Books Young Adult Fiction A Matter of Days

A Matter of Days

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/c9/47/6e/_a-matter-of-days-amber-kizer-1354297974.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
384   1
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 11, 2013
ISBN
0385739737
Buy This Book
      
On Day 56 of the pandemic called BluStar, sixteen-year-old Nadia's mother dies, leaving her responsible for her younger brother Rabbit. They secretly received antivirus vaccines from their uncle, but most people weren't as lucky. Their deceased father taught them to adapt and survive whatever comes their way. That's their plan as they trek from Seattle to their grandfather's survivalist compound in West Virginia. Using practical survival techniques, they make their way through a world of death and destruction until they encounter an injured dog; Zack, a street kid from Los Angeles; and other survivors who are seldom what they seem. Illness, infections, fatigue, and meager supplies have become a way of life. Still, it will be worth it once they arrive at the designated place on the map they have memorized. But what if no one is there to meet them?

Editor reviews

A Matter of Days is a realistic take on the apocalyptic novel. Set in the future where the BluStar pandemic virus has killed most of earth’s population. Nadia and her brother pack up and travel across what is left of the United States. Nadia takes to heart her father’s last bit of advice and her brother Rabbit is forced to use those survival skills taught by their father.

Amber Kizer’s writing is crisp and fresh. Her descriptive language weaves detail and plot development flawlessly. Kizer grabs the reader’s attention from page one and keeps them hooked till the end. She takes a unique approach when it comes to suspense with plot twists and intriguing characters. At every turn Kizer builds upon fear and anticipation that is better left read in the story than summarized here. My words cannot do Amber Kizer’s prose justice.

What I liked best about A Matter of Days is the realistic approach. The story is broken up by days since the pandemic. This adds to realistic feel of the novel. Her characters must use survival techniques and face real life survival scenarios. The people Nadia and her brother face truly illustrate the good and evil hidden in everyone. Nadia is a strong character but true to the rest of the book, she is a real teen. She has fears, she makes mistakes, and learns to take control of her situation.

A moving and chilly read- This should be on any dystopian readers’ “to read” list.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Joanne, Editor Reviewed by Joanne, Editor October 21, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (91)

A Must Have for the Dystopian Shelf

A Matter of Days is a realistic take on the apocalyptic novel. Set in the future where the BluStar pandemic virus has killed most of earth’s population. Nadia and her brother pack up and travel across what is left of the United States. Nadia takes to heart her father’s last bit of advice and her brother Rabbit is forced to use those survival skills taught by their father.

Amber Kizer’s writing is crisp and fresh. Her descriptive language weaves detail and plot development flawlessly. Kizer grabs the reader’s attention from page one and keeps them hooked till the end. She takes a unique approach when it comes to suspense with plot twists and intriguing characters. At every turn Kizer builds upon fear and anticipation that is better left read in the story than summarized here. My words cannot do Amber Kizer’s prose justice.

What I liked best about A Matter of Days is the realistic approach. The story is broken up by days since the pandemic. This adds to realistic feel of the novel. Her characters must use survival techniques and face real life survival scenarios. The people Nadia and her brother face truly illustrate the good and evil hidden in everyone. Nadia is a strong character but true to the rest of the book, she is a real teen. She has fears, she makes mistakes, and learns to take control of her situation.

A moving and chilly read- This should be on any dystopian readers’ “to read” list.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)