Salvation Featured

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1413   1
Write Review
Salvation
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 10, 2013
ISBN
014241770X
Buy This Book
      
A smart, unexpected romance from an award-winning author.

Salvador Resendez--Salva to his friends--appears to have it all. His Mexican immigrant family has high expectations, and Salva intends to fulfill them. He's student body president, quarterback of the football team, and has a near-perfect GPA. Everyone loves him.

Especially Beth Courant, AKA the walking disaster area. Dreamy and shy, Beth is used to blending into the background. But she's also smart, and she has serious plans for her future.

Popular guy and bookish girl--the two have almost nothing in common. Until fate throws them together and the attraction is irresistible. Soon Beth is pushing Salva to set his sights higher than ever--because she knows he has more to offer, more than even he realizes.

Then tragedy strikes--and threatens to destroy everything that Salva has worked for. Will Beth's love be enough to save him?

Thoughtful and romantic, this is a beautifully written story about following your heart and fulfilling your potential.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Another Marvelous Book from Osterlund

What I Loved:
My very favorite thing about Salvation is the subject matter. As we readers know, YA fiction tends to focus on a particular type of character: white and upper middle class. Sure, there's nothing wrong with those sorts of character, but there are a lot more types of people in the world, and fiction is meant to reflect life.

In Salvation, both of the main characters, Salva and Beth are both very poor, but very bright, standing a chance to get out of their town, where most people work at the onion factory. Beth lives in a battered trailer with her mother, who struggles with alcoholism. Luckily, Beth has a trust put aside for her education, if not for anything else. Salva, however, needs to get a full ride to whatever college he attends, which should be possible since he has a good shot at being the valedictorian.

Salva, short for Salvador (and also a pun on the title), is also Mexican (and note the lack of whitewashing on the cover!). He and his friends rule the school, the most popular kids at Liberty High. Beth has had a crush on him since eighth grade, but he's never paid any attention to her before. This changes when he needs her help to pass AP English, his weakest subject. Of course, in working together, they grow feelings and it's super cute.

Their relationship comes to be very slowly, really before either one of them particularly realizes it. Salva and Beth have so many preconceived notions about one another, whether good or ill, and watching them come to appreciate one another for real is just touching. Also, they flirt with Shakespeare, which has to be the best way to flirt. Never have I liked the death scene in Romeo & Juliet more. Best of all, once they finally do get together, it's really awkward, just the way fledgling relationships are with parents and how to act at school and how to act with one another.

Towards the end, I worried things were going to a bad place plot-wise, one of melodrama and needless tears, but Anne brought things together. All of the plot threads come together to make a satisfying ending, though not an unreservedly happy one. Of all of her books, I think this one definitely has the most serious message, one that will be wonderful for teens. Salvation is all about taking action, fighting for rights, doing your best, and finding your passion.

What Left Me Wanting More:
Salvation is written in third person limited, following Salva and Beth. The book might have been more powerful in first person, because, as it is, I never was able to completely bond with the characters. I really love Salva, but Beth proves a bit trickier. Beth is a quiet character, and I think really seeing through her eyes would have been a beautiful thing, because she clearly does not see things the way that I do.

The Final Verdict:
If you're looking for YA with diversity in both race and socioeconomic status, Salvation is a delight. Populated with lifelike characters and a lovely message, I highly recommend Osterlund's latest to lovers of contemporary novels.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)