Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2)

Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2)

Featured
 
5.0 (3)
 
5.0 (2)
2223   2
Write Review
Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 02, 2013
ISBN
0547628382
Buy This Book
      

Sybella arrives at the convent’s doorstep half mad with grief and despair. Those that serve Death are only too happy to offer her refuge—but at a price. Naturally skilled in both the arts of death and seduction, the convent views Sybella as one of their most dangerous weapons.

But those assassin’s skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to a life that nearly drove her mad. Her father’s rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother’s love is equally monstrous. And while Sybella is a weapon of justice wrought by the god of Death himself, He must give her a reason to live. When she discovers an unexpected ally imprisoned in the dungeons, will a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for?

This heart-pounding sequel to Grave Mercy serves betrayal, treachery, and danger in equal measure, bringing readers back to fifteenth century Brittany and will keep them on the edge of their seats.

Editor reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (3)
Characters 
 
5.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (3)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Sybella, the blood thirsty nun.

Admittedly, I was underwhelmed by Grave Mercy. I loved the premise of assassin nuns trained in the deadly arts, but was turned off by the breadth of the political intrigue and Ismae's accursed conscience. In the wings, however, waited Sybella. She was such a mysterious and interesting character that it made me long for the release date of Dark Triumph. I am happy to say, Sybella does not disappoint. She is certainly bloodthirsty, (and one point she even mutters "I am in desperate need of killing something.") and she does not often worry about the moral implications as Ismae did. While Ismae faded a little when the love interest was introduced, Sybella railed against him, taking every opportunity to comment on how ugly he was.

The romantic angle in Dark Triumph was much more palatable for me than it was in Grave Mercy. Beast and Sybella seem equally well matched and neither comes to love the other easily. There was a point at which Beast seemed to have developed an unhealthy desire to rescue Sybella, but that passed and they were placed on equal footing once again. For his part, Beast opened Sybella to a world of compassion that her upbringing had denied her and I really enjoyed how she developed in his presence.

This book featured much less political maneuvering than its predecessor and this makes for a much faster paced plot. Beast and Sybella's lives have been closely intertwined for many years and the revelation of her secrets adds an air of mystery to the story. There are also a number of exciting battles and the introduction of an interesting new cast of characters. While this book moves the overall plot along and sets up for the series to continue, it also provides a satisfying ending to Sybella's personal story.

I will definitely be waiting with baited breath for the next installment in the His Dark Assassin series for more of Sybella but, as I remember very little of Annith, I am also excited for a story that follows her and one that finally reveals the secrets of the convent.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Superb Story

What I loved: Grave Mercy was one of my favorite reads from 2012 and I have been excited to get my hands on Dark Triumph for months. Sybella's story is much darker than even I had expected it to be. She had a painful childhood that has left her emotionally scarred and very untrusting. Sybella's hatred for d'Albret guides the plot and the cast of supporting characters is strong all around.


I also need to give a huge fan-girl shout out to Beast. I think he is one of my favorite historical men I have ever read. He may not fit the bill of everyone's favorite type of male lead but he is up at the top of my list. His brute strength alone makes him fascinating to read but once you uncover his personality you will find a loving, loyal, amazing man. I was surprised how much I ended up rooting for him.

Final Verdict: Dark Triumph is one of the most engrossing stories I have ever read. I was captivated and intrigued from the very beginning and I felt satisfied at the end, although I could have used a little more Beast. I think readers will root for Sybella despite the harshness of her personality and cheer for the successes in life and love that she finds.

Fans of Grave Mercy should not hesitate to pick this second book up. You will not be disappointed. Readers and lovers of historical fiction in the adult or young adult markets should look for this series as well, it is a gem! I am anxiously awaiting the next installment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Much Darker, More Emotional Read Than Grave Mercy

What I Loved:
I have made no secret of my immense love of Grave Mercy, and have been recommending it to everyone I know who enjoys historical fiction, fantasy, and powerful heroines. As with every sequel to a book I loved, trepidation filled me as I approached Dark Triumph. There's always that chance that the sequel will not live up to its predecessor and will color your enjoyment even of that first book. Robin LaFevers, though, hits her sequel out of the park. Dark Triumph does not fall victim to middle book syndrome and even surpasses Grave Mercy.

Grave Mercy was fairly dark, but still a nice read-a-like for Maria V. Snyder or Kristin Cashore. Dark Triumph is even darker, not a novel I would recommend to those who do not like unhappy tales. Sybella's dark past makes what Ismae went through look like a healthy childhood, and, those who read Grave Mercy know that Ismae's youth was no picnic. Ismae and Duval do make a couple of appearances in Dark Triumph, and it's startling how much more optimistic and friendly Ismae is in comparison to Sybella.

My attachment to Ismae formed immediately in Grave Mercy, but Sybella took me some time to adjust to. She's darker, moodier, more pained, and sometimes verges on crazy, though one can't blame her. However, as I got used to her and came to know more about why she is the way she is, I became even more bonded to Sybella, and even more desirous for her to overcome the horrors of her life.

Sybella's childhood, I will reiterate yet again, was...there aren't really words for it. Her father, d'Albret, used her as a pawn, and she had to watch him kill off wife after wife. Two of her brothers sexually harassed her, one for the fun of it and one from a misguided sense of love. Her past is without brightness, and I'm warning you now of triggers for rape and incest. On top of that, there is a whole lot of violence.

One of the main criticisms I've seen of Grave Mercy, even from those that liked it, had to do with the circumstances of the consummation of Ismae's romance. It was seen as a bit of a cop-out, as though Ismae needed an excuse to have sex. In Dark Triumph, the same could not be said. Sybella has had more than one sexual partner, some willed and some not, and does not have any hesitancy about having sex when she desires it. Sybella seems a bit more empowered than Ismae, and will likely be a big hit with those disappointed by that part of Grave Mercy.

The romance in Dark Triumph makes me even happier than that in Grave Mercy. Though I do think this series could just as easily have been marketed to an adult audience, I love that this book will be going to a young adult audience. LaFevers tosses aside convention and delivers a hero utterly unlike those to be found in the bulk of YA romances. He is not handsome; in fact, he is described as ugly more than once. That does not make him unlovable to Sybella or to me. This message is so important for teens, the importance of personality and common interests over physical appearance.

The Final Verdict:
If you loved Grave Mercy, get excited, because you will surely love Dark Triumph too. If you were in the camp of readers who thought LaFevers pulled some punches in the first book, then I urge you to give this installment a try, because it is much darker and more unique. My love for Robin LaFevers' writing has been firmly cemented, and I shall proceed to wait impatiently for the third His Fair Assassin novel.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Dark Triumph


:

I FREAKING HATE COUNT D'ALBRET!

:

I FREAKING HATE COUNT D'ALBRET!

YES, I HAD TO SAY IT TWICE! HE IS BEYOND EVIL!!!!!!!!!

So, Sybella is sent back to her evil father, d'Albret after spending 4 years at the convent of St. Mortain. The lovely and evil abbess thought it would be ideal to send her back to this hell and try to take him out if he bore the marque and some other stuff.

Gotta be watchin them nuns!



Sybella is trying to play her part the best she can, but she just wants to kill her father and be out of there. She worries every day about all of the innocent people being killed and when is the marque going to show up on him!

:

:

After reading so much evil this man does, I want him dead, brought back to life and killed again. Rinse and repeat!

Here is a little glimpse of the evil bastard!

Once, when I was ten years old, d'Albret became so enraged at his favorite hunting hound for not bringing down a twelve-point stag that he shot the creature with his hunting bow. After a brief yelp of pain, the loyal beast began dragging himself toward d'Albret, the arrow embedded in his hindquarters, whining softly in his throat and begging forgiveness. D'Albret finally relented and delivered a second shot that put him out of his misery

Sorry son of a bitch..sohoihgiaodhgisoghsiodhfiosdhfsiodhgsiohgaiosdghsaogh!!!!!!

:

THAT MAN NEEDS TO SUFFER!

Moving on..

Sybella decides she wants to free one of the prisoners that she feels is in the towers somewhere. He is a beast of a man, he is actually called Beast of Waroch. He's huge and fierce and took on a whole ton of men on his own. He is really cool and I just love him. They escape, Sybella goes with them to be reunited with Ismae and all of of the other good peeps. They meet some really cool people on the way. They were called charbonneries, I think I got that right, they were pretty fierce and living wild.

It's really sweet because Sybella and Beast find love together in this horrific place.

:

Sybella starts to remember something really, really terrible that happened to her at the hands of her father and she shares it with Beast. See if you don't want to tear him into little piece some more after reading this!

"In that moment, I saw what he meant to do. I struggled to get out of bed. 'Stop him!' I cried, but of course, none of the servants would dare cross him ." I look up into Beast's stricken face. "Only Alyse. She was the only one who moved to save my baby. She threw herself at him, trying to grab the baby from his hands, but he struck her, knocking her to the ground, where she hit her head on the leg of the heavy wooden chair. I did not know until days later that she had died from the blow. "Then he put his thick fingers around my baby's frail neck and broke it. When he was done, he tossed the baby to the floor, and left the room."

Want some dismemberment of this jerk now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Alyse was Beast's sister btw.



That someday would have come sooner than later!

So the ending seemed good, but I'm not sure.. I was oh yes.. then hmmmm.. I don't think so..



And I'm really hoping I'm wrong, BUT.. I would rather have a more horrific ending than what I am thinking happened. Read it and see what I mean! GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

Good Points
Revenge is good!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

For Those That Love Game of Thrones - Historical Intrigue in Old Brittany

Grave Mercy was one of the most original books I had read last year and I was so eager to read R.L. LaFever's ongoing adventures of assassin nuns in 15th century Brittany. I am happy to say that Dark Triumph is just that - a triumph of the dark arts, political intrigue and even darker family secrets. Lady Sybella, assassin extraordinaire, is back within her father's castle walls fighting for her life, helping her Duchess escape her father's claws and fighting off the affection of her brother, Julian. She is waiting for her opportunity to finally kill her father when an unexpected escape means a new set of plans. Sybella meets a kindly knight and a mute dwarf who show her the meaning of love and kindness that she was only known in the convent. This is a must for any lover of historical fiction. The surprise is that it is in young adult.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Right Where You Left Me
In search of the perfect story to put a human...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lucky Broken Girl
Based on the author's childhood in the 1960s, a young...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Coming Up For Air
Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Our Broken Pieces
The only thing worse than having your boyfriend dump...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Landscape with Invisible Hand
National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson returns to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love?...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Invictus
Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The...
 
4.7
 
4.0 (1)
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
The unrequited love of the girl next door is...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin
ustyce McAllister is top of his class and set for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Come Home, Angus
Angus woke up mad and knew today was not his...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rulers of the Playground
A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
June Sparrow and her best friend—a miniature pig named Indigo...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
Find rock-solid story ideas before you start writing ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Elect
For the past thirteen years, the Foundation has ruled Belstrana...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl in the Tower
A remarkable young woman blazes her own trail, from the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Soul Mates by J Butterworth
Alex is born into a future society were at birth...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Come Home, Angus
 
5.0
"Most of us have days when we just get mad. We don’t know why. We don’t know who is to..."
Rulers of the Playground
 
4.5
"Jonah wants to rule the playground. And he’s a good ruler. Except when he’s not. The problem is that Lennox..."
Plant the Tiny Seed
 
4.5
" This book relies on the interactive nature of read-alouds for young children. Beginning with a single zinnia seed, the..."
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
 
3.5
"In JUNE SPARROW AND THE MILLION DOLLAR PENNY, June Sparrow is a very rich pre-teen living in New York City..."
The Many Worlds of Albie Bright
 
4.0
"Albie Bright’s mom has died after a long illness, and he’s heartbroken. While trying to sort out his feelings..."
Big and Little Are Best Friends
 
4.5
"Big and Little, an elephant and a mouse, are best friends. But their friendship isn't based on common interests. Big..."
How Oscar Indigo Broke the Universe (and Put It Back Together Again)
 
3.0
"Oscar Indigo is a bad baseball player, but he’s a very good teammate. And he’s committed to his role of..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Ultimate Jokes for Kids: 2-in-1 Collection of Awesome Jokes and Road Trip Jokes
 
4.5
"This durable hardback presents a sizable collection of perfectly clean kid’s jokes. There are anywhere from 3-6 jokes per page..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Road Trip Jokes for Kids
 
4.0
"A well-arranged, highly portable collection of kid-friendly jokes. This little paperback book of road trip ready humor is 128..."
Beyond the Doors
 
4.0
"When their dad falls into a coma and their mom is nowhere to be found, the Rothbaum siblings are forced..."
The Great Treehouse War
 
4.5
"THE GREAT TREEHOUSE WAR by Lisa Graff is the story of Winnie Malladi-Maraj and her nine friends. It’s told in..."
Felix Yz
 
5.0
"FELIX YZ by Lisa Bunker is a creative look at the difficulties of being in middle school, although the..."
Olive and the Backstage Ghost
 
5.0
"OLIVE AND THE BACKSTAGE GHOST is a middle grade horror/ghost story that is full of suspense. Olive loves to sing,..."
Not on Fifth Street
 
5.0
"Brothers Pete and Gus live with their family in Ironton, Ohio in 1937. Practical Pete, the younger brother, is the..."
Serafina and the Black Cloak
 
5.0
"Creak. Creak. Creak. The floor in the basement of the 1899 Biltmore Estate groaned as a golden-haired girl tiptoed towards..."
The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid
 
4.0
"In 1961, Charlie Fisher is a poor little rich kid whose mother has decided that she's tired of caring for..."
Going Wild #2: Predator vs. Prey
 
4.0
"After getting involved with Project Chimera in Going Wild, Charlie and her mother and brother Andy are struggling with the..."
The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street
 
4.0
"The Vanderbeekers family of five children, parents, dog and rabbit have lived on two floors in a brownstone in Harlem...."
 
5.0
"Richard and his family live near Washington, D.C., where his father does something secretive for the government. They live in..."
The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade
 
5.0
"Maverick's mother has trouble keeping a job due to her alcohol consumption, which probably also influences her bad taste in..."