Books Young Adult Fiction Jerusalem A Family Portrait

Jerusalem A Family Portrait Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e0/0d/e1/_jerusalem-1359241888.jpg
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
501   1
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 16, 2013
ISBN
978-1596435759
Buy This Book
      

Jerusalem is a sweeping, epic work that follows a single family—three generations and fifteen very different people—as they are swept up in chaos, war, and nation-making from 1940-1948. Faith, family, and politics are the heady mix that fuel this ambitious, cinematic graphic novel.

With Jerusalem, author-filmmaker Boaz Yakin turns his finely-honed storytelling skills to a topic near to his heart: Yakin's family lived in Palestine during this period and was caught up in the turmoil of war just as his characters are. This is a personal work, but it is not a book with a political ax to grind. Rather, this comic seeks to tell the stories of a huge cast of memorable characters as they wrestle with a time when nothing was clear and no path was smooth. Show more Show less

Editor reviews

I’m a huge fan of graphic novels. I also love books that present historical events in an appealing way for reluctant readers. I was very excited when I received the graphic novel JERUSALEM from :01 First Second, one of my favorite graphic novel publishers.

First off, this graphic novel doesn’t flinch from what can be a very sensitive subject. We are introduced to two families in 1940 Palestine and follow them for three generations. They witness the chaos that comes right after World War II when the British pull out of Palestine.

This is an intriguing and brave concept that shows the horrors of war. Some scenes were almost too intense for me. Others though show that all those living in Palestine had to make hard decisions. I would have stopped reading if any group of individuals had been labeled the ‘bad guys’. Instead I felt the authors did a great job showing the passion of those who loved their county and were willing to die for it.

What didn’t work so much for me was how confusing the novel got at times as I felt there were almost too characters to keep straight. I almost wonder if instead of concentrating of all of the two families maybe just sticking with two individuals? That would have made the story easier to follow and for me to be more invested in the outcome. But that’s just me.

I do admit some of the illustrations were almost too intense for me, especially the ones that show children dying. The black and white illustrations show the starkness of the time period and the harshness of war.

This graphic novel shows so much of the history leading up to the building of Israel the nation. It doesn’t sugar-coat the story at all. I’d say this book would be great for engaging older reluctant readers who would otherwise be lost in this world event. Also I think it would be a great addition in a high school history class. I’m sure this novel would open up some interesting discussions.

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Graphic Novel Adaption of Founding of Israel Told through Eyes of Two Families

I’m a huge fan of graphic novels. I also love books that present historical events in an appealing way for reluctant readers. I was very excited when I received the graphic novel JERUSALEM from :01 First Second, one of my favorite graphic novel publishers.

First off, this graphic novel doesn’t flinch from what can be a very sensitive subject. We are introduced to two families in 1940 Palestine and follow them for three generations. They witness the chaos that comes right after World War II when the British pull out of Palestine.

This is an intriguing and brave concept that shows the horrors of war. Some scenes were almost too intense for me. Others though show that all those living in Palestine had to make hard decisions. I would have stopped reading if any group of individuals had been labeled the ‘bad guys’. Instead I felt the authors did a great job showing the passion of those who loved their county and were willing to die for it.

What didn’t work so much for me was how confusing the novel got at times as I felt there were almost too characters to keep straight. I almost wonder if instead of concentrating of all of the two families maybe just sticking with two individuals? That would have made the story easier to follow and for me to be more invested in the outcome. But that’s just me.

I do admit some of the illustrations were almost too intense for me, especially the ones that show children dying. The black and white illustrations show the starkness of the time period and the harshness of war.

This graphic novel shows so much of the history leading up to the building of Israel the nation. It doesn’t sugar-coat the story at all. I’d say this book would be great for engaging older reluctant readers who would otherwise be lost in this world event. Also I think it would be a great addition in a high school history class. I’m sure this novel would open up some interesting discussions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)