Books Young Adult Fiction Natural Born Angel (Immortal City #2)

Natural Born Angel (Immortal City #2) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f5/67/0a/_15747422-1349122167.jpg
 
4.0
 
3.0 (1)
2380   1
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 23, 2013
ISBN
1595145133
Buy This Book
      

Life turned upside down for Maddy Montgomery when she found out she was half-Angel and was catapulted into the scene of flashbulbs, paparazzi, and the fervent adulation that comes with being in the celebrity Angel world. She's trying to juggle her ordinary life—high school, family, friends—with the intense demands of being in the public eye as heartthrob Angel Jackson Godspeed's girlfriend.

And now Maddy must face the most difficult choice of her life. She's been offered the chance to become a Guardian. This means entering into dangerous and high stakes training, with no guarantee that she can succeed. But more than that, it would mean leaving her mortal life behind—forever—and allying with the Angels at a time when their relationship with humans is heading for war. . . .

Editor reviews

I couldn't wait to read this book especially after having loved (and fangirled over) Immortal City!

What I loved: The writing, multiple POV's that weave together seamlessly and the fantastic world-building. At times, I felt like I was reading a movie and I would love to see this entire story play out on the big screen. I still enjoyed Maddy and Jackson even if their decisions irritated me some. Detective Sylvester is becoming another favorite of mine and his need to atone for past mistakes is admirable.

What left me wanting: This book made me mad. *glares* I felt like Maddy lost some of her edge by allowing other people to influence her and Jackson wallowed a bit too much. I understand they're both dealing with situations that were outside their realm of comfort and normalcy but there were times I had trouble recognizing the Maddy and Jacks I fell in love with in Book 1. *pouts*

I'm not a fan of love triangles and I don't think every story needs one in order for the romance to be successful. I mean, don't Maddy and Jacks already have enough working against them? Why Scott? WHY?! *cries* We meet Tom, the pilot whose full of hot human bada**ery but something about him just didn't sit well with me. Maybe it's because I don't trust him or maybe it's because I was Angelstruck by Jackson Godspeed in the first book. Who knows. *shrugs* Either way, Maddy appears to have a tough choice on her hands and this ending, for which I was not prepared for AT ALL, won't make it any easier.

I scoured the interwebs in search of something, anything that would tell me if there will be a final book in this series but came up empty handed. I'm convinced there has to be because there are too many unanswered questions.

Final verdict: Action-packed, heart-wrenching sequel that will leave you anxious to know how it all ends. (And what I really mean is, who Maddy chooses.)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor February 04, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Great sequel!

I couldn't wait to read this book especially after having loved (and fangirled over) Immortal City!

What I loved: The writing, multiple POV's that weave together seamlessly and the fantastic world-building. At times, I felt like I was reading a movie and I would love to see this entire story play out on the big screen. I still enjoyed Maddy and Jackson even if their decisions irritated me some. Detective Sylvester is becoming another favorite of mine and his need to atone for past mistakes is admirable.

What left me wanting: This book made me mad. *glares* I felt like Maddy lost some of her edge by allowing other people to influence her and Jackson wallowed a bit too much. I understand they're both dealing with situations that were outside their realm of comfort and normalcy but there were times I had trouble recognizing the Maddy and Jacks I fell in love with in Book 1. *pouts*

I'm not a fan of love triangles and I don't think every story needs one in order for the romance to be successful. I mean, don't Maddy and Jacks already have enough working against them? Why Scott? WHY?! *cries* We meet Tom, the pilot whose full of hot human bada**ery but something about him just didn't sit well with me. Maybe it's because I don't trust him or maybe it's because I was Angelstruck by Jackson Godspeed in the first book. Who knows. *shrugs* Either way, Maddy appears to have a tough choice on her hands and this ending, for which I was not prepared for AT ALL, won't make it any easier.

I scoured the interwebs in search of something, anything that would tell me if there will be a final book in this series but came up empty handed. I'm convinced there has to be because there are too many unanswered questions.

Final verdict: Action-packed, heart-wrenching sequel that will leave you anxious to know how it all ends. (And what I really mean is, who Maddy chooses.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
I'm between a 2 and a 3 rating...
Why? Probably high expectations first off because I loved the first book but also because it seemed like the author Scott Speer lost all his passion. I wouldn't be surprised if he was forced to write this sequel or at least forced to change it enough that it no longer interested him. I felt like the book was telling me a story, not showing, the dialogue seemed forced. Maddy became such a different person (without a gradual, believable change) that I felt completely disconnected from her. Also super predictable. And Sylvester's detective work seemed forced also, as if the side story was added just so it would match the first book. The ending also leaves you hanging and not in a good way. If you want fans to read the next book, why not write it well instead of trying to leave it as such a cliffhanger?

Loved Loved Loved the first book.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

...

I'm between a 2 and a 3 rating...
Why? Probably high expectations first off because I loved the first book but also because it seemed like the author Scott Speer lost all his passion. I wouldn't be surprised if he was forced to write this sequel or at least forced to change it enough that it no longer interested him. I felt like the book was telling me a story, not showing, the dialogue seemed forced. Maddy became such a different person (without a gradual, believable change) that I felt completely disconnected from her. Also super predictable. And Sylvester's detective work seemed forced also, as if the side story was added just so it would match the first book. The ending also leaves you hanging and not in a good way. If you want fans to read the next book, why not write it well instead of trying to leave it as such a cliffhanger?

Loved Loved Loved the first book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)