Lullaby (Watersong #2)

Lullaby (Watersong #2) Featured

 
4.0
 
4.6 (3)
1389   1
Write Review
Lullaby (Watersong #2)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 27, 2012
ISBN
1250005655
Buy This Book
      
Harper only wanted a safe, normal life. But when her younger sister Gemma runs off with a dangerous clique of beautiful girls, Penn, Thea, and Lexi, everything changes. Vowing to get her sister back no matter what the cost, Harper must face dangers unlike any she's ever experienced. Fortunately, she has Daniel by her side, a gorgeous guy who's devoted to helping her find her sister—and who's immune to the girls' dark powers.

While Harper searches for her sister, Gemma struggles to adjust to her new life. Gemma's powers are growing by the day, and the longer she lives with her new "sisters," the harder it is to resist entering their magical world. It's a realm both dark and beautiful, and where she's plagued by strange hungers and unspeakable needs. Just as she's drifting far away from her old life, Harper and Daniel find her...but no one can deny how much she's changed. All she wants is to return to her family and the mortal world, but how can she do that when she's become something else entirely—and will they still love her once they learn the truth?

Prepare to fall under the spell of Lullaby, the second book in the Watersong series from New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: November 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Another Amanda Hocking Winning Tale!

I admit it. I'm a huge Amanda Hocking's fan. She's able to take a story and weave her own magic to it. A sign of a true storyteller! This time she puts her own stamp on a mythological tale of sirens.

In this sequel to WAKE, Harper, Gemma's older sister, sets out to find her. Gemma left town with the other sirens; Penn, Lexi, and Thea. Gemma knows this is the only way to save her love ones from being killed. The curse is terrifying but what is even more scary is how Gemma can't stop her cravings.

Harper gets closer to Daniel on the way to finding her sister. On their road trip, she opens up more to Daniel. I want to see more of this in the next book. Sure Harper is the older sister but she should be able to have her own relationship. Who better than hawt Daniel?

The romance between Alex and Gemma isn't as intense as it was in WAKE. We see how Gemma's conflict between being attracted to other men-like Sawyer-and her revulsion to where a craving leads to. I love how Hocking doesn't hold back and shows the gray areas. Yes, Gemma might become the monster she hates. Hocking is able to bring a horror element to this story that works.

What I love about this series is how Hocking's is able to show the emotional struggles Gemma goes through with being a siren. Yes, there are some nice benefits which include becoming beautiful and being irresistible to those around her. The downside? She finds there is an terrible hunger for flesh. Guy flesh. Yes, there is a terrible revelation that I won't spoil here.

I like the twists and turns that come to all the characters in this series. There's a hint that maybe Daniel might have his own secret with the sirens. Gemma, though despising the sirens, feels a power from being part of this group. This feeling both stuns and repulses her.

Amazing sequel to WAKE. I'm usually not a mermaid fan but Hocking's once again weaves her magic, this time with teen sirens. Mesmerizing storytelling at it's best!

Good Points
1. Hocking is a true storyteller
2. Great twist on mythological sirens
3. Amazing sequel to WAKE. I'm usually not a mermaid fan but Hocking's once again weaves her magic, this time with teen sirens.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.6
Plot 
 
4.3  (3)
Characters 
 
4.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Love, love, love!

I ship Harper and Daniel so much. Just gonna start with that. This book series is so amazing! I love the way Hocking goes from focusing on Gemma and dealing with her siren-self; to focusing on Harper and her battle to find Gemma. There are many new things that you learn in this book, and leaves you with the question on how Daniel is immune to the sirens' song. The answer is in Tidal, the following book. Must read! So good!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

OMG I love Daniel!

I loved this book even better than the first one! I liked how the book picked right up from where the first one stopped and I also love the romance between Harper and Daniel. I also felt that you get more a feel of the other characters in this book were as the first one was mostly just Gemma and Harper. Also I like the fact that there was a bit of mythology tied with story which involved the Gods and Goddesses. Also and this is very IMPORTANT make sure to read the short story Forgotten Lyrics by Amanda Hocking because it has key points that go along with the Watersong series.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Harper's POV

Disclaimer: If you have not read Wake yet, please be aware this review does contain some spoilers.


Background: Lullaby starts right were Wake ended, no time passed, only a few days really. Gemma is with the Sirens trying to survive in her new form and Harper is at home trying to cope and find her sister with the help of others.

Review: As an older sister, I loved that this book in the Watersong series was mostly from Harper's point of view. I understand the compulsion to take care of my siblings, but also get super frustrated with them. I am a fan of Harper and her story line. I think she is great...and we cannot leave out Daniel...SWOON! I love their adorable relationship and how it is progressing...so slowly though...arg!

I feel for Gemma in this book more than the last, she is going through the change for real now, needing to eat and do monstrous things if she plans on surviving with the Sirens. I hope that she stays herself and strong.

I enjoyed the further development of the Sirens and their personalities, they aren't all the same and it really shows in this book. I am glad they are not so one dimensional.

My only gripe with this book is that, I feel like these two- Wake and Lullaby - could have been one book, I am not sure the length or content of books 3 & 4, but I think this could have been a set of a few less than 4. The story just seems to cut off like the end of Wake.

Will I read the next book? YES for SURE, but still...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
NanoBots
A boy inventor creates the ultimate in high-tech superheroes that...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Hoffman - Pathway to Dragons - Book Cover - 100616 - Crop.jpg
Nine-year-old Billy Jones dreams of having a pet dragon! After...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)