Books Young Adult Fiction Emblaze (The Violet Eden Chapters #3)

Emblaze (The Violet Eden Chapters #3) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/3b/06/a4/_emblaze-jessica-shirvington-1352302006.jpg
 
4.2 (2)
 
5.0 (1)
3067   2
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
1402268467
Buy This Book
      
Violet Eden has accepted that she's part angel, part human-but nothing prepares her to be handed the key to the gates of Hell. Or worse, to be forced to turn the key over to the dark exile who saved and betrayed her: Phoenix.

Violet and her partner, Lincoln, will have to stop Phoenix, but it's hard enough fighting their soul-crushing need to be together. Violet begins to fear that the pull will soon become unbearable. As a brutal battle looms, Violet finds herself in dire straits as she teeters on the edge of a decision that could unleash a terror of horrifying repercussions.

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.2
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)

What I liked: action, non-stop thrills and romance - Emblaze has everything fans of The Violet Eden Chapters love. The battle to stop Phoenix takes Violet, Linc and the rest of their crew to the beautiful island of Santorini and from there, all hell breaks lose - almost. Twists and turns keep the story moving, the tension between Violet and Lincoln keeps you guessing and the cliff hanger of an ending will have you begging for the next installment in this series.

What left me wanting: Linc and Violet need to get together already. There, I said it. ;)

Final verdict: Good addition to the series.

Favorite Quote:

“Would you die for her?'
I almost stopped breathing.
I could feel his eyes on me.
'I do. Every day.”
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor March 12, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (415)

Good addition to the series.

What I liked: action, non-stop thrills and romance - Emblaze has everything fans of The Violet Eden Chapters love. The battle to stop Phoenix takes Violet, Linc and the rest of their crew to the beautiful island of Santorini and from there, all hell breaks lose - almost. Twists and turns keep the story moving, the tension between Violet and Lincoln keeps you guessing and the cliff hanger of an ending will have you begging for the next installment in this series.

What left me wanting: Linc and Violet need to get together already. There, I said it. ;)

Final verdict: Good addition to the series.

Favorite Quote:

“Would you die for her?'
I almost stopped breathing.
I could feel his eyes on me.
'I do. Every day.”

Was this review helpful to you? 
Violet is back! I'm totally a huge fan of this YA paranormal series. So when I received a galley of the third book, I did my own Snoopy dance of happiness!

Right off the bat, fallen angels literally crash in on Violet. But this time it’s around fellow classmates. Her fellow Grigori show up to help out. Just when she thinks they have things under control, her father takes a sudden interest in what’s going on with her. Not cool. Then Phoenix and his own band of fallen angels kidnap Steph. Violet needs to team up with her trainer and possible soul mate Lincoln in order to get her friend back. Once again not all is what it seems. Violet ends up having to go to the Greek island Santorini in order to exchange some ancient scriptures to get her friend back. She has to trust Phoenix, a rogue angel that he’ll not renege on his promise to get her friend back. One drawback is Phoenix wants the scriptures to unleash Lilith, the ultimate evil. Violet battles not only evil but her heart in this very satisfying third book.

I can sum this book up in one word: Wowza! There is so much to love about this series. There’s a love triangle, action, suspense, mystery, and lush descriptions.

This series is highly addictive! Just when you think you know what will happen next, the author throws in a curve or two to take you off guard. Violet’s father ‘suddenly’ is interested in what’s going on with Violet and this gets in the way. Add Josephine, a leader, who has her own secrets and interest in Violet.

The biggest plus of this series has to be the emotional punch that happens between Violet, Lincoln, and Phoenix. I have to say Phoenix is a great anti-hero. He does things for his own purposes, like kidnapping Steph in order to get the scriptures. But though he does terrible things he can’t deny his feelings for Violet. The reader isn’t quite sure what to think of this fallen angel or like Violet, whether or not to trust his true intentions.

Well-written with a huge wowza factor, I dare you to not get caught up in this tale!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor February 21, 2013
Last updated: February 22, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (393)

Wowza Factor

Violet is back! I'm totally a huge fan of this YA paranormal series. So when I received a galley of the third book, I did my own Snoopy dance of happiness!

Right off the bat, fallen angels literally crash in on Violet. But this time it’s around fellow classmates. Her fellow Grigori show up to help out. Just when she thinks they have things under control, her father takes a sudden interest in what’s going on with her. Not cool. Then Phoenix and his own band of fallen angels kidnap Steph. Violet needs to team up with her trainer and possible soul mate Lincoln in order to get her friend back. Once again not all is what it seems. Violet ends up having to go to the Greek island Santorini in order to exchange some ancient scriptures to get her friend back. She has to trust Phoenix, a rogue angel that he’ll not renege on his promise to get her friend back. One drawback is Phoenix wants the scriptures to unleash Lilith, the ultimate evil. Violet battles not only evil but her heart in this very satisfying third book.

I can sum this book up in one word: Wowza! There is so much to love about this series. There’s a love triangle, action, suspense, mystery, and lush descriptions.

This series is highly addictive! Just when you think you know what will happen next, the author throws in a curve or two to take you off guard. Violet’s father ‘suddenly’ is interested in what’s going on with Violet and this gets in the way. Add Josephine, a leader, who has her own secrets and interest in Violet.

The biggest plus of this series has to be the emotional punch that happens between Violet, Lincoln, and Phoenix. I have to say Phoenix is a great anti-hero. He does things for his own purposes, like kidnapping Steph in order to get the scriptures. But though he does terrible things he can’t deny his feelings for Violet. The reader isn’t quite sure what to think of this fallen angel or like Violet, whether or not to trust his true intentions.

Well-written with a huge wowza factor, I dare you to not get caught up in this tale!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Well, since no one has read it yet, I'm not going to ruin this for anyone.
All I'm gonna say is that Jessica Shirvington did not disappoint, she certainly brought it.
Violet and Lincoln are still trying to be together, we get to know what Phoenix is thinking in one chapter which is super cool and something utterly disturbing happened but I'm not going to say what it was.
You have to read this book to know!
This book just continues to get better and better and thank God the story didn't end here because I love it and I want it to be an endless story!
Endless is the title for the next and #4 book in the Violet Eden Chapters.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kenny Reviewed by Kenny December 18, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (48)

Woah first review!

Well, since no one has read it yet, I'm not going to ruin this for anyone.
All I'm gonna say is that Jessica Shirvington did not disappoint, she certainly brought it.
Violet and Lincoln are still trying to be together, we get to know what Phoenix is thinking in one chapter which is super cool and something utterly disturbing happened but I'm not going to say what it was.
You have to read this book to know!
This book just continues to get better and better and thank God the story didn't end here because I love it and I want it to be an endless story!
Endless is the title for the next and #4 book in the Violet Eden Chapters.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Order
Category: Young Adult Indie
Lana Crewe is a strong, fiercely driven seventeen year old living in a village ruled by fear. With their king...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)