Books Young Adult Fiction Sirens (Faithful #3)

Sirens (Faithful #3)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/d1/cd/02/_15768985-1350054610.jpg
 
4.0
 
3.3 (1)
422   1
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 08, 2012
ISBN
0142424307
Buy This Book
      
When Jo Winter’s parents send her off to live with her rich cousin on the glittering island of Manhattan, it’s to find a husband and forget about her brother Teddy’s death. But all that glitters is not gold,. Caught up in the swirl of her cousin’s bobbed-hair set—and the men that court them—Jo soon realizes that the talk of marriage never stops, and behind the seemingly boundless gains are illicit business endeavors, gangsters, and their molls. Jo would much rather spend time the handsome but quiet Charles, a waiter at the Algonquin Hotel, than drape herself over a bootlegger. But when she befriends a moll to one of the most powerful men in town, Jo begins to uncover secrets—secrets that threaten an empire and could secure Jo’s freedom from her family. Can her newfound power buy her love? Or will it to ruin Jo, and everyone around her?

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

The world building! Wow. From the very first word, the reader is completely drawn into the world of the Roaring 20's--flappers, glittering wealth, mobsters, bootleggers, and girls struggling to figure out how to be modern, independent women in a world that isn't quite ready to let them be more than their mothers ever dared. The setting is absolutely flawless. The slang, the costumes, the carefully seeded in historical details all create a fascinating backdrop for this story.

The dual narrators. This is the first time I've read a book where the dual narrators are both girls. I really enjoyed it because the voices are SO different, and one is telling her story as it happens while the other is summing up events for the police.

The ending. I don't want to give anything away, but Ms. Fox doesn't pull her punches, something I appreciate in an author. I was on the edge of my chair as I read. She truly delivered an ending worthy of this series.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I loved the dual narrators, I felt like the story lagged a bit during the first third of the book while we waited for their narratives to start overlapping. There were times when I had to "work" a bit for the story, which definitely isn't a bad thing! It's just a note that this is a story for readers who love historical fiction and who aren't in the mood for a book that spoon-feeds the reader.

I would've also loved to see a bit more of the gritty underbelly that was such a strong player in both the Roaring 20s and in the lives of our heroines. Bootlegging and mobsters are what set our heroines on a collision course with each other, but we don't spend much time with that side of the 20's.

Final Verdict:

SIRENS is a compelling story with vivid world building, strong heroines, and a nice touch of haunting emotional truth.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor December 22, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Fascinating

What I Loved:

The world building! Wow. From the very first word, the reader is completely drawn into the world of the Roaring 20's--flappers, glittering wealth, mobsters, bootleggers, and girls struggling to figure out how to be modern, independent women in a world that isn't quite ready to let them be more than their mothers ever dared. The setting is absolutely flawless. The slang, the costumes, the carefully seeded in historical details all create a fascinating backdrop for this story.

The dual narrators. This is the first time I've read a book where the dual narrators are both girls. I really enjoyed it because the voices are SO different, and one is telling her story as it happens while the other is summing up events for the police.

The ending. I don't want to give anything away, but Ms. Fox doesn't pull her punches, something I appreciate in an author. I was on the edge of my chair as I read. She truly delivered an ending worthy of this series.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I loved the dual narrators, I felt like the story lagged a bit during the first third of the book while we waited for their narratives to start overlapping. There were times when I had to "work" a bit for the story, which definitely isn't a bad thing! It's just a note that this is a story for readers who love historical fiction and who aren't in the mood for a book that spoon-feeds the reader.

I would've also loved to see a bit more of the gritty underbelly that was such a strong player in both the Roaring 20s and in the lives of our heroines. Bootlegging and mobsters are what set our heroines on a collision course with each other, but we don't spend much time with that side of the 20's.

Final Verdict:

SIRENS is a compelling story with vivid world building, strong heroines, and a nice touch of haunting emotional truth.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
I am going to be going back and reading the first two for sure. Overall a good read, and if you like mysteries and 1920's settings, you should try it out.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Anna Reviewed by Anna July 21, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (6)

Heaven Knows, Anything Goes

I am going to be going back and reading the first two for sure. Overall a good read, and if you like mysteries and 1920's settings, you should try it out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)