Emblaze (The Violet Eden Chapters #3)

Emblaze (The Violet Eden Chapters #3)

Featured Hot
 
4.2 (2)
 
5.0 (1)
8939   2
Write Review
Emblaze (The Violet Eden Chapters #3)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
1402268467
Buy This Book
      
Violet Eden has accepted that she's part angel, part human-but nothing prepares her to be handed the key to the gates of Hell. Or worse, to be forced to turn the key over to the dark exile who saved and betrayed her: Phoenix.

Violet and her partner, Lincoln, will have to stop Phoenix, but it's hard enough fighting their soul-crushing need to be together. Violet begins to fear that the pull will soon become unbearable. As a brutal battle looms, Violet finds herself in dire straits as she teeters on the edge of a decision that could unleash a terror of horrifying repercussions.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.2
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Good addition to the series.

What I liked: action, non-stop thrills and romance - Emblaze has everything fans of The Violet Eden Chapters love. The battle to stop Phoenix takes Violet, Linc and the rest of their crew to the beautiful island of Santorini and from there, all hell breaks lose - almost. Twists and turns keep the story moving, the tension between Violet and Lincoln keeps you guessing and the cliff hanger of an ending will have you begging for the next installment in this series.

What left me wanting: Linc and Violet need to get together already. There, I said it. ;)

Final verdict: Good addition to the series.

Favorite Quote:

“Would you die for her?'
I almost stopped breathing.
I could feel his eyes on me.
'I do. Every day.”

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Wowza Factor

Violet is back! I'm totally a huge fan of this YA paranormal series. So when I received a galley of the third book, I did my own Snoopy dance of happiness!

Right off the bat, fallen angels literally crash in on Violet. But this time it’s around fellow classmates. Her fellow Grigori show up to help out. Just when she thinks they have things under control, her father takes a sudden interest in what’s going on with her. Not cool. Then Phoenix and his own band of fallen angels kidnap Steph. Violet needs to team up with her trainer and possible soul mate Lincoln in order to get her friend back. Once again not all is what it seems. Violet ends up having to go to the Greek island Santorini in order to exchange some ancient scriptures to get her friend back. She has to trust Phoenix, a rogue angel that he’ll not renege on his promise to get her friend back. One drawback is Phoenix wants the scriptures to unleash Lilith, the ultimate evil. Violet battles not only evil but her heart in this very satisfying third book.

I can sum this book up in one word: Wowza! There is so much to love about this series. There’s a love triangle, action, suspense, mystery, and lush descriptions.

This series is highly addictive! Just when you think you know what will happen next, the author throws in a curve or two to take you off guard. Violet’s father ‘suddenly’ is interested in what’s going on with Violet and this gets in the way. Add Josephine, a leader, who has her own secrets and interest in Violet.

The biggest plus of this series has to be the emotional punch that happens between Violet, Lincoln, and Phoenix. I have to say Phoenix is a great anti-hero. He does things for his own purposes, like kidnapping Steph in order to get the scriptures. But though he does terrible things he can’t deny his feelings for Violet. The reader isn’t quite sure what to think of this fallen angel or like Violet, whether or not to trust his true intentions.

Well-written with a huge wowza factor, I dare you to not get caught up in this tale!

Good Points
1. Great chemistry
2. Wowza factor toward the ending
3. Doesn't suffer from 'series' syndrome where story gets old after awhile
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Woah first review!

Well, since no one has read it yet, I'm not going to ruin this for anyone.
All I'm gonna say is that Jessica Shirvington did not disappoint, she certainly brought it.
Violet and Lincoln are still trying to be together, we get to know what Phoenix is thinking in one chapter which is super cool and something utterly disturbing happened but I'm not going to say what it was.
You have to read this book to know!
This book just continues to get better and better and thank God the story didn't end here because I love it and I want it to be an endless story!
Endless is the title for the next and #4 book in the Violet Eden Chapters.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."
The Slithery Shakedown: The Nocturnals (Grow & Read Early Reader, Level 2)
 
3.5
"In this sequel to The Midnight Meeting, we rejoin Bismark the sugar glider, Tobin the pangolin and Dawn the fox...."
Beat Bugs: In My Life (I Can Read Level 1)
 
4.0
"Illustrated with stills from the television program with light colored font, children will enjoy identifying the characters they know from..."
Scroll of Kings (The Lost Books #1)
 
4.0
"Alex is struggling as the apprentice to an elderly librarian at a castle filled with old, musty diaries and laundry..."
 
5.0
"Tristan's family decides to move from New York City to a small town after his father loses his job and..."
Sparks!
 
4.5
"Canine configuration engage! August, a cat, has created a robotic dog that his friend Charlie helps him run. With the..."
A Warp in Time (Horizon, Book 3)
 
4.0
"The children in the Killbots whose plane went down have suffered from having friends die, being stuck in all sorts..."
Marge in Charge and the Stolen Treasure (#2)
 
4.0
"Jemima and her little brother Jakey are being bedeviled by their baby cousin, Zara. Their Aunt Sally claims that her..."
Super Sweet Dreams (Puppy Princess #2)
 
4.0
"In this sequel to Party Time, Princess Rosie finds out that her best friend (and cat-in-waiting) Cleo's birthday is coming..."
How to Be a Supervillain: Born to Be Good (#2)
 
4.0
"Victor Spoil is back after defeating Dr. Deplorable in How to Be a Supervillian. He's still struggling with wanting to..."
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
 
4.0
"Lucy lives with her supportive grandmother, and frequently sees her uncle, who is young, fun, and a bit misguided. Lucy..."
Me, Frida, and the Secret of the Peacock Ring
 
5.0
"Paloma Marquez has to spend the summer in Mexico City with her mother, who has gotten a fellowship to study..."
The Parker Inheritance
 
4.0
"Candice's grandmother was a city official in the small town of Lambert before she fell into disrepute. She thought there..."
 
4.0
"In this level one beginning reader, Pete and his friends adventure into the back yard to look for bugs. They..."
My Weird School: Teamwork Trouble (I Can Read Level 2)
 
5.0
"This level two I Can Read book follows the exploits of Ryan, who loves all sports! He is on a..."
The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody
 
5.0
"Oliver is very interested in all of the details of the Civil War, so he's thrilled when his 7th grade..."
There Was an Old Pirate Who Swallowed a Map!
 
4.0
""There was an old pirate who swallowed a map. I don't know why she swallowed that map but it wasn't..."