What Happens Next

 
0.0
 
4.3 (2)
953   1
Write Review
What Happens Next
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
0316198684
Buy This Book
      
How can you talk about something that you can't remember?


Before the ski trip, Cassidy "Sid" Murphy was a cheerleader (on the bottom of the pyramid, but still...) and a straight-A student, with two of the best friends a girl could ask for.

When Sid finds herself on a ski lift with hunky local college guy, Dax Windsor, she's thrilled. "Come to a party with me," he tells her, but Dax isn't what he seems. He takes everything from Sid-including a lock of her perfect red curls-and she can't remember any of it.

After the ski trip, Sid is an insomniac and an obsessive late-night runner, unable to relate to her old friends.

Caught in a downward spiral, Sid drops her college prep classes and takes up residence in the A/V room with only Corey "The Living Stoner" Livingston for company. But as she gets to know Corey--slacker, baker, total dreamboat--Sid finds someone who truly makes her happy. Now, if only she could shake the nightmares, everything would be perfect...

Witty and poignant, Colleen Clayton's debut is a stunning story of moving on after the unthinkable happens.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Give this debut novel a try

What Happens Next has been on my wishlist since January 2012. I knew I would enjoy the heck of it. And I knew I was right. I'm just not sure why I didn't read it the moment it was released.

I've mentioned this a couple of times- YA contemporary is my favorite genre. I never get tired of reading about real life situations and how different people deal with them. What Happens Next deals with two very hard to talk about topics-rape and bulimia.

A guy rapes Sid on her skiing trip she went with her friend. She doesn't remember the act itself because she was drugged but that doesn't help her feel any better. She withdraws from her best friends, start running two times a day. She starts to sleep and eat less. She tells no one what happened on the ski trip because she want to protect her loved ones.

I understand why she hid the truth from everyone. Because she feels like it won't help anyone if they do find out. The rapist won't get caught and her family and friends will feel terrible and she doesn't want that to happen. It's enough that she feels horrible.

The romance was slow but satisfying considering what Sid's going through. Corey were a normal guy with a few problems but whenever they're in the A/V room together everything else disappears and they get the chance to just be.

The way Mrs. Clayton wrote her debut novel is extraordinary because I don't think normal people know what it feels like to be a victim of a rape or to suffer from an eating disorder. She must've had an encounter with those type of people to be able to fully understand their daily struggles.

I recommend this books to those reader who don't shy away from tricky subjects.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

What Happens Next by Collen Clayton

First I’d like to start by saying I want Cory to be my boyfriend ( that’s not weird…right?) aaand moving on. I really liked this book. I think Sid is such a strong character. The way she handled the trauma may not have been the right way but she was still really strong considering she was doing it on her own. It was heartbreaking reading about her thoughts on her body but that’s what made the book so real. I also loved that when she becomes friends with someone out of her clique she’s not ashamed by Cory. I really thought that was a plot device the author was going to use and was relived when it wasn’t.

Now lets talk about Cory Livingston (insert sigh here). Cory. Cory. Cory. He was such a sweet character. Sid wasn’t always so nice to him (ahem she slaps him) but he was so patient with her. He has his own stuff going on at home which I would of liked the author to expand on a bit because all we got was a short explanation towards the end. I think my favorite part is when Cory tells her how beautiful she is. I’ll admit there may have been a few tears (okay a lot) when I read this part. He’s just so great to her and it was nice to read.

My only problem with the book was the ending. I wish I would of gotten more answers. After watching Sid struggle with the truth of her trauma and eating disorder I wanted to know if any of these were resolved. Other than that I think this book was fantastic. I would recommend this book to readers who liked If I Stay, Wintergirls, and Cracked Up To Be.

Good Points
I loved the characters. The flow of the story especially how it spans over a couple of months.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Max Tilt: Fire the Depths
When thirteen-year-old Max Tilt happens upon his great-great-great-grandfather Jules Verne's...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lucy & Andy Neanderthal: The Stone Cold Age (Lucy and Andy Neanderthal)
Neanderthal siblings Lucy and Andy are back to their paleo...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Knowing
Samara is one of the Knowing, and the Knowing do...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
You may think you know the love triangle, but you've...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Everything You Need to Know About NIGHTMARES! and How to Defeat Them: The Nightmares! Handbook
A handbook for beating nightmares from the New York Times...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Code 7: Cracking the Code for an Epic Life
Life at Flint Hill Elementary School may seem normal, but...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Confidentially Yours #6: Vanessa's Design Dilemma
In the sixth installment of the series that readers of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Big Family (Fly Guy #17)
In the latest installment of Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Luna and the Lost Shell (Fairy Hill #2)
Fairy Hill is a magic forest where fairies live, play,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruby and the Magic Garden (Fairy Hill #1)
Fairy Hill is a magic forest where fairies live, play,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
20316920_1595609687178811_492401856_o.jpg
This is the true story of a young family of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Stealing Liberty
When Reed Paine is sent to a secret detention school...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Monster (Gone #7)
It’s been four years since a meteor hit Perdido Beach...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sink or Swim: A Novel of World War II
It's been a month since the bombing of Pearl Harbor....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The White Tower
When Livy's accepted at Temple College, an exclusive school for...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Enhanced
 
5.0
"After the events of Flying, Mana is back, and her situation hasn't improved. Her father is still deceased, her mother..."
The Knowing
 
4.7
"New Canaan is home to the Knowing, a group of people descended from colonists from the planet Earth--sent to a..."
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
 
4.7
"I love short story anthologies. So when I heard that there was a collection of YA shorts by some of..."
These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
 
4.0
"I’ll admit I was a bit hesitant to pick this one up. First of all, it sounded a bit like..."
Monster (Gone #7)
 
4.7
"Let me start by saying that while this is the seventh (yes, seventh!) book in a series, I haven't ever..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"This is my first book by E. Lockhart and boy did it stress me out! Told in reverse, I flipped..."
First Came Forever (The Angelheart Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I am totally blown away by this book! It’s just absolutely adorable! I was hooked from the very first page..."
The Last Namsara
 
5.0
"The Last Namsara is easily one of my favourite fantasy books of this year. I mean, a princess who slays..."
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
 
5.0
"APEX is the epic, action-packed finale to the Hunter Series. Joy is now a member of the Elite Hunter Command..."
Bad Girl Gone
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Echo Stone wakes up and finds herself in a dark house with other kids. Middle House is the home..."
An Ember in the Ashes
 
4.3
"Looooooved this book. I devoured each page. Savored every word. The writing is gorgeous. The characters are flawed but sympathetic...."
Three Dark Crowns
 
5.0
"LOVE. THIS. BOOK. Looooooooove! I'm not sure I'll make it to September when the second book is released. ..."
Nevermore (Nevermore #1)
 
4.0
"What a ride! As a Poe enthusiast, I found this book irresistible. I struggled to put it down. And, when..."
Siege and Storm (Grisha Trilogy #2)
 
5.0
"I'm in love with this book series. LOVE. The world building, the story, the characters... *book nerd heart sigh* ..."
Ruin and Rising (Grisha Trilogy #3)
 
5.0
"I am now officially in a state of end-of-book-series mourning. I shall don my book nerd black armband and grapple..."
Caraval
 
3.7
"**spoiler alert** This. Was. AMAZING! I love psychological thrillers and gothic tales. However, the ending left me ... uncomfortable. ..."
The Scorpio Races
 
5.0
"I'm struggling for words to adequately describe my experience while reading this phenomenal story. All I know is that..."
On A LARP
 
5.0
"“And you want to know something else, something truly freaky? It is absolutely amazing how much stuff can flit through..."
Slider
 
5.0
"David is interested in competitive eating-- he can eat a pizza pretty quickly, and he's watched a lot of competitions..."
Candidate (The Black Mage Book 3)
 
4.3
"A wild, heart-pounding fantasy. The Story: Ryiah is no longer a student and she's no longer just a..."