Of Triton (The Syrena Legacy #2)

Of Triton (The Syrena Legacy #2) Featured

 
4.3 (2)
 
4.0 (3)
2057   1
Write Review
Of Triton (The Syrena Legacy #2)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 28, 2013
ISBN
978-1250003331
Buy This Book
      
In this sequel to OF POSEIDON, Emma has just learned that her mother is a long-lost Poseidon princess, and now struggles with an identity crisis: As a Half-Breed, she’s a freak in the human world and an abomination in the Syrena realm below. Syrena law states that all Half- Breeds should be put to death. As if that’s not bad enough, her mother’s reappearance among the Syrena turns the two kingdoms—Poseidon and Triton—against one another. Which leaves Emma with a decision to make: Should she comply with Galen’s request to keep herself safe and just hope for the best? Or should she risk it all and reveal herself—and her Gift—to save a people she’s never known?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

I enjoyed that! Completely. Without thinking twice.

What I loved: This picks up where Of Poseidon left off and we're tossed right back into the tidal wave of action, adventure and romance with our favorite Syrena and Half-Breed. In keeping with the first book, Of Triton is told from alternating POV's and offers up quite a few surprises, some of which will garner smiles and others that will break your heart, but all are presented in Anna Banks' snarkilicious blend of wit, humor and sass.

Laws are meant to protect those they govern but what happens when holding to the letter of the law could cause more harm than good? This is the question Emma, Galen and the others have to answer when her mother's true identity comes into question. And while the two lovefish do want the overall result to work in their favor, they may find themselves on opposing sides especially where Emma's safety is concerned. However, a divided Syrena realm is not the happiest place under the sea and a fight is coming. Before all is said and done, there will be betrayal and, Triton's trident! lives will be lost leaving Emma and the others forever changed.

What left me wanting: Can I have Book 3 now? Pretty please with fish sticks on top?

Final verdict: I enjoyed this! Completely. Without thinking twice. ;)

Favorite quote(s):

"Poseidon's beard!"

"Triton's trident!"

"Completely. Without thinking twice."

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Loved It

Anna Banks doesn't waste a moment jumping right back into the action that was left interrupted at the brutal ending to Of Poseidon. Back with another witty tale, Anna Banks will take readers by storm with this excellent sequel to Of Poseidon.

From the first page, things are intense and action packed. Even as the book comes to a close, it doesn't let up at all. I read straight through this one in about two hours, my eyes glued to the page. There is such a good mix with this book - funny mixed with heart warming scenes mixed with some absolutely emotional scenes that made me a wreck. I was crying towards the end of the book.

The plot of Of Triton is epic! While I suspected a few pieces of the puzzle, most of it was a complete mystery until Anna Banks chose to share more details with readers.

I loved getting to know the characters of Of Poseidon a bit better. Galen and Emma are such an adorable couple, and I really like Rayna too. Rachel is one of those all around awesome characters - ex mafia lady who asks as a pseudo mother to Galen and Rayna when they are on land, how much cooler than you get!?

Readers won't be disappointed with Of Triton by Anna Banks. I loved it every bit as much as the first, and maybe even a little more. Of Triton dives deeper into the world of Syrena, landing Emma and the others in a struggle for the throne. Learning more about the syrena was awesome, as they are very unique of most mermaids. I really enjoyed Of Triton and I cannot wait to see what is next for Anna Banks.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.7  (3)
Characters 
 
4.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.3  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Lacking

Oh boy, where do I begin?

Of Triton was a mild disappointment for me. When I got my copy, I just stared at it for a minute. First of all, the cover is beautiful, even if I didn't quite think it fit the book. Maybe it would have fit Of Poseidon better. And then, WHY IS IT SO SHORT?? Like, this is what I have to hold of my Syrena urges until Of Neptune? Not enough.

Maybe I waited too long to read Of Triton. Built up WAY too much anticipation. Of Triton didn't seem to have nearly as much action going on. The whole book the characters seemed to be working up to the last few dramatic scenes. I enjoyed Of Triton (what little I got), but I wasn't thrilled about the book as a whole.

WHERE WAS GALEN?
Before I continue, Galen WAS present. So don't flap your flippers too much.
But, he was always so busy! And there were moments when I thought he was going to leave or betray Emma.

The ending was good. Not just because it ended, oh no, there was just SO MUCH packed into the last few chapters.

Of Poseidon was great, Of Triton was okay, but I know Of Neptune will be the best.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Review: Of Triton (Of Poseidon #2)

After long days, weeks, and months of unwavering patience, I am horribly disappointed by Of Triton. It's a highly anticipated sequel to Of Poseidon, the first book in the series. Of Poseidon started off beautifully. Every word, every sentence, every page, every chapter fits perfectly like a puzzle.

Of Triton isn't as good. I'll explain why.

The plot is good. Everything is perfectly paced and perfectly worded. I loved it. The setting, mostly involving or in the sea, is beautiful. I can feel as if I am there with Emma and Galen, fighting the evil and dark forces like Poseidon imposter's father. (I forgot what's her name.) Of Triton whispers many themes. I'm not going to mention the loudest of them all, however. It'll ruin the book.

The conflicts between the law and Emma, Of Poseidon and Of Triton against the law, and the long-lost Poseidon Princess versus most of the court are interesting, but not exactly entertaining. Yes, there's some good, enchanting pulse to it, but it isn't as strong as Of Poseidon's conflicts.

The ending is beautiful. From what I see, it looks like Of Poseidon and Of Triton will be the only books in the Of Poseidon Series. However, rumor has it that the third book, Of Neptune, will be released in 2014. I don't understand how is that possible. One possibility is there is going to be a fight/debate involving humans and Syrena.

Now I will explain why Of Triton isn't as good as Of Poseidon. I don't really know how to explain this but Of Poseidon has that inner flame. Its tone, maybe wording or plot, appealed strongly to me. Of Triton? Sure, there's some siren calling, but not as strong. What happen? Of Triton lost its voice? Ursula stole it?

Characters:

Note: Please give a moment of silence for one of our beloved characters who died in the battlefields. We will always miss you.

Emma and Galen are two peas not exactly in a pod. They are adorable together. Unfortunately they don't have a lot of moments together. I need more Emma/Galen moments.

Rating: Three out of Five

-ofpaperandwords.blogspot.com

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Love, love, LOVE this series!

In a genre that has seen so many new additions lately, it's hard to set yourself apart from all the rest. I mean, really-- how many times can you read about a mermaid and be surprised? Well, in Of Triton, apparently every single time I turn a page!

It is no surprise that I love this series. I love just about everything about it. First off, the writing is great. The plot moves along smoothly without lagging. It is constant action that keeps you turning the page. Also, the characters have great voice. I read so many YA books that have teenage characters that sound like adults. Emma sounds like a teenage girl. She's snarky and humorous at the right times, but serious when she needs to be. How could you not laugh (or in my case, snort) when you read things like: "faint smell of microwave death" and "Sleeping Beast"? (Of course, Sleeping Beast was a perfect description for the super cranky character.) And don't even get me started on the chemistry between Emma and Galen. Hubba hubba.

As in Of Poseidon, the alternating points of view were executed perfectly. Each character told his/her part of the story without seeming repetitive. I really love that, and I have to commend the authors that can pull it off successfully.

There were also new characters added in Of Triton that really stood out (for me). I loved Antonis. He just reminded me of this quirky old man that everyone thinks is crazy, but really he just doesn't give a rat's patooty about what people think. He was frank and a bit rough around the edges. Loved. Him. I cannot wait to see what role he will play in Of Neptune.

My final thoughts as I ended Of Triton was, how on earth will this series continue in Of Neptune? My heart absolutely broke and I felt the loss deeply. Read on, and you'll see what I mean. It was monumental!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Xalata Orbit and Melody Fret: The Hammer of Asttar
Xalata Orbit meets danger head-on when she leaves a troubled...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)