All the Broken Pieces

All the Broken Pieces Featured

 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
1430   1
Write Review
All the Broken Pieces
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
December 11, 2012
ISBN
9781620611296
Buy This Book
      
What if your life wasn’t your own?

Liv comes out of a coma with no memory of her past and two distinct, warring voices inside her head. Nothing, not even her reflection, seems familiar. As she stumbles through her junior year, the voices get louder, insisting she please the popular group while simultaneously despising them. But when Liv starts hanging around with Spencer, whose own mysterious past also has him on the fringe, life feels complete for the first time in, well, as long as she can remember.

Liv knows the details of the car accident that put her in the coma, but as the voices invade her dreams, and her dreams start feeling like memories, she and Spencer seek out answers. Yet the deeper they dig, the less things make sense. Can Liv rebuild the pieces of her broken past, when it means questioning not just who she is, but what she is?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Original, Entertaining and Unique.

Thank you Entangled Teen for this ARC. This is such a unique concept that's equal parts creepy, cool and romantic. There's also kissing which I'm a HUGE fan of! Liv appears to suffer from multiple personalities and one might jump to conclusions that's she's either schizophrenic or riding the crazy train, but she's not. Even though she has no memory of her life before her accident, she does have really vivid dreams she can't explain and the answers she gets from her parents are shady at best. When she starts a new school, she longs to find a place to fit in, but that's almost always easier said than done. The voices aren't much help as they argue about whether she should hang with the popular crowd or be friends with everyone.

Spencer is the one person she can be herself with, even if she isn't exactly sure "who" that self is. When we first meet him, he's a giant angrypants but the more he and Liv hang out, the more he lets his guard down. *clutches Spencer* He's as broken as Liv is, but in different ways and my heart melted into a big puddle of swoon as they worked through her list of "firsts", slowly rebuilding each other along the way.

The "creepy" element comes into play as you try to figure out what the heck happened to Liv and when everything is revealed, it's a total "WHOA!" moment. The ending was both unexpected and bittersweet and had me crying ALL THE TEARS! :)

One of the things I enjoyed about this read is that there's nothing to cringe about. It has it's heart melting kisses but no sexy parts and the language is mild. (one s-word, I think.)

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A

Connected with main character, and loved the premise and how it was executed.

I really connected with Liv and I was so intrigued by the plot of All the Broken Pieces. Cindi Madsen pulled it off beautifully.
I lives the characters as well as Olivia's voice. Spencer was an enigma and hot, just how I like my literary boys to be. Tough guys with tenderness. I really appreciated how he took everything in stride and believed the impossible with Liv.
I felt like I was always on the verge of figuring out exactly what was going on with Liv and why she couldn't remember anything but why she was having these strange dreams or flashes of other people and the warring voices in her head. By the end, I had figured out a few of the pieces of the puzzle correctly but it was still a spectacular ending and there were still a few things that I hadn't figured out as well as how they all fit together.
I was surprised at the emotions i felt reading this. Liv really had a beautiful voice, and I got right inside her head. The constant confusion and heartache she felt really came off the page. As well as trying to figure out who was really on her side, if everything was a lie, what to think of her parents, her fear that they or she did something terrible and she just can't remember. The romantic tension with Spencer was also well written. I never quite knew what to think of him, but I loved their playful teasing and banter and the glances of tenderness and how he really cares for others and is in pain with some of the things he keeps hidden about his past.
The rest of the secondary characters were superb as well. Kiera was a great addition to this story and i loved her bubbles and friendliness. Sabrina was also written well and I was wondering what was brewing there. I do think that there was a bit of rushed and unbelievable resolution with their relationship but i can forgive it because of how everything else resolved.
I flew through this book and loved every minute of it.
Bottom line: Connected with main character, and loved the premise and how it was executed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

     

 

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
mister max.jpg
In Act III of Newbery Medalist Cynthia Voigt’s Mister Max...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macbeth #killingit (OMG Shakespeare series)
Macbeth, one of the greatest stories ever told . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)