Books Young Adult Fiction A Matter of Days

A Matter of Days

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/c9/47/6e/_a-matter-of-days-amber-kizer-1354297974.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
485   1
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 11, 2013
ISBN
0385739737
Buy This Book
      
On Day 56 of the pandemic called BluStar, sixteen-year-old Nadia's mother dies, leaving her responsible for her younger brother Rabbit. They secretly received antivirus vaccines from their uncle, but most people weren't as lucky. Their deceased father taught them to adapt and survive whatever comes their way. That's their plan as they trek from Seattle to their grandfather's survivalist compound in West Virginia. Using practical survival techniques, they make their way through a world of death and destruction until they encounter an injured dog; Zack, a street kid from Los Angeles; and other survivors who are seldom what they seem. Illness, infections, fatigue, and meager supplies have become a way of life. Still, it will be worth it once they arrive at the designated place on the map they have memorized. But what if no one is there to meet them?

Editor reviews

A Matter of Days is a realistic take on the apocalyptic novel. Set in the future where the BluStar pandemic virus has killed most of earth’s population. Nadia and her brother pack up and travel across what is left of the United States. Nadia takes to heart her father’s last bit of advice and her brother Rabbit is forced to use those survival skills taught by their father.

Amber Kizer’s writing is crisp and fresh. Her descriptive language weaves detail and plot development flawlessly. Kizer grabs the reader’s attention from page one and keeps them hooked till the end. She takes a unique approach when it comes to suspense with plot twists and intriguing characters. At every turn Kizer builds upon fear and anticipation that is better left read in the story than summarized here. My words cannot do Amber Kizer’s prose justice.

What I liked best about A Matter of Days is the realistic approach. The story is broken up by days since the pandemic. This adds to realistic feel of the novel. Her characters must use survival techniques and face real life survival scenarios. The people Nadia and her brother face truly illustrate the good and evil hidden in everyone. Nadia is a strong character but true to the rest of the book, she is a real teen. She has fears, she makes mistakes, and learns to take control of her situation.

A moving and chilly read- This should be on any dystopian readers’ “to read” list.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Joanne, Editor Reviewed by Joanne, Editor October 21, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (99)

A Must Have for the Dystopian Shelf

A Matter of Days is a realistic take on the apocalyptic novel. Set in the future where the BluStar pandemic virus has killed most of earth’s population. Nadia and her brother pack up and travel across what is left of the United States. Nadia takes to heart her father’s last bit of advice and her brother Rabbit is forced to use those survival skills taught by their father.

Amber Kizer’s writing is crisp and fresh. Her descriptive language weaves detail and plot development flawlessly. Kizer grabs the reader’s attention from page one and keeps them hooked till the end. She takes a unique approach when it comes to suspense with plot twists and intriguing characters. At every turn Kizer builds upon fear and anticipation that is better left read in the story than summarized here. My words cannot do Amber Kizer’s prose justice.

What I liked best about A Matter of Days is the realistic approach. The story is broken up by days since the pandemic. This adds to realistic feel of the novel. Her characters must use survival techniques and face real life survival scenarios. The people Nadia and her brother face truly illustrate the good and evil hidden in everyone. Nadia is a strong character but true to the rest of the book, she is a real teen. She has fears, she makes mistakes, and learns to take control of her situation.

A moving and chilly read- This should be on any dystopian readers’ “to read” list.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)