Parallel Visions (Teen Psychic #1)

Parallel Visions (Teen Psychic #1)

Featured
 
4.0
 
4.5 (1)
2295   0
Write Review
Parallel Visions (Teen Psychic #1)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
November 15, 2012
ISBN
B00A8763K6
Buy This Book
      
A new YA fantasy from award-winning author of SCARS and HUNTED Cheryl Rainfield.

Visions can kill you. Would you risk your life to save someone else’s?

Kate sees psychic visions of the future and the past—but only when she's having an asthma attack. When she "sees" her sister being beaten, she needs more visions to try to save her, along with a suicidal classmate—but triggering her asthma could kill her. Parallel Visions is the story of one brave, caring girl whose unusual gifts put her own life in danger.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Creative and Interesting.

This is a quick read about Kate, a lifelong asthma sufferer who sees visions whenever an attack strikes. She's able to see the past as well as the future, but her ability doesn't do a lot of good when no one believes that what she sees is real.

She longs to be a normal teen whose family doesn't hover 24/7 and whose not always known as the "sick girl" at school, especially around Gil, the guy she's crushing on. When Kate suffers multiple attacks in one day and sees two different life threatening situations, one involving her sister and the other, someone close to Gil, she'll have to decide if telling him about her ability is worth risking their friendship. Not wanting either person to suffer, Kate figures out how to bring on the visions in an effort to use her "weakness" to help, but each time she does, she poses an even greater risk to her own life.

This was my first book by author Cheryl Rainfield (who graciously provided an e-book copy for review) and I found her writing style to be creative and enjoyable. I liked that Kate was concerned about others and willing to do whatever she could to help them, even if the cost to her was great.

Good Points
Domestic abuse, bullying, rape and suicide are all relevant issues addressed in this book.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A

Great premise and quick read.

I was immediately drawn to the premise because I like reading about illnesses and I like the idea of psychic visions, and this combines them into one book.
Parallel Visions is a short and enjoyable read. I liked the character of Kate and how she really cared about her sister. Gil, the love interest is a genuine guy and I can see why Kate is attracted to him, she has had a crush on him for a while, and it is not just instant magnetism because of looks or anything like that. She has seen that he is kind and helpful to others, even the ones who are sick or hurt, and that especially gets Kate's attention since she has severe asthma.
The fantasy element is well done, and it really is a unique idea. It gets to me though how Kate has to suffer to have these visions, but she wants to because she desires to help others, especially her sister who may be in trouble.
I like how Parallel Visions really focuses on the family. Not only Kate and her family as a close knit unit but also Gil and his sister who is in a lot of pain, and he and his Nana come together to support her.
That is not to say I didn't have a few issues... There were times when Kate and Gil didn't sound like teenagers, they sounded like middle aged people having a conversation. It wasn't all of the time though and it didn't pull me out of the story, it is just something I noticed.
The story wrapped up well, and I can't wait to read more about Kate and Gil in the next book.
Bottom Line: Great premise and quick read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

Silent
For fans of The Book Thief and Raiders of the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
House of Furies
An all-new gothic horror series from the New York Times...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfall
A Nightmare on Elm Street meets Inception in this...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
10 Things I Can See From Here
Think positive. Don’t worry; be happy. Keep calm and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The History of Hilary Hambrushina
Hilary has one goal for her first year in junior...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Posted.png
From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kat Richardson isn’t running away from grief; she’s just hiding...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wonder of Us
Riya and Abby are: Best friends. Complete opposites. Living...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Slope Rules
Fifteen-year old Cally accepted her fate as one of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex, Approximately
In this delightfully charming...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
31618483.jpg
A new action-packed adventure series for young fans of Alex...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Maybe, just maybe, if I can convince Dad that I’m...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shae is sure the icy rage that claws at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)