Broken Wings (Angel Eyes Trilogy #2)

Broken Wings (Angel Eyes Trilogy #2) Featured

 
4.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1220   1
Write Review
Broken Wings (Angel Eyes Trilogy #2)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 19, 2013
ISBN
1401686370
Buy This Book
      
Giant angels with metal wings and visible song. A blind demon restored from the pit of darkness. And a girl who has never felt more broken.

Brielle sees the world as it really is: a place where the Celestial exists side by side with human reality. But in the aftermath of a supernatural showdown, her life begins to crumble. Her boyfriend, Jake, is keeping something from her—something important. Her overprotective father has started drinking again. He’s dating a much younger woman who makes Brielle’s skin crawl, and he’s downright hostile toward Jake. Haunting nightmares keep Brielle from sleeping, and flashes of Celestial vision keep her off kilter.

What she doesn’t know is that she’s been targeted. The Prince of Darkness himself has heard of the boy with healing in his hands and of the girl who sees through the Terrestrial Veil. When he plucks the blind demon, Damien, from the fiery chasm and sends him back to Earth with new eyes, the stage is set for a cataclysmic battle of good versus evil.

Then Brielle unearths the truth about her mother’s death and she must question everything she ever thought was true.

Brielle has no choice. She knows evil forces are converging and will soon rain their terror down upon the town of Stratus. She must master the weapons she’s been given. She must fight.

But can she fly with broken wings?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Powerful Sequel

This is the beautifully written, action packed sequel to ANGEL EYES. Told from multiple POV's, it's a powerful and tangible story of holding onto faith in the midst of brokenness and defeat. One of the reasons I tend to steer away from Christian fiction is because the stories come across too sugary or too "good" and that's not how life is. However, I really appreciate that Shannon Dittemore doesn't shy away from depicting the darker side of faith, that belief in God isn't a guarantee of a pain-free life and, yes, it can be really hard to hold onto faith when your questions and prayers seem to go unanswered.

The characters and relationships in this story are complicated yet relateable and my heart broke for both Jake and Brielle. I'm not usually a fan of cliffhangers because it means I have to play the waiting game but I am really looking forward to how this story ends! :)

Good Points
This is a clean read but still has plenty of swoon! (And by "swoon", I mean kissing.)
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Powerful, Honest, & Compelling

I loved this book so much, I blurbed it. In this sequel to ANGEL EYES, the stakes are just as high, the action is nearly non-stop, and the relationships are complicated, authentic, and sometimes heartbreaking. I was thoroughly invested in the characters and the outcome of the plot the entire time. I really love that Ms. Dittemore isn't afraid to show that faith in God isn't an instant fix-it for all problems, and that sometimes holding on to faith and hope can be difficult. Especially when clear answers are slow in coming.

I love the new plot twists in this book, too. Ms. Dittemore did an excellent job of connecting Brielle's past with seemingly unrelated events in her present. The new characters are also very compelling, and I can't wait to see how this trilogy ends! Ms. Dittemore reminds me of a modern-day Perreti only with better romance. :)

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Smart, funny 16-year-old Kat Monroe has the usual problems with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lily and Dunkin
For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Secret Daughter of the Tsar
A compelling alternate history of the Romanov family in which...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Science Experiments You Can Eat
With revised and updated material, a brand-new look, and hours...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"MouseStar 1" is surrounded by floating space junk! It's yucky...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The famouse opera singer Violetta von Cacklefur is in Gloomeria...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Thea Sisters are visiting a friend in sunny California...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fault In Our Stars
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wandering Wild
"I believe in possibility. Of magic, of omens, of compasses,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hello, My Name Is Tiger
A reassuring picture book for back-to-school jitters! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Read Me Like A Book
In her first novel for young adults, New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What This Story Needs Is a Hush and a Shush
Join Pig in another fun read-aloud adventure on the farm...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Dork (Pack of Dorks #2)
Lucy and her pack are back, in this sequel to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where She Went (If I Stay #2)
It's been three years since the devastating accident . ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange Bird
Dill is a duck. A perfectly ordinary duck. At least...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight #2)
verything in Echo's life changed in a blinding flash when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)