyed CINDERS & SAPPHIRES. The story swings from the privileged (but tension-filled) life of the Earl of Westlake's family to the difficult (and no less tension-filled) lives of the servants who take care of the family. The writing is clear and crisp and never gets in the way of the story itself. I thoroughly enjoyed the entire reading experience. The author has created a book that makes historical fiction feel accessible for younger YA readers or readers who are just trying out historical fiction.

The world-building is superb. I could see every scene, and I felt like I was living inside the world of Somerton (or London, depending). The story takes place in the difficult age of old social etiquette meeting new ideas of modernity (motor cars and women being educated) and that tension grows taut as the book progresses.

I enjoyed the characters, for the most part. I certainly found myself caught up in the narrative. I especially longed for Ada, the Earl's oldest daughter, to figure out a way to follow her dreams of being educated and her feelings for her first love without losing her family home or compromising her family's tenuous social position. While I didn't feel the all-consuming love for Ada or the other characters that I do when a book doesn't focus on such a large cast, I really loved the deft story-telling and sweeping plot.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I love the way Downton Abbey skips from one character's narrative/storyline to another, I was less enamored of that approach while reading. The end result of seeing bits of the story through so many different eyes is that I never fully connected with any of the characters the way I wanted to. I'm sure that spending more time with the characters in future books in this series will remedy that, as I truly did enjoy the story as a whole.

Final Verdict:

Accomplished story-telling and superb world-building make this sweeping historical a welcome addition to the historical fiction genre.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor February 02, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Sweeping Historical

What I Loved:

As an avid fan of Downton Abbey, I really enjoyed CINDERS & SAPPHIRES. The story swings from the privileged (but tension-filled) life of the Earl of Westlake's family to the difficult (and no less tension-filled) lives of the servants who take care of the family. The writing is clear and crisp and never gets in the way of the story itself. I thoroughly enjoyed the entire reading experience. The author has created a book that makes historical fiction feel accessible for younger YA readers or readers who are just trying out historical fiction.

The world-building is superb. I could see every scene, and I felt like I was living inside the world of Somerton (or London, depending). The story takes place in the difficult age of old social etiquette meeting new ideas of modernity (motor cars and women being educated) and that tension grows taut as the book progresses.

I enjoyed the characters, for the most part. I certainly found myself caught up in the narrative. I especially longed for Ada, the Earl's oldest daughter, to figure out a way to follow her dreams of being educated and her feelings for her first love without losing her family home or compromising her family's tenuous social position. While I didn't feel the all-consuming love for Ada or the other characters that I do when a book doesn't focus on such a large cast, I really loved the deft story-telling and sweeping plot.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I love the way Downton Abbey skips from one character's narrative/storyline to another, I was less enamored of that approach while reading. The end result of seeing bits of the story through so many different eyes is that I never fully connected with any of the characters the way I wanted to. I'm sure that spending more time with the characters in future books in this series will remedy that, as I truly did enjoy the story as a whole.

Final Verdict:

Accomplished story-telling and superb world-building make this sweeping historical a welcome addition to the historical fiction genre.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)