Books Young Adult Fiction The Almost Truth

The Almost Truth

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f1/9d/91/_13505666-1354288185.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
523   2
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
December 04, 2012
ISBN
1442440198
Buy This Book
      
From the author of Unraveling Isobel and The Education of Hailey Kendrick, a smart, romantic novel about a teenage con artist who might be in over her head.
Sadie can’t wait to get away from her backwards small town, her delusional mom, her jailbird dad, and the tiny trailer where she was raised…even though leaving those things behind also means leaving Brendan. Sadie wants a better life, and she has been working steadily toward it, one con at a time.

But when Sadie’s mother wipes out Sadie’s savings, her escape plan is suddenly gone. She needs to come up with a lot of cash—and fast—or she’ll be stuck in this town forever.

With Brendan’s help, she devises a plan—the ultimate con—to get the money. But the more lies Sadie spins, the more she starts falling for her own hoax…and perhaps for the wrong boy. Sadie wanted to change her life, but she wasn't prepared to have it flipped upside down by her own deception. With her future at stake and her heart on the line, suddenly it seems like she has a lot more than just money to lose....

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
The Almost Truth was the first Eileen Cook book I’ve read so I didn’t know what to expect. Cover and synopsis are deceiving. I thought it will be something like Stealing Heaven by Elizabeth Scott and Heist Society by Ally Carter but the whole storyline was revolving around Sadie’s identity and finally accepting herself.

Sadie’s lived with her mum in a trailer park hoping that she will escape her miserable life when she goes to college in the fall but after her mum spent the money she was saving for college she starts to plan to go through a con that will get her a lot of cash. So, mum spent her money on lawyer who was trying to get her con artist father out of prison. Well, we shouldn’t be calling him an artist, after all, he did get caught.

At first I didn’t like Sadie’s mum but after we see what she went through while Sadie’s dad was in prison I changed my mind and she was actually the only character that had personality. Others had these typical roles-best friend/boyfriend, snobbish rich guy…

This book had its twists and turns. Right after we learn the truth from Sadie’s mum I totally didn’t expect finding out something else entirely from her dad. All in all, it was enjoyable.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Zemira Reviewed by Zemira August 25, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (70)

Cute but forgettable

The Almost Truth was the first Eileen Cook book I’ve read so I didn’t know what to expect. Cover and synopsis are deceiving. I thought it will be something like Stealing Heaven by Elizabeth Scott and Heist Society by Ally Carter but the whole storyline was revolving around Sadie’s identity and finally accepting herself.

Sadie’s lived with her mum in a trailer park hoping that she will escape her miserable life when she goes to college in the fall but after her mum spent the money she was saving for college she starts to plan to go through a con that will get her a lot of cash. So, mum spent her money on lawyer who was trying to get her con artist father out of prison. Well, we shouldn’t be calling him an artist, after all, he did get caught.

At first I didn’t like Sadie’s mum but after we see what she went through while Sadie’s dad was in prison I changed my mind and she was actually the only character that had personality. Others had these typical roles-best friend/boyfriend, snobbish rich guy…

This book had its twists and turns. Right after we learn the truth from Sadie’s mum I totally didn’t expect finding out something else entirely from her dad. All in all, it was enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)