Books Young Adult Fiction The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms #2)

The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms #2)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/60/97/00/_7801229-1349445101.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
198   1
Genre(s)
Age Range
16+
Release Date
September 28, 2010
ISBN
1423118243
Buy This Book
      
Haunted by the loss of his mother and sister, Han Alister journeys south to begin his schooling at Mystwerk House in Oden’s Ford. But leaving the Fells doesn’t mean that danger isn’t far behind. Han is hunted every step of the way by the Bayars, a powerful wizarding family set on reclaiming the amulet Han stole from them. And Mystwerk House has dangers of its own. There, Han meets Crow, a mysterious wizard who agrees to tutor Han in the darker parts of sorcery—but the bargain they make is one Han may regret.

Meanwhile, Princess Raisa ana’Marianna runs from a forced marriage in the Fells, accompanied by her friend Amon and his triple of cadets. Now, the safest place for Raisa is Wein House, the military academy at Oden's Ford. If Raisa can pass as a regular student, Wein House will offer both sanctuary and the education Raisa needs to succeed as the next Gray Wolf queen.

Everything changes when Han and Raisa’s paths cross, in this epic tale of uncertain friendships, cut-throat politics, and the irresistible power of attraction.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
I really love when a sequel blows its predecessor out of the water. Way, way out—into space. Such was the case here. Overall, I found the first book in the Seven Realms series, The Demon King, to be okay. It was lacking in a lot of areas, and was very reliant on tropes. I was expecting more mildly-decent storytelling in The Exiled Queen, but I was happily surprised, as Chima met improvement on just about every front. After making it through 1100 pages, I think I can firmly stand behind this series, and honestly praise its merits.

As I pointed out in my review, The Demon King served mostly as a foundation for the series as a whole. It was very slow-moving, with a lot of world-building, characterization, and establishment of plot. Therefore, I found it pretty boring and lackluster. In contrast, The Exiled Queen required only 100 pages or so of exposition before the juicy bits started happening. (100 pages may seem like a lot of recapping, but considering it’s only a sixth of the book, it’s not too extravagant.)

I’m just, overall, really impressed with this book, partly for reasons I can’t describe. When I read a great book, I get this fuzzy/nervous feeling in my stomach. I guess we could be cheesy and call it my gut instinct—it’s usually how I discern a great 5 star book from an amazing 5 star book. The Exiled Queen wasn’t quite a 5 star read for me, but it came pretty close.

Even though, in this second installment, Cinda Williams Chima became less reliant on clichéd storytelling, it still had a presence. Even though she’s cut her hair off and dresses like a soldier, Princess Raisa is still a boy-magnet, once again having three separate love interests orbiting around her. Her waist, once again, was also described as being “small enough to wrap his two hands around”, which promotes ridiculous ideals of female beauty. But…oh well.

Really, other than that, my only other complaint had more to do with printing/typography than Chima’s actual writing or story. See, in some books, when a character thinks, those words are italicized. In some books they aren’t. In the Seven Realms books, both is true.

Better go easy on that, Han thought. Cider isn’t a strong drink, but you’re a small person. (pg. 476)


Uh…what? If it had been just the once, I might have excused it, but it seriously happened all the time. Either italicize thoughts, or don’t, but if you switch back and forth, I’m going to be seriously aggravated. With me, it’s often the small things that ruin a perfectly good novel, as you can see.

No, but seriously, The Exiled Queen was pretty fantastic. The plot was gripping, full of twists and strong plot arcs, the characters were likable (even the villains—it’s important to show the human side of everyone), and the book concluded on a nice note, dangling the promise of more to the enraptured reader. Er…I was enraptured at least, okay?
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Renae M Reviewed by Renae M May 04, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (184)

An enchanting sequel

I really love when a sequel blows its predecessor out of the water. Way, way out—into space. Such was the case here. Overall, I found the first book in the Seven Realms series, The Demon King, to be okay. It was lacking in a lot of areas, and was very reliant on tropes. I was expecting more mildly-decent storytelling in The Exiled Queen, but I was happily surprised, as Chima met improvement on just about every front. After making it through 1100 pages, I think I can firmly stand behind this series, and honestly praise its merits.

As I pointed out in my review, The Demon King served mostly as a foundation for the series as a whole. It was very slow-moving, with a lot of world-building, characterization, and establishment of plot. Therefore, I found it pretty boring and lackluster. In contrast, The Exiled Queen required only 100 pages or so of exposition before the juicy bits started happening. (100 pages may seem like a lot of recapping, but considering it’s only a sixth of the book, it’s not too extravagant.)

I’m just, overall, really impressed with this book, partly for reasons I can’t describe. When I read a great book, I get this fuzzy/nervous feeling in my stomach. I guess we could be cheesy and call it my gut instinct—it’s usually how I discern a great 5 star book from an amazing 5 star book. The Exiled Queen wasn’t quite a 5 star read for me, but it came pretty close.

Even though, in this second installment, Cinda Williams Chima became less reliant on clichéd storytelling, it still had a presence. Even though she’s cut her hair off and dresses like a soldier, Princess Raisa is still a boy-magnet, once again having three separate love interests orbiting around her. Her waist, once again, was also described as being “small enough to wrap his two hands around”, which promotes ridiculous ideals of female beauty. But…oh well.

Really, other than that, my only other complaint had more to do with printing/typography than Chima’s actual writing or story. See, in some books, when a character thinks, those words are italicized. In some books they aren’t. In the Seven Realms books, both is true.

Better go easy on that, Han thought. Cider isn’t a strong drink, but you’re a small person. (pg. 476)


Uh…what? If it had been just the once, I might have excused it, but it seriously happened all the time. Either italicize thoughts, or don’t, but if you switch back and forth, I’m going to be seriously aggravated. With me, it’s often the small things that ruin a perfectly good novel, as you can see.

No, but seriously, The Exiled Queen was pretty fantastic. The plot was gripping, full of twists and strong plot arcs, the characters were likable (even the villains—it’s important to show the human side of everyone), and the book concluded on a nice note, dangling the promise of more to the enraptured reader. Er…I was enraptured at least, okay?

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)