Fourmile

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ee/c1/83/_images-1350753600.jpg
 
4.7
 
4.7 (1)
449   0
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 18, 2012
ISBN
978-0374350956
Buy This Book
      


Twelve-year-old Foster knows in his gut that Dax Ganey, the man dating his widowed mother, is a bad seed. Then a mysterious stranger arrives at their Alabama farm, a former Army Ranger in Iraq rambling across the country, and Foster believes he has found an ally against Dax. The stranger proves a fascinating mentor, full of wisdom and secrets. And Dax soon has reason to resent not just him and Foster but also Foster’s mother. A spurned Dax will be a dangerous enemy, but Foster is increasingly aware that the stranger is just as dangerous, if not more so.

From the author of one of the most highly acclaimed children's survival adventures of the last decade comes this tautly wound new novel reminiscent of classic westerns, about a boy caught in the middle of a clash that may turn out to be his own battle to fight.

Editor reviews

Foster is still struggling with the death of his father, and is irritated that his mother is dating the volatile and unpleasant Dax. Dax is cruel to his dog Joe, rude to Foster, and controlling with his mother. The farm needs to be sold because they can no longer keep up with the work, and Dax is no help at all. One day, Foster meets Gary, who is walking across the US to get to Texas. He stays the night in the barn and starts to help out around the farm in exchange for being able to sleep in the barn. He won't tell Foster why he is walking to Texas, only that he was in the special forces in Iraq, but he is a huge help with the work around the farm, and also with helping Foster work through his grief about his father. When Foster's mother breaks up with Dax and Dax starts to threaten the family, Gary is an even bigger help. Foster knows that he and his mother will eventually have to move to the city to be with his grandfather, and that Gary will leave, but for a while, he needs to be at Fourmile Farm to work through things.
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Problems and suspense

Foster is still struggling with the death of his father, and is irritated that his mother is dating the volatile and unpleasant Dax. Dax is cruel to his dog Joe, rude to Foster, and controlling with his mother. The farm needs to be sold because they can no longer keep up with the work, and Dax is no help at all. One day, Foster meets Gary, who is walking across the US to get to Texas. He stays the night in the barn and starts to help out around the farm in exchange for being able to sleep in the barn. He won't tell Foster why he is walking to Texas, only that he was in the special forces in Iraq, but he is a huge help with the work around the farm, and also with helping Foster work through his grief about his father. When Foster's mother breaks up with Dax and Dax starts to threaten the family, Gary is an even bigger help. Foster knows that he and his mother will eventually have to move to the city to be with his grandfather, and that Gary will leave, but for a while, he needs to be at Fourmile Farm to work through things.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Foster's father died in an accident in the woods behind the farm, and now Foster's mother thinks it is time to sell the place and move the two of them back to Montgomery. Foster misses his dad, but he agrees it might be time for a change.

Another reason Foster wouldn't mind leaving the farm is his mother's new friend, Dax. Dax says he works for the power company, and he has started hanging around pretty regular. Foster doesn't trust the guy and neither does Foster's dog Joe. Fortunately, she keeps Foster busy with chores as she tries to fix up the property to sell.

One afternoon as Foster is painting the fence, he notices a stranger and a dog walking along the road. The stranger introduces himself as Gary and asks if he could use their hose to refill his water container. When it begins to rain, Foster begs his mother to let the man stay in their barn until the weather clears.

Foster is fascinated by Gary and his curious questions reveal that the man was in the military and is traveling to Texas. With Foster's help, Gary fixes the leaky barn roof and proves that he might be helpful around the place. As the days go by, Foster becomes attached to the wanderer.

When Dax stops by for a visit, he challenges Gary's right to be there. His temper flairs and a threatening side of Dax shows itself, frightening both Foster and his mother. Gary sends the bully on his way and promises to stand up to him should he return.

FOURMILE by Watt Key is sure to be a hit with reluctant readers. Readers will quickly connect with Foster and relate to his mixed feelings about leaving the place that holds final memories of his father. The mysterious Gary may have a dangerous secret, but he will win over fans as he protects Foster and his mom from the mean and nasty Dax. Key's previous fans will want to get their hands on this one, and he is sure to gain new fans that can be directed to ALABAMA MOON followed by DIRT ROAD HOME.
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Sally Kruger Reviewed by Sally Kruger January 01, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Great for middle grade boys

Foster's father died in an accident in the woods behind the farm, and now Foster's mother thinks it is time to sell the place and move the two of them back to Montgomery. Foster misses his dad, but he agrees it might be time for a change.

Another reason Foster wouldn't mind leaving the farm is his mother's new friend, Dax. Dax says he works for the power company, and he has started hanging around pretty regular. Foster doesn't trust the guy and neither does Foster's dog Joe. Fortunately, she keeps Foster busy with chores as she tries to fix up the property to sell.

One afternoon as Foster is painting the fence, he notices a stranger and a dog walking along the road. The stranger introduces himself as Gary and asks if he could use their hose to refill his water container. When it begins to rain, Foster begs his mother to let the man stay in their barn until the weather clears.

Foster is fascinated by Gary and his curious questions reveal that the man was in the military and is traveling to Texas. With Foster's help, Gary fixes the leaky barn roof and proves that he might be helpful around the place. As the days go by, Foster becomes attached to the wanderer.

When Dax stops by for a visit, he challenges Gary's right to be there. His temper flairs and a threatening side of Dax shows itself, frightening both Foster and his mother. Gary sends the bully on his way and promises to stand up to him should he return.

FOURMILE by Watt Key is sure to be a hit with reluctant readers. Readers will quickly connect with Foster and relate to his mixed feelings about leaving the place that holds final memories of his father. The mysterious Gary may have a dangerous secret, but he will win over fans as he protects Foster and his mom from the mean and nasty Dax. Key's previous fans will want to get their hands on this one, and he is sure to gain new fans that can be directed to ALABAMA MOON followed by DIRT ROAD HOME.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)