Books Young Adult Fiction Fangtabulous (Vamped Book 4)

Fangtabulous (Vamped Book 4) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e7/cc/d7/_000-1358175082.jpg
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
541   0
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 08, 2013
ISBN
0738731501
Buy This Book
      
Can a fanged fashionista take out a deadly Salem spirit?

Being on the lam from the Feds and the vampire council with no money is not as glamorous as it sounds, especially when I, Gina Covello, fashion queen of the undead, am forced to abandon my wardrobe. Salem, Massachusetts, seems like a great place to hide our supernatural gang. But who knew the city would be crawling with ghosts? The nasty spirit of George Corwin, infamous sheriff from the witch trial days, is on a killing spree. It’s up to us to take down the breath-stealing phantom—without blowing our cover.

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

Fangtabulous is a fast-paced, action-packed paranormal mystery that manages to feel a little bit Nancy Drew and a little bit Alias. I really enjoyed how fast the plot moved. There was never a dull moment! I also loved that the stakes were high, and that the ending was solid.

I appreciated that Gina, the heroine, had to figure things out and take action on her own. Yes, she often had her friends for back-up, but as the plot progressed, some of her closest allies were sidelined for various reasons. Gina stepped up to the plate with a healthy dose of moxie and a nice steak of compassion for those she was fighting against.

Finally, I loved the setting. Ms. Diver pays close attention to creating a spooky, authentic-feeling Salem, and I felt very grounded in the setting for the entire book.

What Left Me Wanting More:

There were a few scenes where I got a little lost and felt like I'd missed a transition that would help me reach the same conclusion Gina reached, given the same facts.

I also felt uncomfortable with the level of New Age philosophy and witchcraft in the book. For some readers, those two things will be what draws them to the book. But for readers who have a hard time with either of those things being a strong presence in a book, this may not be the right series for you.

Final Verdict:

Fangtabulous is an action-packed paranormal mystery that keeps readers turning pages.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor January 14, 2013
Last updated: January 14, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Paranormal Mystery

What I Loved:

Fangtabulous is a fast-paced, action-packed paranormal mystery that manages to feel a little bit Nancy Drew and a little bit Alias. I really enjoyed how fast the plot moved. There was never a dull moment! I also loved that the stakes were high, and that the ending was solid.

I appreciated that Gina, the heroine, had to figure things out and take action on her own. Yes, she often had her friends for back-up, but as the plot progressed, some of her closest allies were sidelined for various reasons. Gina stepped up to the plate with a healthy dose of moxie and a nice steak of compassion for those she was fighting against.

Finally, I loved the setting. Ms. Diver pays close attention to creating a spooky, authentic-feeling Salem, and I felt very grounded in the setting for the entire book.

What Left Me Wanting More:

There were a few scenes where I got a little lost and felt like I'd missed a transition that would help me reach the same conclusion Gina reached, given the same facts.

I also felt uncomfortable with the level of New Age philosophy and witchcraft in the book. For some readers, those two things will be what draws them to the book. But for readers who have a hard time with either of those things being a strong presence in a book, this may not be the right series for you.

Final Verdict:

Fangtabulous is an action-packed paranormal mystery that keeps readers turning pages.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)