Spark (Sky Chasers #2)

Spark (Sky Chasers #2)

 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1078   0
Write Review
Spark (Sky Chasers #2)
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
July 17, 2012
ISBN
0312621353
Buy This Book
      
Waverly, Kieran and Seth are in a race against time – and with the future of humanity hanging in the balance, there’s no room for mistakes…

After a desperate escape from the enemy ship, Waverly has finally made it back to the Empyrean. The memory of home has been keeping her alive for the past months… but home is nothing like she left it. Forced to leave their captive parents behind on the New Horizon, she’s returned only to find that Kieran has become a strict leader and turned the crew against Seth. What happened to the Kieran she thought she knew? Now Waverly’s not sure whom she can trust. And the one person she wants to believe in is darkly brilliant Seth, the ship’s supposed enemy. Waverly knows that the situation will only get worse until they can rescue their parents – but how?

Before they have time to make a plan, an explosion rocks the Empyrean, and Seth and Waverly are targeted as the prime suspects. Can they find the true culprit before Kieran locks them away… or worse? Will Waverly follow her heart, even if it puts lives at risk? Now more than ever, every step could bring them closer to a new beginning – or a sudden end.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Sci-Fi Meets Lord of the Flies

Just when I thought I was over dystopian novels, along comes one that knocks me off my feet. When I read the blurb for GLOW at first I thought it would be too similar to ACROSS THE UNIVERSE.

Boy was I wrong!

The sequel SPARK is no exception!

This is one action packed, nail biting novel that sweeps you right away into outer space. This novel picks up right where GLOW left off. Kieran is now captain and has become very 'religious' in his attempt to deal with the deaths of their parents. Waverly has come back and is hurt by Kieran's actions. He reminds her of the very person she hates: Ann Mather, the captain of New Horizon. Then there's the 'bad' boy Seth who has always loved Waverly but never thought he had a chance.

Mutiny is aboard too plus a terrorist who is doing everything to destroy Empyrean.

I totally love this series. Think Sci-Fi meets Lord of the Flies with a dash of Handmaiden's Tale. The kids are now the ones in charge of the crippled ship Empyrean after the attack from New Horizon. Seems the former captain wasn't exactly truthful either. Kieran struggles with truths that are revealed which put everything he believes in topsy turvy.

Kieran at first is relieved Waverly has returned but then is hurt at her so-called betrayal of how he is running the ship. Not everyone is camp Kieran either.

I really am hoping Seth and Waverly do get together. The chemistry between these too is there. Both are wounded. Both have lost a parent. What I do love is how flawed all these characters are. It would be so easy to do the typical love triangle thing but instead the author gives us characters we care about.

This fast-paced action/suspense thriller kept me glued to the pages. There's enough twists and turns to give the reader whip lash(in a good way!)

I can't wait to see what will happen next in the book FLAME. A must read for fans of YA Sci-Fi novels.

Good Points
1. Sci-fi meets Lord of the Flies
2. Action packed/ edge of the seat writing
3. Admit I love the 'bad boy' Seth
4. Fast-paced
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fast paced sequel to 'Glow'

'Glow' (Sky Chaser's #1) was my first space dystopian, so it has a special place in my heart. I was excited to read 'Spark' because the end of Glow broke my heart. I was so upset with Kieran's behavior and wasn't sure how I felt about Seth. So, I desperately needed to see where Amy Kathleen Ryan was going to take the story.

'Spark' picks up where 'Glow' left off. Seth has been miraculously let out of the brig, but finds that he must keep himself hidden. I loved getting to learn more about Seth. He has matured, and honestly I had to keep reminding myself that he is just a kid! He acts so mature and puts the entire ship (especially Waverly) first, which I love. I appreciated getting to know this side of him! Waverly is still trying to get past being on the New Horizon and the horrors she faced there. It was intense to read her POV because she is so angry. It's hard to read her because you can tell when she's letting her emotions control her actions, and that usually doesn't work out too well. The hardest character for me to read was Kieran. I adored him in the first book and it was so hard to see him make bad decisions in this book. He is so stubborn and can't get past his hurt. It made me so sad when he was just making decisions out of spite instead of for the greater good. I really hope there is some redemption for him in the 3rd book.

Overall this book is a great read. It is a very fast paced read and keeps you on the edge of your seat. I enjoyed the three different POV's (Kieran, Waverly & Seth) and thought that kept the book moving well. I cannot wait for the 3rd book and highly recommend this series. It's so interesting to me to think about what would happen if this situation were real. I think Amy Kathleen Ryan gives a good insight into how young adults/kids would handle such a stressful situation. It makes for a very interesting read. I feel like it's part Lord of the Flies in space! :)

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"This is a book that you wish you could just sit down and read without interruption! Keeps you..."
Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."