Books Young Adult Fiction A Matter of Days

A Matter of Days

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/c9/47/6e/_a-matter-of-days-amber-kizer-1354297974.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
531   1
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 11, 2013
ISBN
0385739737
Buy This Book
      
On Day 56 of the pandemic called BluStar, sixteen-year-old Nadia's mother dies, leaving her responsible for her younger brother Rabbit. They secretly received antivirus vaccines from their uncle, but most people weren't as lucky. Their deceased father taught them to adapt and survive whatever comes their way. That's their plan as they trek from Seattle to their grandfather's survivalist compound in West Virginia. Using practical survival techniques, they make their way through a world of death and destruction until they encounter an injured dog; Zack, a street kid from Los Angeles; and other survivors who are seldom what they seem. Illness, infections, fatigue, and meager supplies have become a way of life. Still, it will be worth it once they arrive at the designated place on the map they have memorized. But what if no one is there to meet them?

Editor reviews

A Matter of Days is a realistic take on the apocalyptic novel. Set in the future where the BluStar pandemic virus has killed most of earth’s population. Nadia and her brother pack up and travel across what is left of the United States. Nadia takes to heart her father’s last bit of advice and her brother Rabbit is forced to use those survival skills taught by their father.

Amber Kizer’s writing is crisp and fresh. Her descriptive language weaves detail and plot development flawlessly. Kizer grabs the reader’s attention from page one and keeps them hooked till the end. She takes a unique approach when it comes to suspense with plot twists and intriguing characters. At every turn Kizer builds upon fear and anticipation that is better left read in the story than summarized here. My words cannot do Amber Kizer’s prose justice.

What I liked best about A Matter of Days is the realistic approach. The story is broken up by days since the pandemic. This adds to realistic feel of the novel. Her characters must use survival techniques and face real life survival scenarios. The people Nadia and her brother face truly illustrate the good and evil hidden in everyone. Nadia is a strong character but true to the rest of the book, she is a real teen. She has fears, she makes mistakes, and learns to take control of her situation.

A moving and chilly read- This should be on any dystopian readers’ “to read” list.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Joanne, Editor Reviewed by Joanne, Editor October 21, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (110)

A Must Have for the Dystopian Shelf

A Matter of Days is a realistic take on the apocalyptic novel. Set in the future where the BluStar pandemic virus has killed most of earth’s population. Nadia and her brother pack up and travel across what is left of the United States. Nadia takes to heart her father’s last bit of advice and her brother Rabbit is forced to use those survival skills taught by their father.

Amber Kizer’s writing is crisp and fresh. Her descriptive language weaves detail and plot development flawlessly. Kizer grabs the reader’s attention from page one and keeps them hooked till the end. She takes a unique approach when it comes to suspense with plot twists and intriguing characters. At every turn Kizer builds upon fear and anticipation that is better left read in the story than summarized here. My words cannot do Amber Kizer’s prose justice.

What I liked best about A Matter of Days is the realistic approach. The story is broken up by days since the pandemic. This adds to realistic feel of the novel. Her characters must use survival techniques and face real life survival scenarios. The people Nadia and her brother face truly illustrate the good and evil hidden in everyone. Nadia is a strong character but true to the rest of the book, she is a real teen. She has fears, she makes mistakes, and learns to take control of her situation.

A moving and chilly read- This should be on any dystopian readers’ “to read” list.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)