Books Young Adult Fiction Broken Wings (Angel Eyes Trilogy #2)

Broken Wings (Angel Eyes Trilogy #2) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/65/fa/a8/_13480874-1349703522.jpg
 
4.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
840   1
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 19, 2013
ISBN
1401686370
Buy This Book
      
Giant angels with metal wings and visible song. A blind demon restored from the pit of darkness. And a girl who has never felt more broken.

Brielle sees the world as it really is: a place where the Celestial exists side by side with human reality. But in the aftermath of a supernatural showdown, her life begins to crumble. Her boyfriend, Jake, is keeping something from her—something important. Her overprotective father has started drinking again. He’s dating a much younger woman who makes Brielle’s skin crawl, and he’s downright hostile toward Jake. Haunting nightmares keep Brielle from sleeping, and flashes of Celestial vision keep her off kilter.

What she doesn’t know is that she’s been targeted. The Prince of Darkness himself has heard of the boy with healing in his hands and of the girl who sees through the Terrestrial Veil. When he plucks the blind demon, Damien, from the fiery chasm and sends him back to Earth with new eyes, the stage is set for a cataclysmic battle of good versus evil.

Then Brielle unearths the truth about her mother’s death and she must question everything she ever thought was true.

Brielle has no choice. She knows evil forces are converging and will soon rain their terror down upon the town of Stratus. She must master the weapons she’s been given. She must fight.

But can she fly with broken wings?

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)

This is the beautifully written, action packed sequel to ANGEL EYES. Told from multiple POV's, it's a powerful and tangible story of holding onto faith in the midst of brokenness and defeat. One of the reasons I tend to steer away from Christian fiction is because the stories come across too sugary or too "good" and that's not how life is. However, I really appreciate that Shannon Dittemore doesn't shy away from depicting the darker side of faith, that belief in God isn't a guarantee of a pain-free life and, yes, it can be really hard to hold onto faith when your questions and prayers seem to go unanswered.

The characters and relationships in this story are complicated yet relateable and my heart broke for both Jake and Brielle. I'm not usually a fan of cliffhangers because it means I have to play the waiting game but I am really looking forward to how this story ends! :)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor February 23, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Powerful Sequel

This is the beautifully written, action packed sequel to ANGEL EYES. Told from multiple POV's, it's a powerful and tangible story of holding onto faith in the midst of brokenness and defeat. One of the reasons I tend to steer away from Christian fiction is because the stories come across too sugary or too "good" and that's not how life is. However, I really appreciate that Shannon Dittemore doesn't shy away from depicting the darker side of faith, that belief in God isn't a guarantee of a pain-free life and, yes, it can be really hard to hold onto faith when your questions and prayers seem to go unanswered.

The characters and relationships in this story are complicated yet relateable and my heart broke for both Jake and Brielle. I'm not usually a fan of cliffhangers because it means I have to play the waiting game but I am really looking forward to how this story ends! :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
I loved this book so much, I blurbed it. In this sequel to ANGEL EYES, the stakes are just as high, the action is nearly non-stop, and the relationships are complicated, authentic, and sometimes heartbreaking. I was thoroughly invested in the characters and the outcome of the plot the entire time. I really love that Ms. Dittemore isn't afraid to show that faith in God isn't an instant fix-it for all problems, and that sometimes holding on to faith and hope can be difficult. Especially when clear answers are slow in coming.

I love the new plot twists in this book, too. Ms. Dittemore did an excellent job of connecting Brielle's past with seemingly unrelated events in her present. The new characters are also very compelling, and I can't wait to see how this trilogy ends! Ms. Dittemore reminds me of a modern-day Perreti only with better romance. :)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor October 11, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Powerful, Honest, & Compelling

I loved this book so much, I blurbed it. In this sequel to ANGEL EYES, the stakes are just as high, the action is nearly non-stop, and the relationships are complicated, authentic, and sometimes heartbreaking. I was thoroughly invested in the characters and the outcome of the plot the entire time. I really love that Ms. Dittemore isn't afraid to show that faith in God isn't an instant fix-it for all problems, and that sometimes holding on to faith and hope can be difficult. Especially when clear answers are slow in coming.

I love the new plot twists in this book, too. Ms. Dittemore did an excellent job of connecting Brielle's past with seemingly unrelated events in her present. The new characters are also very compelling, and I can't wait to see how this trilogy ends! Ms. Dittemore reminds me of a modern-day Perreti only with better romance. :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)