Passion Blue Featured

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1119   1
Write Review
Passion Blue
Age Range
14+
Release Date
November 06, 2012
ISBN
978-0761462309
Buy This Book
      
When seventeen-year-old Giulia, the orphaned, illegitimate daughter of a Milanese nobleman, learns she’s to be packed off to a life behind convent walls, she begs an astrologer-sorcerer for a talisman that will secure what she’s certain is her heart’s desire: true love and a place where she belongs. But does she really know the compass of her heart? The convent of Santa Marta is full of surprises, including a workshop of nuns who are creating paintings of astonishing beauty using a luminous blue mixed from a secret formula: Passion Blue. As Giulia’s own artistic self is awakened she’s torn: should she follow the young man who promises to help her escape? Or stay and satisfy her growing desire to paint?

This richly imagined novel of a girl’s daring journey towards self-discovery transports readers into the fascinating world of Renaissance Italy where love and faith and art inspire passion – of many different hues.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: November 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Beautifully written YA Historical

I love books set in Italy. The blurb to PASSION BLUE intrigued me and I was very excited to be able to read this book which was everything I'd hoped for and much more!

Let's just say this book kept me up into the early morning. This story follows seventeen-year-old Giulia, who is the illegitimate daughter of a Milanese nobleman. Giulia doesn't have much left from her mother but a piece of an astrology reading that says she'll never wed. After her father's death, she's sent away to the convent of Santa Marta. While there she discovers a workshop of nuns who create paintings using the mysterious and beautiful blue paint: Passion Blue. Giulia longs to be a part of this workshop as she loves to draw. She finds that within the convent, this gift of hers is accepted. This makes it even harder for her to decide if she should flee or stay.

The life of a woman in the 1400s is show in rich, vivid details. Strauss did her homework! I especially loved seeing the contrasts between the nuns of noble birth next to the others. I didn't know they were separated like this!

This story swept me away to Milan, Italy. Strauss shows readers the wonders of the Italian Renaissance along with the hardships felt by women and others not of the ruling class.

Giulia is a complex character. Even though her artistic ability is seen as frivolous, she continues to draw. She longs to not be like her mother but rather be able to marry. We see how she struggles with being forced into a convent and the conflict she feels at the idea that maybe this might not be as bad as she'd feared. It seems that the convent was the only place a woman could thrive without the constraints of what society expected at that time.

There's also some intrigue going on in the convent of Santa Marta. Plus Ormanno,a mysterious cute journeyman, who promises to help Giulia escape. Add to that some 1400s girls within the convent who are cruel to those not of royal birth.

I also love the little details such as how the nuns made the paint for their paintings. Also the passion blue paint color intrigued me. I couldn't help but wonder how many other women were behind some of the great paintings in cathedrals throughout Europe. In the author's notes, Strauss does mention that her fictional character Maestra Humilita Moretti is based on a real painter nun.

Beautifully written, this YA historical will have readers follow a heroine on her journey through self-acceptance during the Italian Renaissance. A total must read!

Good Points
1. Beautifully written
2. Set in the Italian Renaissance
3. Coming of age story
4. Great details that bring to life 1400s Italy
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Xalata Orbit and Melody Fret: The Hammer of Asttar
Xalata Orbit meets danger head-on when she leaves a troubled...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)