Books Young Adult Fiction Come August, Come Freedom: The Bellows, the Gallows, and the Black General Gabriel

Come August, Come Freedom: The Bellows, the Gallows, and the Black General Gabriel

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/14/38/9d/_come-august-come-freedom-1349897896.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
595   0
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 11, 2012
ISBN
978-0763647926
Buy This Book
      
An 1800 insurrection planned by a literate slave known as "Prosser’s Gabriel" inspires a historical novel following one extraordinary man’s life.

In a time of post-Revolutionary fervor in Richmond, Virginia, an imposing twenty-four-year-old slave named Gabriel, known for his courage and intellect, plotted a rebellion involving thousands of African- American freedom seekers armed with refashioned pitchforks and other implements of Gabriel’s blacksmith trade. The revolt would be thwarted by a confluence of fierce weather and human betrayal, but Gabriel retained his dignity to the end. History knows little of Gabriel’s early life. But here, author Gigi Amateau imagines a childhood shaped by a mother’s devotion, a father’s passion for liberation, and a friendship with a white master’s son who later proved cowardly and cruel. She gives vibrant life to Gabriel’s love for his wife-to-be, Nanny, a slave woman whose freedom he worked tirelessly, and futilely, to buy. Interwoven with original documents, this poignant, illuminating novel gives a personal face to a remarkable moment in history.

Editor reviews

Written about a slave in the 18th century and based off of actual documents tracking his plans for an uprising among his peers, with help from French and American 'abolitionists', this short book was unexpectedly a piece of literary genius.

The story begins quite beautifully, where we meet Gabriel as a nursing infant in quiet, intimate communion with his mother. The writing pulled me down into history, so that I was present at their tobacco plantation, in the heat, participating in their joyous few moments of 'freedom' and worship and dance, and involved in the various family dramas and power struggles displayed between the Master's family and different servants. I watched as Gabriel took after his freedom-fighting father and grew into a man who knew his worth and knew he, and all his friends and family, deserved to be free. I felt the deep longings and tinges of desire when he fell in love and his desperation for freedom began to take on an even deeper meaning and purpose. My heart fell as his dream fell apart before him, although I knew that the dream lived on not only in his wife and children, but in so many who came after him--though I knew the dream came to fruition almost a century later.

This story is not just a fantastic novel but an incredible historical work. It would do those studying this period of history in school just as much good as it did me, a college graduate. Because as you read it, it is as if you are reaching through time and space to grasp Gabriel's hand or look into his eyes and say, "I believe in you. I am with you." A must-read.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Nicholette Tilghman, Editor Reviewed by Nicholette Tilghman, Editor November 29, 2012
Last updated: November 29, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (120)

Dives Deep into the Heart of Slavery and Oppression

Written about a slave in the 18th century and based off of actual documents tracking his plans for an uprising among his peers, with help from French and American 'abolitionists', this short book was unexpectedly a piece of literary genius.

The story begins quite beautifully, where we meet Gabriel as a nursing infant in quiet, intimate communion with his mother. The writing pulled me down into history, so that I was present at their tobacco plantation, in the heat, participating in their joyous few moments of 'freedom' and worship and dance, and involved in the various family dramas and power struggles displayed between the Master's family and different servants. I watched as Gabriel took after his freedom-fighting father and grew into a man who knew his worth and knew he, and all his friends and family, deserved to be free. I felt the deep longings and tinges of desire when he fell in love and his desperation for freedom began to take on an even deeper meaning and purpose. My heart fell as his dream fell apart before him, although I knew that the dream lived on not only in his wife and children, but in so many who came after him--though I knew the dream came to fruition almost a century later.

This story is not just a fantastic novel but an incredible historical work. It would do those studying this period of history in school just as much good as it did me, a college graduate. Because as you read it, it is as if you are reaching through time and space to grasp Gabriel's hand or look into his eyes and say, "I believe in you. I am with you." A must-read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)