Books Young Adult Fiction Love Is All You Need: The Nature of Jade / Wild Roses

Love Is All You Need: The Nature of Jade / Wild Roses Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/2e/32/87/_love-is-all-you-need-deb-caletti-1358814291.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1294   1
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 01, 2013
ISBN
1442466367
Buy This Book
      

Get a double dose of realistic romance in this collection of two fan favorites from Deb Caletti. Love may or may not be all you actually need, but it’s easy to feel that it is when you’re wrapped up in one of these two stories from Deb Caletti. In Wild Roses, Cassie is in love, but she can’t let her stepfather know. Her mom’s husband is a beloved public figure, but a private nightmare whose manic phases and paranoia are getting worse. Cassie begins to fear for the safety of her boyfriend...and herself. In The Nature of Jade, Jade struggles with Panic Disorder. Her boyfriend is a calming influence…until she learns that he’s hiding a terrible secret. A secret that will force Jade to decide between what is right—and what feels right.

Editor reviews

What I Loved:
Prior to this omnibus, I had never read any of Deb Caletti's works. Obviously, I am familiar with her name, but I never used to read much contemporary fiction, so I just was not interested. Now that I've discovered my love for contemporaries, it was the perfect time to investigate Caletti's writing, and I am so glad that I did.

Both of the novels in this collection feature vibrant heroines with marvelously real voices. Cassie and Jade both confront serious issues in their lives but maintain a light enough tone to keep Caletti's novels from becoming bogged down in the sad circumstances. Caletti's heroines keep the novels entertaining from beginning to end. I adored the narration in both.

While the cover of the omnibus implies that Wild Roses and The Nature of Jade are all about romance, I found this not to be the case at all. The first book, Wild Roses, deals more with Cassie's relationship with her family as her step-father's creative genius sends him spiraling into madness. In The Nature of Jade, romance is a big part, but shares importance with familial issues and Jade's work with elephants in the zoo. Though sweet romances do happen in both stories, there is so much more going on here than just romance.

Deb Caletti is one of those authors who simply loves animals. Both stories include pet dogs with a lot of personality. The Nature of Jade also has the elephants, all quite distinct from one another and unique characters in their own right. On top of being cute and entertaining, Caletti considers the differences between the ways in which humans view the world and other animals. I love the way she weaves this into her stories so incredibly much.

What Left Me Wanting More:
The one thing I would like to see more of from Caletti is friendships. Cassie doesn't seem to have any friends and Jade also lacks any real close friendships, though she does have a group she regularly spends time with. The coincidence seemed a bit odd, especially given how much work was put into characterization. Both stories focus less on school than on what happens outside of it, but friends, or the lack of them, at school, have a serious impact on a teen, and I would have liked to see more of that.

The Final Verdict:
Though the omnibus title is a bit cheesy and misleading, I do love it, both for the beautiful cover and the Beatles reference. Both of these books are funny and touching, a steal at ten bucks for two novels!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Two Touching Novels for the Price of One

What I Loved:
Prior to this omnibus, I had never read any of Deb Caletti's works. Obviously, I am familiar with her name, but I never used to read much contemporary fiction, so I just was not interested. Now that I've discovered my love for contemporaries, it was the perfect time to investigate Caletti's writing, and I am so glad that I did.

Both of the novels in this collection feature vibrant heroines with marvelously real voices. Cassie and Jade both confront serious issues in their lives but maintain a light enough tone to keep Caletti's novels from becoming bogged down in the sad circumstances. Caletti's heroines keep the novels entertaining from beginning to end. I adored the narration in both.

While the cover of the omnibus implies that Wild Roses and The Nature of Jade are all about romance, I found this not to be the case at all. The first book, Wild Roses, deals more with Cassie's relationship with her family as her step-father's creative genius sends him spiraling into madness. In The Nature of Jade, romance is a big part, but shares importance with familial issues and Jade's work with elephants in the zoo. Though sweet romances do happen in both stories, there is so much more going on here than just romance.

Deb Caletti is one of those authors who simply loves animals. Both stories include pet dogs with a lot of personality. The Nature of Jade also has the elephants, all quite distinct from one another and unique characters in their own right. On top of being cute and entertaining, Caletti considers the differences between the ways in which humans view the world and other animals. I love the way she weaves this into her stories so incredibly much.

What Left Me Wanting More:
The one thing I would like to see more of from Caletti is friendships. Cassie doesn't seem to have any friends and Jade also lacks any real close friendships, though she does have a group she regularly spends time with. The coincidence seemed a bit odd, especially given how much work was put into characterization. Both stories focus less on school than on what happens outside of it, but friends, or the lack of them, at school, have a serious impact on a teen, and I would have liked to see more of that.

The Final Verdict:
Though the omnibus title is a bit cheesy and misleading, I do love it, both for the beautiful cover and the Beatles reference. Both of these books are funny and touching, a steal at ten bucks for two novels!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)