Books Young Adult Fiction Broken Wings (Angel Eyes Trilogy #2)

Broken Wings (Angel Eyes Trilogy #2) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/65/fa/a8/_13480874-1349703522.jpg
 
4.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
790   1
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 19, 2013
ISBN
1401686370
Buy This Book
      
Giant angels with metal wings and visible song. A blind demon restored from the pit of darkness. And a girl who has never felt more broken.

Brielle sees the world as it really is: a place where the Celestial exists side by side with human reality. But in the aftermath of a supernatural showdown, her life begins to crumble. Her boyfriend, Jake, is keeping something from her—something important. Her overprotective father has started drinking again. He’s dating a much younger woman who makes Brielle’s skin crawl, and he’s downright hostile toward Jake. Haunting nightmares keep Brielle from sleeping, and flashes of Celestial vision keep her off kilter.

What she doesn’t know is that she’s been targeted. The Prince of Darkness himself has heard of the boy with healing in his hands and of the girl who sees through the Terrestrial Veil. When he plucks the blind demon, Damien, from the fiery chasm and sends him back to Earth with new eyes, the stage is set for a cataclysmic battle of good versus evil.

Then Brielle unearths the truth about her mother’s death and she must question everything she ever thought was true.

Brielle has no choice. She knows evil forces are converging and will soon rain their terror down upon the town of Stratus. She must master the weapons she’s been given. She must fight.

But can she fly with broken wings?

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)

This is the beautifully written, action packed sequel to ANGEL EYES. Told from multiple POV's, it's a powerful and tangible story of holding onto faith in the midst of brokenness and defeat. One of the reasons I tend to steer away from Christian fiction is because the stories come across too sugary or too "good" and that's not how life is. However, I really appreciate that Shannon Dittemore doesn't shy away from depicting the darker side of faith, that belief in God isn't a guarantee of a pain-free life and, yes, it can be really hard to hold onto faith when your questions and prayers seem to go unanswered.

The characters and relationships in this story are complicated yet relateable and my heart broke for both Jake and Brielle. I'm not usually a fan of cliffhangers because it means I have to play the waiting game but I am really looking forward to how this story ends! :)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor February 23, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Powerful Sequel

This is the beautifully written, action packed sequel to ANGEL EYES. Told from multiple POV's, it's a powerful and tangible story of holding onto faith in the midst of brokenness and defeat. One of the reasons I tend to steer away from Christian fiction is because the stories come across too sugary or too "good" and that's not how life is. However, I really appreciate that Shannon Dittemore doesn't shy away from depicting the darker side of faith, that belief in God isn't a guarantee of a pain-free life and, yes, it can be really hard to hold onto faith when your questions and prayers seem to go unanswered.

The characters and relationships in this story are complicated yet relateable and my heart broke for both Jake and Brielle. I'm not usually a fan of cliffhangers because it means I have to play the waiting game but I am really looking forward to how this story ends! :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
I loved this book so much, I blurbed it. In this sequel to ANGEL EYES, the stakes are just as high, the action is nearly non-stop, and the relationships are complicated, authentic, and sometimes heartbreaking. I was thoroughly invested in the characters and the outcome of the plot the entire time. I really love that Ms. Dittemore isn't afraid to show that faith in God isn't an instant fix-it for all problems, and that sometimes holding on to faith and hope can be difficult. Especially when clear answers are slow in coming.

I love the new plot twists in this book, too. Ms. Dittemore did an excellent job of connecting Brielle's past with seemingly unrelated events in her present. The new characters are also very compelling, and I can't wait to see how this trilogy ends! Ms. Dittemore reminds me of a modern-day Perreti only with better romance. :)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor October 11, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Powerful, Honest, & Compelling

I loved this book so much, I blurbed it. In this sequel to ANGEL EYES, the stakes are just as high, the action is nearly non-stop, and the relationships are complicated, authentic, and sometimes heartbreaking. I was thoroughly invested in the characters and the outcome of the plot the entire time. I really love that Ms. Dittemore isn't afraid to show that faith in God isn't an instant fix-it for all problems, and that sometimes holding on to faith and hope can be difficult. Especially when clear answers are slow in coming.

I love the new plot twists in this book, too. Ms. Dittemore did an excellent job of connecting Brielle's past with seemingly unrelated events in her present. The new characters are also very compelling, and I can't wait to see how this trilogy ends! Ms. Dittemore reminds me of a modern-day Perreti only with better romance. :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)