Panic

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ad/6c/1b/_14800895-1349474832.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
679   0
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 12, 2013
ISBN
1442408960
Buy This Book
      
This gripping and chillingly realistic novel from New York Times bestselling author Sharon Draper shows that all it takes is one bad decision for everything to change.

Diamond knows not to get into a car with a stranger.

But what if the stranger is well-dressed and handsome? On his way to meet his wife and daughter? And casting a movie that very night—a movie in need of a star dancer? What then?

Then Diamond might make the wrong decision.

It’s a nightmare come true: Diamond Landers has been kidnapped. She was at the mall with a friend, alone for only a few brief minutes—and now she’s being held captive, forced to endure horrors beyond what she ever could have dreamed, while her family and friends experience their own torments and wait desperately for any bit of news.

From New York Times bestselling author Sharon Draper, this is a riveting exploration of power: how quickly we can lose it—and how we can take it back.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Panic is a pretty intense book that shows the power of friendship, and the arts. It tackles quite a few tough issues, kidnapping, abusive relationships, and what happens when you take things a bit too far and then the consequences. It wasn't what I expected from the summary, but I ended up liking it anyways.
I appreciated the multiple points of view, showing how Diamond being missing effects her friends, as well as Layla being in the destructive relationship hurts more than just her. I liked the message of hope, and healing, as well as the sense of community with the dancers that Panic gave me.
It was tough being in Diamond's head, but I admired the clear head that she kept about her. Even though she was going through really tough stuff, and didn't know where she was, and she knew awful things were happening to her, she still thought about taking care of herself even when she didn't want to because she wanted to be able to find that right moment to get herself out.
Being in Mercedes head was hard, because she was with Diamond when she disappeared. They had seperated for about half and hour, and then she gets a text from her friend, and then no one hears from her, and she is declared missing. She carries around understandable guilt, that I think that anyone would feel. But I love the support she gets, and that she is told not to blame herself.
Also, Justin. Oh my. I loved how he stood up for Layla, and I could totally see what he saw in her. I relate with Layla though with her self esteem issues too by the way. But I love that he is bold but shy all at the same time. And I adore male dancers. I like that he meshed his ballet with the hip hop, that was a real treat. And I appreciate how he saw through the scandal with Layla and didn't turn his back on her. It was also admirable how he stayed true to liking her even through her being with Donovan, and making some not so smart choices.
One thing that distracted me through it all is the slang. It has been a while that I have read a book where it was distracting to me, even in the dystopias where there are sometimes new words and terms thrown at me. Maybe it is because I am not a teen and I am a stay at home mom, but that is my take.
I also wished that the book was longer, and gave more of a resolution than just hinting at the hope and healing that we get a glimpse of from the characters. But I have started preferring wrapped up to open ended in my contemporary, so personal preference I suppose.
Ms. Draper handled all of the tough issues with grace, and I like how she had the parents, siblings, and their dance teacher involved in their life, giving support, and how dance was always an outlet for the girls and Justin.

Bottom Line: Emotional and fast paced.
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Brandi Reviewed by Brandi February 12, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (187)

Emotional and fast paced.

Panic is a pretty intense book that shows the power of friendship, and the arts. It tackles quite a few tough issues, kidnapping, abusive relationships, and what happens when you take things a bit too far and then the consequences. It wasn't what I expected from the summary, but I ended up liking it anyways.
I appreciated the multiple points of view, showing how Diamond being missing effects her friends, as well as Layla being in the destructive relationship hurts more than just her. I liked the message of hope, and healing, as well as the sense of community with the dancers that Panic gave me.
It was tough being in Diamond's head, but I admired the clear head that she kept about her. Even though she was going through really tough stuff, and didn't know where she was, and she knew awful things were happening to her, she still thought about taking care of herself even when she didn't want to because she wanted to be able to find that right moment to get herself out.
Being in Mercedes head was hard, because she was with Diamond when she disappeared. They had seperated for about half and hour, and then she gets a text from her friend, and then no one hears from her, and she is declared missing. She carries around understandable guilt, that I think that anyone would feel. But I love the support she gets, and that she is told not to blame herself.
Also, Justin. Oh my. I loved how he stood up for Layla, and I could totally see what he saw in her. I relate with Layla though with her self esteem issues too by the way. But I love that he is bold but shy all at the same time. And I adore male dancers. I like that he meshed his ballet with the hip hop, that was a real treat. And I appreciate how he saw through the scandal with Layla and didn't turn his back on her. It was also admirable how he stayed true to liking her even through her being with Donovan, and making some not so smart choices.
One thing that distracted me through it all is the slang. It has been a while that I have read a book where it was distracting to me, even in the dystopias where there are sometimes new words and terms thrown at me. Maybe it is because I am not a teen and I am a stay at home mom, but that is my take.
I also wished that the book was longer, and gave more of a resolution than just hinting at the hope and healing that we get a glimpse of from the characters. But I have started preferring wrapped up to open ended in my contemporary, so personal preference I suppose.
Ms. Draper handled all of the tough issues with grace, and I like how she had the parents, siblings, and their dance teacher involved in their life, giving support, and how dance was always an outlet for the girls and Justin.

Bottom Line: Emotional and fast paced.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)