Sirens (Faithful #3)

Sirens (Faithful #3)

 
4.0
 
3.3 (1)
1232   1
Write Review
Sirens (Faithful #3)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 08, 2012
ISBN
0142424307
Buy This Book
      
When Jo Winter’s parents send her off to live with her rich cousin on the glittering island of Manhattan, it’s to find a husband and forget about her brother Teddy’s death. But all that glitters is not gold,. Caught up in the swirl of her cousin’s bobbed-hair set—and the men that court them—Jo soon realizes that the talk of marriage never stops, and behind the seemingly boundless gains are illicit business endeavors, gangsters, and their molls. Jo would much rather spend time the handsome but quiet Charles, a waiter at the Algonquin Hotel, than drape herself over a bootlegger. But when she befriends a moll to one of the most powerful men in town, Jo begins to uncover secrets—secrets that threaten an empire and could secure Jo’s freedom from her family. Can her newfound power buy her love? Or will it to ruin Jo, and everyone around her?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fascinating

What I Loved:

The world building! Wow. From the very first word, the reader is completely drawn into the world of the Roaring 20's--flappers, glittering wealth, mobsters, bootleggers, and girls struggling to figure out how to be modern, independent women in a world that isn't quite ready to let them be more than their mothers ever dared. The setting is absolutely flawless. The slang, the costumes, the carefully seeded in historical details all create a fascinating backdrop for this story.

The dual narrators. This is the first time I've read a book where the dual narrators are both girls. I really enjoyed it because the voices are SO different, and one is telling her story as it happens while the other is summing up events for the police.

The ending. I don't want to give anything away, but Ms. Fox doesn't pull her punches, something I appreciate in an author. I was on the edge of my chair as I read. She truly delivered an ending worthy of this series.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I loved the dual narrators, I felt like the story lagged a bit during the first third of the book while we waited for their narratives to start overlapping. There were times when I had to "work" a bit for the story, which definitely isn't a bad thing! It's just a note that this is a story for readers who love historical fiction and who aren't in the mood for a book that spoon-feeds the reader.

I would've also loved to see a bit more of the gritty underbelly that was such a strong player in both the Roaring 20s and in the lives of our heroines. Bootlegging and mobsters are what set our heroines on a collision course with each other, but we don't spend much time with that side of the 20's.

Final Verdict:

SIRENS is a compelling story with vivid world building, strong heroines, and a nice touch of haunting emotional truth.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Heaven Knows, Anything Goes

I am going to be going back and reading the first two for sure. Overall a good read, and if you like mysteries and 1920's settings, you should try it out.

Good Points
I expected this to be something like the Bright Young Things series by Anna Godberson - of which I am not a fan. I was hoping for something like the Flapper series by Jillian Larkin. What I got was neither of those things - it was book entirely it's own, shiny new take on the 1920's Prohibition, organized crime and partying phenomenon. This was a book about a girl who actually doesn't care about being a flapper, as much as she'd like to be an independent career girl. Also the one flapper we really get to know, her cousin Melody, has a tragic backstory of her own. She is really only going through the motions and has something that matters more to her than partying ever could - even if she is disillusioned by life. I liked that it went back and forth between Jo's point of view and Lou's. They were two completely different women and it was definitely interesting to see the obvious discrepancies in the way they view the world. Being Irish and poor in America in the early 1900's forced Lou to fend for herself or find someone to take care of her - she chose the latter, and went with Danny Connor. Jo, from a very different background, is also learning that same lesson throughout the novel, but she chooses to fend for herself.
Along with the romance and partying in this book, came a murder mystery. The death of Jo's brother Teddy also was linked with a real-life political bombing that Fox used to very good affect. I especially enjoyed the detailed descriptions of NY in the 1920's. Fox has a serious gift with words.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
Shadow Wings
 
5.0
"Summary King Irdelron is dead. Lord Irrik is now Lord Tyrrik and free from his blood oath. Ryn is..."
 
4.8
"I'm not a big fan of Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones or most Fantasy. There is nothing..."
Seventeen
 
5.0
"I loved this novel, I liked the way it was written and it had me hooked. The plot flowed smoothly..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
5.0
"LEGACY OF LIGHT picks right up where the first one left off. They're all mourning Davi's death and are still..."
Something of Substance
 
5.0
"A heartbreaking look into a real-life problem. The story: Grace has lived her life feeling as if she wasn't..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.0
"A fun enemies to lovers romance. The story: Emma wants to find love... or at the very least, a..."
Ignited (Dance of the Elements, #1)
 
3.8
"The Republic is located in the desert and is ruled by the Thirteen. When Jura discovers a blood chain on..."
The Wing Collector
 
5.0
"Wow oh wow. Where to start? THE WING COLLECTOR is a completely original take on a faerie story and is..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"SORAYA is a prequel that introduces the reader to how the all-female Ixtrayu tribe came to be. After reading PAWNS,..."
Queens (The Wielders of Arantha Book 2)
 
5.0
"QUEENS picks up right where PAWNS left off . The message Maeve received from her husband in the first book..."
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Maeve and her son Davin find themselves stuck on a primitive planet that holds secrets they'll soon uncover. In PAWNS,..."
Seventeen
 
4.7
"I enjoyed the fact that this story was set in Australia. I liked the characters and enjoyed seeing them face..."
Acceptance The Jewel Trilogy Book one
 
5.0
"What I Liked: This was amazing! This is easily one of the best books I have read this year...."
Into Darkness
 
4.3
"The story: Fifteen-year-old Alexandra Spencer has led a life of privilege. That all disintegrates when her boyfriend Marcus..."
Fracture
 
5.0
"'Fracture' by Melanie Hooyenga was a fantastic sequel to 'Flicker,' the first in the book series. Biz's ability to flicker..."
Fathom
 
4.0
" FATHOM is a haunting and alluring story with the undeniable presence of Kira's mother who's supposed to be..."
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
 
3.5
"When Alex's dad goes missing, she is the only one who can find him because she's also the only one..."