Books Young Adult Fiction Jerusalem A Family Portrait

Jerusalem A Family Portrait Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e0/0d/e1/_jerusalem-1359241888.jpg
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
400   1
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 16, 2013
ISBN
978-1596435759
Buy This Book
      

Jerusalem is a sweeping, epic work that follows a single family—three generations and fifteen very different people—as they are swept up in chaos, war, and nation-making from 1940-1948. Faith, family, and politics are the heady mix that fuel this ambitious, cinematic graphic novel.

With Jerusalem, author-filmmaker Boaz Yakin turns his finely-honed storytelling skills to a topic near to his heart: Yakin's family lived in Palestine during this period and was caught up in the turmoil of war just as his characters are. This is a personal work, but it is not a book with a political ax to grind. Rather, this comic seeks to tell the stories of a huge cast of memorable characters as they wrestle with a time when nothing was clear and no path was smooth. Show more Show less

Editor reviews

I’m a huge fan of graphic novels. I also love books that present historical events in an appealing way for reluctant readers. I was very excited when I received the graphic novel JERUSALEM from :01 First Second, one of my favorite graphic novel publishers.

First off, this graphic novel doesn’t flinch from what can be a very sensitive subject. We are introduced to two families in 1940 Palestine and follow them for three generations. They witness the chaos that comes right after World War II when the British pull out of Palestine.

This is an intriguing and brave concept that shows the horrors of war. Some scenes were almost too intense for me. Others though show that all those living in Palestine had to make hard decisions. I would have stopped reading if any group of individuals had been labeled the ‘bad guys’. Instead I felt the authors did a great job showing the passion of those who loved their county and were willing to die for it.

What didn’t work so much for me was how confusing the novel got at times as I felt there were almost too characters to keep straight. I almost wonder if instead of concentrating of all of the two families maybe just sticking with two individuals? That would have made the story easier to follow and for me to be more invested in the outcome. But that’s just me.

I do admit some of the illustrations were almost too intense for me, especially the ones that show children dying. The black and white illustrations show the starkness of the time period and the harshness of war.

This graphic novel shows so much of the history leading up to the building of Israel the nation. It doesn’t sugar-coat the story at all. I’d say this book would be great for engaging older reluctant readers who would otherwise be lost in this world event. Also I think it would be a great addition in a high school history class. I’m sure this novel would open up some interesting discussions.

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Graphic Novel Adaption of Founding of Israel Told through Eyes of Two Families

I’m a huge fan of graphic novels. I also love books that present historical events in an appealing way for reluctant readers. I was very excited when I received the graphic novel JERUSALEM from :01 First Second, one of my favorite graphic novel publishers.

First off, this graphic novel doesn’t flinch from what can be a very sensitive subject. We are introduced to two families in 1940 Palestine and follow them for three generations. They witness the chaos that comes right after World War II when the British pull out of Palestine.

This is an intriguing and brave concept that shows the horrors of war. Some scenes were almost too intense for me. Others though show that all those living in Palestine had to make hard decisions. I would have stopped reading if any group of individuals had been labeled the ‘bad guys’. Instead I felt the authors did a great job showing the passion of those who loved their county and were willing to die for it.

What didn’t work so much for me was how confusing the novel got at times as I felt there were almost too characters to keep straight. I almost wonder if instead of concentrating of all of the two families maybe just sticking with two individuals? That would have made the story easier to follow and for me to be more invested in the outcome. But that’s just me.

I do admit some of the illustrations were almost too intense for me, especially the ones that show children dying. The black and white illustrations show the starkness of the time period and the harshness of war.

This graphic novel shows so much of the history leading up to the building of Israel the nation. It doesn’t sugar-coat the story at all. I’d say this book would be great for engaging older reluctant readers who would otherwise be lost in this world event. Also I think it would be a great addition in a high school history class. I’m sure this novel would open up some interesting discussions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)