Books Young Adult Fiction What We Saw At Night

What We Saw At Night Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/a1/35/ac/_13642750-1348018349.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.2 (2)
721   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 08, 2013
ISBN
1616951419
Buy This Book
      
Like the yearning, doomed young clones in Ishiguro's Never Let Me Go, three teenagers with XP (a life-threatening allergy to sunlight) are a species unto themselves. As seen through the eyes of 16-year-old Allie Kim, they roam the silent streets, looking for adventure, while others sleep. When Allie's best friend introduces the trio to Parkour, the stunt-sport of running and climbing off forest cliffs and tall buildings (risky in daylight and potentially deadly by darkness), they feel truly alive, equal to the "daytimers."

On a random summer night, while scaling a building like any other, the three happen to peer into an empty apartment and glimpse an older man with what looks like a dead girl. A game of cat-and-mouse ensues that escalates through the underground world of hospital confinement, off-the-grid sports, and forbidden love. Allie, who can never see the light of day, discovers she's the lone key to stopping a human monster.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
The best part of this whole story is that it illustrates the greatness and the weakness of friendship. A common piece of teen life is the friendships created which often contains betrayal, blossoming relationships, and in the end many people face the severing those ties. I loved the relationship between Juliet and Allie, although it always seemed like Juliet had the upper hand in the friendship. Allie was fiercely loyal to this girl despite the shortcomings, the mistakes, and the lies.

Rob and Allie are a fun pair to read about. I laughed at some of their more ridiculous romantic moments such as the fact that he would drive by every night and became a "stalker" in the eyes of her mom.

I enjoyed reading about XP and the fact that they basically did live a life in darkness, fearing the sun and hoping to live. It made me think about it a lot and I am curious about people that are essentially creatures of the night because they have to live in shadows.

The mystery and thriller aspect of the story was fun to read and kept me on my toes throughout the course of the story. Sometimes you question whether Allie saw what she thought she saw or whether there is some big cover up going on. It keeps the story interesting and intriguing.
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Bailee Christiansen Reviewed by Bailee Christiansen January 05, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

What We Saw At Night by Jacquelyn Mitchard (Pixie Dust Book Reviews)

The best part of this whole story is that it illustrates the greatness and the weakness of friendship. A common piece of teen life is the friendships created which often contains betrayal, blossoming relationships, and in the end many people face the severing those ties. I loved the relationship between Juliet and Allie, although it always seemed like Juliet had the upper hand in the friendship. Allie was fiercely loyal to this girl despite the shortcomings, the mistakes, and the lies.

Rob and Allie are a fun pair to read about. I laughed at some of their more ridiculous romantic moments such as the fact that he would drive by every night and became a "stalker" in the eyes of her mom.

I enjoyed reading about XP and the fact that they basically did live a life in darkness, fearing the sun and hoping to live. It made me think about it a lot and I am curious about people that are essentially creatures of the night because they have to live in shadows.

The mystery and thriller aspect of the story was fun to read and kept me on my toes throughout the course of the story. Sometimes you question whether Allie saw what she thought she saw or whether there is some big cover up going on. It keeps the story interesting and intriguing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Advanced Review Release Date January 8th 2013

“Live Once.” -Jacquelyn Mitchard, What We Saw at Night

“Allie Kim suffers from Xeroderma Pigmentosum: a fatal allergy to sunlight that confines her and her two best friends, Rob and Juliet, to the night. When freewheeling Juliet takes up Parkour—the stunt-sport of scaling and leaping off tall buildings—Allie and Rob have no choice but to join her, if only to protect her. Though potentially deadly, Parkour after dark makes Allie feel truly alive, and for the first time equal to the “daytimers.”

“On a random summer night, the trio catches a glimpse of what appears to be murder. Allie alone takes it upon herself to investigate, and the truth comes at an unthinkable price. Navigating the shadowy world of specialized XP care, extreme sports, and forbidden love, Allie ultimately uncovers a secret that upends everything she believes about the people she trusts the most.” -Goodreads

From the beginning Allie gains your sympathy. Not only for having this fatal allergy that everyone tells her dramatically shortens her life span, but because she so desperately wants to be a normal teenage girl. When Juliet gets them involved in Parkour, Allie seems to grow-not only in strength of body, but strength of character. Her self confidence improves and she becomes more independent.

As the story progresses, the reader becomes protective of Allie-even when up against her bestfriends. In What We Saw at Night the reader is taken on a nail biting adventure, from start to finish. With extreme sports, blossoming love and serial killers, this fast-pasted thrill ride will have you doing some detective work of your own.

Sit back and enjoy this tale of three brave teenagers and what they saw at night!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Samantha Martin Hiatt Reviewed by Samantha Martin Hiatt December 29, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (17)

What We Saw at Night by Jacquelyn Mitchard

Advanced Review Release Date January 8th 2013

“Live Once.” -Jacquelyn Mitchard, What We Saw at Night

“Allie Kim suffers from Xeroderma Pigmentosum: a fatal allergy to sunlight that confines her and her two best friends, Rob and Juliet, to the night. When freewheeling Juliet takes up Parkour—the stunt-sport of scaling and leaping off tall buildings—Allie and Rob have no choice but to join her, if only to protect her. Though potentially deadly, Parkour after dark makes Allie feel truly alive, and for the first time equal to the “daytimers.”

“On a random summer night, the trio catches a glimpse of what appears to be murder. Allie alone takes it upon herself to investigate, and the truth comes at an unthinkable price. Navigating the shadowy world of specialized XP care, extreme sports, and forbidden love, Allie ultimately uncovers a secret that upends everything she believes about the people she trusts the most.” -Goodreads

From the beginning Allie gains your sympathy. Not only for having this fatal allergy that everyone tells her dramatically shortens her life span, but because she so desperately wants to be a normal teenage girl. When Juliet gets them involved in Parkour, Allie seems to grow-not only in strength of body, but strength of character. Her self confidence improves and she becomes more independent.

As the story progresses, the reader becomes protective of Allie-even when up against her bestfriends. In What We Saw at Night the reader is taken on a nail biting adventure, from start to finish. With extreme sports, blossoming love and serial killers, this fast-pasted thrill ride will have you doing some detective work of your own.

Sit back and enjoy this tale of three brave teenagers and what they saw at night!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)