The Hallowed Ones

 
4.3
 
3.3 (1)
1109   0
Write Review
The Hallowed Ones
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
978-0547859262
Buy This Book
      
Katie is on the verge of her Rumspringa, the time in Amish life when teenagers can get a taste of the real world. But the real world comes to her in this dystopian tale with a philosophical bent. Rumors of massive unrest on the “Outside” abound. Something murderous is out there. Amish elders make a rule: No one goes outside, and no outsiders come in. But when Katie finds a gravely injured young man, she can’t leave him to die. She smuggles him into her family’s barn—at what cost to her community? The suspense of this vividly told, truly horrific thriller will keep the pages turning.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: December 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Unique Twist to Dystopian/Vampire Tale

I couldn't wait to read this book! For one thing I loved the premise of a Amish teen getting ready for her Rumspringa, coming of age experience, right when all things break loose. In this case, vampires. You'd think this mixture of things wouldn't work but it does!

First off I loved the protagonist, Katie. The author does a great job showing a teen that questions. Why I mention this is I feel some books shy away from this when in fact most teens go through a time of questioning what they believe in. In this case it's Katie's Amish faith. It's assumed she'd wed her best friend Elijah after their Rumspringa experience. The horror that comes next is shown through Katie's eyes.

Another thing I loved is how the author didn't get preachy or knock down a faith. What was refreshing was how the whole idea of someone's faith, regardless if they're Christian, Muslim, Jew, or Wicca, can in fact be a protection against evil.

Katie's faith is challenged at times especially when the Elders refuse to listen to the truth. Katie risks everything when she finds a stranger outside their community when she gives him shelter even when the Elders want nothing to do with him.

Subtle horror elements throughout this story up the creepiness factor. Add to that a teen struggling with her faith and what she really believes in, make this a must read book!

Kuddos to the author for not being afraid to address some hard questions. I know that's what makes this amazing dystopian/vampire tale work!

Good Points
1. Great twist to dystopian/vampire tale
2. Love how author shows a real teen questioning not only her community but faith
3. Subtle horror adds to creepiness factor
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Review: The Hallowed Ones

*This review might contain spoilers*

Jeez… I’ve never read a book like this before. This was terrifying and enthralling since the beginning to the very end which, to be honest, had me mental ‘cause I want more.

This book is gruesome… gruesome in a way that makes your insides twitch when you read the killing scenes. The way Bickle described the deaths, the vampires, the Amish culture and Katie’s rebellion was amazing. I even screamed with the characters when they would freak me out. And when that happens to me while reading a book, it’s normally a good thing.

This story is centred on an Amish community. Katie is an obedient girl though rebellious at times. Certain day, a helicopter crashed in the fields and while Katie tries to help the pilot, she sees a pair of red eyes within the cockpit and the pilot is suddenly dragged and killed.

After that, the Outside world is changed. Rumours of riots and people running and stuff suddenly turns into an empty world where pandemonium is ruling. Some sort of disease was spread turning half of the population into vampires.

Now, the premise as itself had me craving for the book. Having the Amish and vampires together in one book sounded too good to be true. These were two things I thought were never seen together. And, though in the beginning I was slightly scared of what would come out of it, Laura Bickle managed to have me hooked from the beginning. Katie’s character changed a lot during the book.

There was a moment when I wanted to slap her because of her blinding faithfulness to her culture and rituals. But, after she finds Alex and saves him breaking every rule, she grows up and realises that, perhaps, being obedient and trusting only in God’s will is not enough.

There’s a lot of religion in the story. The Amish put their trust in God and believe they were chosen to survive. The Elders and the Bishop of the community were just annoying and I just wanted the vampires to kill them. Couldn’t they see what was going on? Katie, with Alex and “the wizard’s” help, where the only ones who believed that their survival little had to do with God. Katie’s struggle concerning her beliefs was really well scripted.

Her relationship with Elijah was a pure contrast with Alex. She found herself trusting an Outsider she barely knew instead of her best friend and supposed future husband. Her denial of being baptised only demonstrated the inner fight she was having.

I only wished the end would be more explored or that news concerning a second volume would come out. I felt that there was so much to tell, so much to discover; how the world would survive with the epidemic of vampires, if they would find a cure, what would happen to Alex, Katie and Ginger once they were expelled from the community. These small bits had my fingernails crawling for more.

I have a warning though; if you have a weak stomach, there are scenes that might be too strong for you. Limbless bodies and its descriptions were shocking and had my stomach turning.

I recommend it if you are tired of vampire romance; there’s nothing nice about these vampires. There’s also romance, which helps to smooth things for a bit. And a character that grows up in the hardest way.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"This is a book that you wish you could just sit down and read without interruption! Keeps you..."
Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."