Books Young Adult Fiction Love Is All You Need: The Nature of Jade / Wild Roses

Love Is All You Need: The Nature of Jade / Wild Roses Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/2e/32/87/_love-is-all-you-need-deb-caletti-1358814291.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1177   1
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 01, 2013
ISBN
1442466367
Buy This Book
      

Get a double dose of realistic romance in this collection of two fan favorites from Deb Caletti. Love may or may not be all you actually need, but it’s easy to feel that it is when you’re wrapped up in one of these two stories from Deb Caletti. In Wild Roses, Cassie is in love, but she can’t let her stepfather know. Her mom’s husband is a beloved public figure, but a private nightmare whose manic phases and paranoia are getting worse. Cassie begins to fear for the safety of her boyfriend...and herself. In The Nature of Jade, Jade struggles with Panic Disorder. Her boyfriend is a calming influence…until she learns that he’s hiding a terrible secret. A secret that will force Jade to decide between what is right—and what feels right.

Editor reviews

What I Loved:
Prior to this omnibus, I had never read any of Deb Caletti's works. Obviously, I am familiar with her name, but I never used to read much contemporary fiction, so I just was not interested. Now that I've discovered my love for contemporaries, it was the perfect time to investigate Caletti's writing, and I am so glad that I did.

Both of the novels in this collection feature vibrant heroines with marvelously real voices. Cassie and Jade both confront serious issues in their lives but maintain a light enough tone to keep Caletti's novels from becoming bogged down in the sad circumstances. Caletti's heroines keep the novels entertaining from beginning to end. I adored the narration in both.

While the cover of the omnibus implies that Wild Roses and The Nature of Jade are all about romance, I found this not to be the case at all. The first book, Wild Roses, deals more with Cassie's relationship with her family as her step-father's creative genius sends him spiraling into madness. In The Nature of Jade, romance is a big part, but shares importance with familial issues and Jade's work with elephants in the zoo. Though sweet romances do happen in both stories, there is so much more going on here than just romance.

Deb Caletti is one of those authors who simply loves animals. Both stories include pet dogs with a lot of personality. The Nature of Jade also has the elephants, all quite distinct from one another and unique characters in their own right. On top of being cute and entertaining, Caletti considers the differences between the ways in which humans view the world and other animals. I love the way she weaves this into her stories so incredibly much.

What Left Me Wanting More:
The one thing I would like to see more of from Caletti is friendships. Cassie doesn't seem to have any friends and Jade also lacks any real close friendships, though she does have a group she regularly spends time with. The coincidence seemed a bit odd, especially given how much work was put into characterization. Both stories focus less on school than on what happens outside of it, but friends, or the lack of them, at school, have a serious impact on a teen, and I would have liked to see more of that.

The Final Verdict:
Though the omnibus title is a bit cheesy and misleading, I do love it, both for the beautiful cover and the Beatles reference. Both of these books are funny and touching, a steal at ten bucks for two novels!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Two Touching Novels for the Price of One

What I Loved:
Prior to this omnibus, I had never read any of Deb Caletti's works. Obviously, I am familiar with her name, but I never used to read much contemporary fiction, so I just was not interested. Now that I've discovered my love for contemporaries, it was the perfect time to investigate Caletti's writing, and I am so glad that I did.

Both of the novels in this collection feature vibrant heroines with marvelously real voices. Cassie and Jade both confront serious issues in their lives but maintain a light enough tone to keep Caletti's novels from becoming bogged down in the sad circumstances. Caletti's heroines keep the novels entertaining from beginning to end. I adored the narration in both.

While the cover of the omnibus implies that Wild Roses and The Nature of Jade are all about romance, I found this not to be the case at all. The first book, Wild Roses, deals more with Cassie's relationship with her family as her step-father's creative genius sends him spiraling into madness. In The Nature of Jade, romance is a big part, but shares importance with familial issues and Jade's work with elephants in the zoo. Though sweet romances do happen in both stories, there is so much more going on here than just romance.

Deb Caletti is one of those authors who simply loves animals. Both stories include pet dogs with a lot of personality. The Nature of Jade also has the elephants, all quite distinct from one another and unique characters in their own right. On top of being cute and entertaining, Caletti considers the differences between the ways in which humans view the world and other animals. I love the way she weaves this into her stories so incredibly much.

What Left Me Wanting More:
The one thing I would like to see more of from Caletti is friendships. Cassie doesn't seem to have any friends and Jade also lacks any real close friendships, though she does have a group she regularly spends time with. The coincidence seemed a bit odd, especially given how much work was put into characterization. Both stories focus less on school than on what happens outside of it, but friends, or the lack of them, at school, have a serious impact on a teen, and I would have liked to see more of that.

The Final Verdict:
Though the omnibus title is a bit cheesy and misleading, I do love it, both for the beautiful cover and the Beatles reference. Both of these books are funny and touching, a steal at ten bucks for two novels!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)