Books Young Adult Fiction Flock (Stork Trilogy)

Flock (Stork Trilogy)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/19/28/3d/_flock-1354491612.jpg
 
4.0
 
4.7 (1)
534   0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
978-0763660109
Buy This Book
      
The climactic conclusion of a supernatural romantic trilogy starring a savvy, sharp-tongued heroine who taps into ancient Norse secrets.

After surviving her (shall we say) intense adventure in Iceland, Katla is psyched to be back for a blissfully uneventful senior year of homecoming and fashion explorations. But her hopes of dodging unfinished business are dashed by the arrival of two Icelandic exchange students: Marik, an oddly alluring merman-in-disguise, and Jinky, a tough gypsy girl. It seems Katla not only enraged the Snow Queen by rescuing her boyfriend, Jack, she also was tricked into promising her frail baby sister to the water queen — and Marik has come to collect. What’s worse, Katla doesn’t dare confide in anyone lest she endanger them, so even her soul mate, Jack, is growing suspicious. And now Katla’s stork dreams, her guide for matching babies with mothers, have become strange and menacing as well. Hold on for a thrilling finale as the heroine of Stork and Frost calls on her wits (and her wit) to protect those she loves and face a final mythic disaster.

Editor reviews

Coming home from Iceland and her crazy escapades to save her boyfriend, Jack, Katla is ready for her final year of high school to be relatively uneventful. And yet...she cannot escape her fantastical life. She is followed by two of the key players in helping her find Jack, and they are there to make sure she follows through with the pacts she made to receive that help from the gods.

Watching Katla's friends reactions to her 'acquaintances' as they begin attending her high school is quite amusing, and at the same time we get to witness her best friend, Penny, blossom into a woman (and more). As usual, strange, world-shaking events surround Katla wherever she goes, and she also seems to be acquiring more and more supernatural abilities--this time without much guidance to navigate the how's and what's and why's of keeping it all under control.

Katla and her family, and her friend Penny, are all so lovable and enjoyable to get to know. At times, I found the added elements of this story (and the last book, Frost) to be overwhelming and just too much. Although I'm guessing the author wanted to incorporate as much Norse mythology as she could, sometimes I just wished Katla was either a Stork or a psychic dreamer with connections to the god's realms--not ALL of it mashed up together. The Stork aspect of her life almost gets lost in this finale. HOWEVER, I need to say that somehow, the author made it ALL come together, which I appreciated, and *spoiler alert*

*SPOILER*

I have got to say how much I LOVED it that Katla gives up her powers altogether in the end. No one ever seems to do that or even get the chance in so many of these magical, paranormal stories. It made it seem so real that she chose to give them up and live a 'normal' life after all the good she did, instead of clinging to it all because it was her 'destiny or something. I applaud this unique twist to the story.

*SPOILER OVER*

Ahem. So. If you are a fan of paranormal, please check out this series. It is packed full of names and stories and info but was highly entertaining and unique.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Finale that Takes Flight

Coming home from Iceland and her crazy escapades to save her boyfriend, Jack, Katla is ready for her final year of high school to be relatively uneventful. And yet...she cannot escape her fantastical life. She is followed by two of the key players in helping her find Jack, and they are there to make sure she follows through with the pacts she made to receive that help from the gods.

Watching Katla's friends reactions to her 'acquaintances' as they begin attending her high school is quite amusing, and at the same time we get to witness her best friend, Penny, blossom into a woman (and more). As usual, strange, world-shaking events surround Katla wherever she goes, and she also seems to be acquiring more and more supernatural abilities--this time without much guidance to navigate the how's and what's and why's of keeping it all under control.

Katla and her family, and her friend Penny, are all so lovable and enjoyable to get to know. At times, I found the added elements of this story (and the last book, Frost) to be overwhelming and just too much. Although I'm guessing the author wanted to incorporate as much Norse mythology as she could, sometimes I just wished Katla was either a Stork or a psychic dreamer with connections to the god's realms--not ALL of it mashed up together. The Stork aspect of her life almost gets lost in this finale. HOWEVER, I need to say that somehow, the author made it ALL come together, which I appreciated, and *spoiler alert*

*SPOILER*

I have got to say how much I LOVED it that Katla gives up her powers altogether in the end. No one ever seems to do that or even get the chance in so many of these magical, paranormal stories. It made it seem so real that she chose to give them up and live a 'normal' life after all the good she did, instead of clinging to it all because it was her 'destiny or something. I applaud this unique twist to the story.

*SPOILER OVER*

Ahem. So. If you are a fan of paranormal, please check out this series. It is packed full of names and stories and info but was highly entertaining and unique.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Loved the ending!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Duks Castro Reviewed by Duks Castro August 03, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (82)

It's over?

Loved the ending!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)