Jerusalem: A Family Portrait

Jerusalem: A Family Portrait Featured

 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
819   1
Write Review
Jerusalem: A Family Portrait
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 16, 2013
ISBN
978-1596435759
Buy This Book
      

Jerusalem is a sweeping, epic work that follows a single family—three generations and fifteen very different people—as they are swept up in chaos, war, and nation-making from 1940-1948. Faith, family, and politics are the heady mix that fuel this ambitious, cinematic graphic novel.

With Jerusalem, author-filmmaker Boaz Yakin turns his finely-honed storytelling skills to a topic near to his heart: Yakin's family lived in Palestine during this period and was caught up in the turmoil of war just as his characters are. This is a personal work, but it is not a book with a political ax to grind. Rather, this comic seeks to tell the stories of a huge cast of memorable characters as they wrestle with a time when nothing was clear and no path was smooth. Show more Show less

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Graphic Novel Adaption of Founding of Israel Told through Eyes of Two Families

I’m a huge fan of graphic novels. I also love books that present historical events in an appealing way for reluctant readers. I was very excited when I received the graphic novel JERUSALEM from :01 First Second, one of my favorite graphic novel publishers.

First off, this graphic novel doesn’t flinch from what can be a very sensitive subject. We are introduced to two families in 1940 Palestine and follow them for three generations. They witness the chaos that comes right after World War II when the British pull out of Palestine.

This is an intriguing and brave concept that shows the horrors of war. Some scenes were almost too intense for me. Others though show that all those living in Palestine had to make hard decisions. I would have stopped reading if any group of individuals had been labeled the ‘bad guys’. Instead I felt the authors did a great job showing the passion of those who loved their county and were willing to die for it.

What didn’t work so much for me was how confusing the novel got at times as I felt there were almost too characters to keep straight. I almost wonder if instead of concentrating of all of the two families maybe just sticking with two individuals? That would have made the story easier to follow and for me to be more invested in the outcome. But that’s just me.

I do admit some of the illustrations were almost too intense for me, especially the ones that show children dying. The black and white illustrations show the starkness of the time period and the harshness of war.

This graphic novel shows so much of the history leading up to the building of Israel the nation. It doesn’t sugar-coat the story at all. I’d say this book would be great for engaging older reluctant readers who would otherwise be lost in this world event. Also I think it would be a great addition in a high school history class. I’m sure this novel would open up some interesting discussions.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)