Books Young Adult Fiction Fox Forever (Jenna Fox Chronicles #3)

Fox Forever (Jenna Fox Chronicles #3) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/67/8e/24/_13602969-1349377584.jpg
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
1218   0
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 19, 2013
ISBN
0805094342
Buy This Book
      
Locke Jenkins has some catching up to do. After spending 260 years as a disembodied mind in a little black box, he has a perfect new body. But before he can move on with his unexpected new life, he’ll have to return the Favor he accepted from the shadowy resistance group known as the Network.

Locke must infiltrate the home of a government official by gaining the trust of his daughter, seventeen-year-old Raine, and he soon finds himself pulled deep into the world of the resistance—and into Raine’s life.

Mary E. Pearson brings the story she began in The Adoration of Jenna Fox and continued in The Fox Inheritance to a breathtaking conclusion as Locke discovers that being truly human requires much more than flesh and blood.

Editor reviews

Locke has left Jenna's tranquil home and has returned to Boston to work with the Network. His job is to make friends with the daughter of Secretary Branson, who is most likely responsible for the death/disappearance of Karden, Miesha's husband. Karden had put together a lot of money to help the Network, but even Branson has just part of the numbers needed to access the account, and Locke hopes to find them out through his friendship with Raine. After a Rocky start, this turns in to a lot more than Locke bargained for, since Raine is tired of her controlling father. When Locke finds out she was adopted, he discovers huge secrets about her family background. The question is whether he can also find out the numbers (with the help of an underground network of Bots as well as the Network) to access the account, and whether there are anymore cubes holding his, Jenna and Kara's souls being warehoused somewhere.
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Great conclusion to the trilogy!

Locke has left Jenna's tranquil home and has returned to Boston to work with the Network. His job is to make friends with the daughter of Secretary Branson, who is most likely responsible for the death/disappearance of Karden, Miesha's husband. Karden had put together a lot of money to help the Network, but even Branson has just part of the numbers needed to access the account, and Locke hopes to find them out through his friendship with Raine. After a Rocky start, this turns in to a lot more than Locke bargained for, since Raine is tired of her controlling father. When Locke finds out she was adopted, he discovers huge secrets about her family background. The question is whether he can also find out the numbers (with the help of an underground network of Bots as well as the Network) to access the account, and whether there are anymore cubes holding his, Jenna and Kara's souls being warehoused somewhere.

Good Points
This series is such a thought provoking one-- what if your spirit existed for hundreds of years, everything and everyone you knew is gone, and you get another chance? This has a lot of action and adventure (attacks by feral children/dogs), good technology (BioPerfect blue gel!), excellent star-crossed romance (they meet in the park in the dead of night), as well as the whole concept of being in the city where you grew up 260 years after you left it. The twists were good, and the conclusion was satisfying.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Giveaway: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (US Only)

    MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS 20th Century Fox In theaters September 18, 2015   The Maze was just the beginning! See Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials in theaters September 18   In this next chapter of the epic “Maze Runner” saga, Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) a ...

  • Celebrating National Dog Day with Richard Torrey!

    TOO COOL TO BRAG. TORREY’S MY DOG, BOB, INTRODUCES KIDS TO A DIFFERENT WAY TO BE GREAT Raab Associates   Quiet dignity is vastly underrated, but it’s a quality shared by those who are truly fortunate to have learne ...

  • Author Trisha Leigh's TOP 5 OTPs

    Today we welcome Trisha Leigh, author of RETURN ONCE MORE, to the blog to share with us her top 5 OTPs!  RETURN ONCE MORE is a book about a teenage girl caught between her responsibility to document the past and her desire to use time travel in order to meet her one true love—even if he ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Emerge: The Edge by Melissa A. Craven + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for EMERGE: THE EDGE by Melissa A. Craven, releasing September 29, 2015 from Midnight Hour Studio. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Melissa:   Hello YABCers! And welc ...

  • On the Horizon

      DC Comics’ Lois Lane Returns in Lois Lane: Double Down from Switch Press  Second Book in the New Young Adult Series by Gwenda Bond   MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (August 24, 2015) – DC Comics’ iconic character Lois Lane will be back for more in Lois Lane: Dou ...

  • What's New in YA--August 25, 2015

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       Inspired by Victor Hugo’s classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story of street girl Eponine.   Paris, 1832 ...

  • Exclusive Sneak Peek at LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins + Giveaway (US Only)

    LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins Release Date: September 29, 2015 Publisher: Ballantine / Del Rey Hardcover   About the Book With deeply moving human drama, nail-biting suspense—and bold speculation informed by a degree in physics—C. A. Higgins spins a riveting science fict ...

  • Love Letters to Literature #1

      Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Dear J.K. Rowling,   I suppose the best way to begin this letter would be to say thank you! Many readers might say that you changed their lives with the inception of your boy wizard. I'm su ...

  • Letters to the Living

      Contriubted by Joanne Mumley   Our very own Joanne Mumley, interviewed Ava Dellaira, author of Love Letters to the Dead, at Comic Con. This wonderful book and Joanne's interview, which you can find below, inspired all of us here at YABC! Don't believe us? Read on to f ...

  • Giveaway: The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender (US & Canada Only)

    THE DEAD GIRLS OF HYSTERIA HALL  by Katie Alender  Release Date: August 25, 2015   About the Book Asylum meets Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, in this riveting tale of ghosts, secrets, and family, from master of suspense Katie Alender. D ...

  • Giveaway: The Appearance of Annie van Sinderen by Katherine Howe (US only)

    THE APPEARANCE OF ANNIE VAN SINDEREN by Katherine Howe  Release Date: September 15, 2015   About the Book A haunting, contemporary love story from the New York Times bestselling author of Conversion It’s July in New York City, and aspiring filmmaker Wes A ...

  • Giveaway: Jillian Cade: Fake Paranormal Investigator by Jen Klein (US & Canada Only)

    JILLIAN CADE: (FAKE) PARANORMAL INVESTIGATOR by Jen Klein  Release date: September 1, 2015   About the Book When rebel outsider Jillian Cade finds an obituary — HER future obituary — in her locker, she ends up teaming with the cryptic (and hot!) Sky Ramsey to sol ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

ELIDAIRE_The_Tome_of_Knowledge_COVER.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Four years after the murder of his mother, Revel Harcourt, leader of a group of an ancient race of demon-hunting...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Metal crumpled, screamed as the force sent bodies in all directions. Instant stink of burnt rubber, glimpse of an arm...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes, blackmail is the only weapon a girl has… Haley Patterson has had a crush on...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the sequel to the award-winning Killer of Enemies, Apache teen Lozen and her family are looking for a place...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
nspired by Victor Hugo's classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
13 days.jpg
When Luke Manchett’s estranged father dies unexpectedly, he leaves his son a dark inheritance: a collection...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The world is a far different place in 2259. Thirty years of world war, rampant bombing, and the melting of...
 
0.0
 
4.9 (3)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Leia Swanson has always believed in monsters, especially after one killed her parents when she was seven years old. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The whimsical "autobiography" of an imaginary friend who doesn't know he's imaginary—perfect for fans of The Miraculous Journey of Edward...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Remarque, a lonely boy raised by his grandfather, discovers a gateway that could lead him to everything he's ever wanted......
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kamran Smith has it all. He's the star of the football team, dates the most popular...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Blink—and you’ll miss her. Mei Barrett has been hiding all of her life. Raised in solitude by her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a fairy-tale nightmare . . . One girl is kept in a room where every...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheInstitute-ebook-webuse.png
Category: Young Adult Indie
Living in constant fear. Always looking over your shoulder. The source of your fear? The Institute. Allira Daniels will...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (5)
In this asylum, your mind plays tricks on you all the time ... Delia's new house...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Book Two of a Thrilling Trilogy Mysteries and secrets continue in this twisted romantic series... New school,...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (3)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Book One of a Thrilling Trilogy Gifted or cursed? A yearning to be normal. And an unsolved murder refusing...
 
0.0
 
4.6 (3)