Books Young Adult Fiction Cartwheel: A Sequel to Double Eagle

Cartwheel: A Sequel to Double Eagle Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/01/68/bf/14619_cartwheel-1359115174.jpg
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
509   0
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 13, 2012
ISBN
9780984446032
Buy This Book
      
Two summers after Mike and Kyle uncovered a pair of priceless $20 gold pieces in a Civil War fort in Alabama, Mike is astounded to find Kyle show up on his doorstep in a souped-up 1957 Bel Air. Mike hasn t heard from his friend in two years, but when Kyle invites him to ride up to Birmingham to see Kyle s sister Annie, Mike doesn t hesitate. What Mike doesn t realize is that Kyle isn t going to see his sister. He is going to rescue her. For Kyle and Annie to escape somewhere safe, however, they re going to need cash and lots of it. When Mike tells them of a mysterious silver dollar that could be worth a fortune, it launches the trio on a cross-country thrill ride and a new coin quest a quest that just could save Kyle s and Annie s lives.

Editor reviews

Mike is trying to settle in for the summer with his father, stepmother, and baby brother, but he'd rather be home than spending time in Florida. When Kyle shows up at his door in a beat up Bel Air, he's certainly up for a road trip and to renew the friendship the two formed in Double Eagle. While Mike's father is a little reluctant to let him go, it's 1975, and young people were allowed a lot more freedom then! Kyle is now an emancipated minor after the death of his mother and desertion of his stepfather, and is determined to go to Alabama to pick up his sister, Annie. Annie is staying with an aunt and uncle, but claims that the uncle is abusive and she can't stay with them. Once the trio is assembled, they decide to investigate another coin related mystery, this time concerning the "cartwheel" a silver dollar manufactured by the government but supposedly destroyed before they could be distributed. If one of these existed, stolen from the mint somehow, it would be worth a huge amount. The best place to locate one of these, the group decides, is to head to the mint in Denver. Unfortunately, Mike's parents aren't thrilled about this trip, and the group spends a lot of time avoiding the police as well as buying and selling coins to get enough money for gas and food. When they make it to Denver, they connect with a coin dealer named Dan who was working at the mint at the time the cartwheels were produced, and who thinks that if the group can locate the original presses, some coins might have been stuck in them. Time is running short, however, and if coins are to be found, the group needs to hurry before the authorities catch up with them.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Numismatics on the open road

Mike is trying to settle in for the summer with his father, stepmother, and baby brother, but he'd rather be home than spending time in Florida. When Kyle shows up at his door in a beat up Bel Air, he's certainly up for a road trip and to renew the friendship the two formed in Double Eagle. While Mike's father is a little reluctant to let him go, it's 1975, and young people were allowed a lot more freedom then! Kyle is now an emancipated minor after the death of his mother and desertion of his stepfather, and is determined to go to Alabama to pick up his sister, Annie. Annie is staying with an aunt and uncle, but claims that the uncle is abusive and she can't stay with them. Once the trio is assembled, they decide to investigate another coin related mystery, this time concerning the "cartwheel" a silver dollar manufactured by the government but supposedly destroyed before they could be distributed. If one of these existed, stolen from the mint somehow, it would be worth a huge amount. The best place to locate one of these, the group decides, is to head to the mint in Denver. Unfortunately, Mike's parents aren't thrilled about this trip, and the group spends a lot of time avoiding the police as well as buying and selling coins to get enough money for gas and food. When they make it to Denver, they connect with a coin dealer named Dan who was working at the mint at the time the cartwheels were produced, and who thinks that if the group can locate the original presses, some coins might have been stuck in them. Time is running short, however, and if coins are to be found, the group needs to hurry before the authorities catch up with them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)