Books Young Adult Fiction Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2)

Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/16/48/48/_9943270-1347977112.jpg
 
5.0 (3)
 
5.0 (1)
1464   2
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 02, 2013
ISBN
0547628382
Buy This Book
      

Sybella arrives at the convent’s doorstep half mad with grief and despair. Those that serve Death are only too happy to offer her refuge—but at a price. Naturally skilled in both the arts of death and seduction, the convent views Sybella as one of their most dangerous weapons.

But those assassin’s skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to a life that nearly drove her mad. Her father’s rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother’s love is equally monstrous. And while Sybella is a weapon of justice wrought by the god of Death himself, He must give her a reason to live. When she discovers an unexpected ally imprisoned in the dungeons, will a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for?

This heart-pounding sequel to Grave Mercy serves betrayal, treachery, and danger in equal measure, bringing readers back to fifteenth century Brittany and will keep them on the edge of their seats.

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 3 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (3)
Characters 
 
5.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (3)

Admittedly, I was underwhelmed by Grave Mercy. I loved the premise of assassin nuns trained in the deadly arts, but was turned off by the breadth of the political intrigue and Ismae's accursed conscience. In the wings, however, waited Sybella. She was such a mysterious and interesting character that it made me long for the release date of Dark Triumph. I am happy to say, Sybella does not disappoint. She is certainly bloodthirsty, (and one point she even mutters "I am in desperate need of killing something.") and she does not often worry about the moral implications as Ismae did. While Ismae faded a little when the love interest was introduced, Sybella railed against him, taking every opportunity to comment on how ugly he was.

The romantic angle in Dark Triumph was much more palatable for me than it was in Grave Mercy. Beast and Sybella seem equally well matched and neither comes to love the other easily. There was a point at which Beast seemed to have developed an unhealthy desire to rescue Sybella, but that passed and they were placed on equal footing once again. For his part, Beast opened Sybella to a world of compassion that her upbringing had denied her and I really enjoyed how she developed in his presence.

This book featured much less political maneuvering than its predecessor and this makes for a much faster paced plot. Beast and Sybella's lives have been closely intertwined for many years and the revelation of her secrets adds an air of mystery to the story. There are also a number of exciting battles and the introduction of an interesting new cast of characters. While this book moves the overall plot along and sets up for the series to continue, it also provides a satisfying ending to Sybella's personal story.

I will definitely be waiting with baited breath for the next installment in the His Dark Assassin series for more of Sybella but, as I remember very little of Annith, I am also excited for a story that follows her and one that finally reveals the secrets of the convent.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Sybella, the blood thirsty nun.

Admittedly, I was underwhelmed by Grave Mercy. I loved the premise of assassin nuns trained in the deadly arts, but was turned off by the breadth of the political intrigue and Ismae's accursed conscience. In the wings, however, waited Sybella. She was such a mysterious and interesting character that it made me long for the release date of Dark Triumph. I am happy to say, Sybella does not disappoint. She is certainly bloodthirsty, (and one point she even mutters "I am in desperate need of killing something.") and she does not often worry about the moral implications as Ismae did. While Ismae faded a little when the love interest was introduced, Sybella railed against him, taking every opportunity to comment on how ugly he was.

The romantic angle in Dark Triumph was much more palatable for me than it was in Grave Mercy. Beast and Sybella seem equally well matched and neither comes to love the other easily. There was a point at which Beast seemed to have developed an unhealthy desire to rescue Sybella, but that passed and they were placed on equal footing once again. For his part, Beast opened Sybella to a world of compassion that her upbringing had denied her and I really enjoyed how she developed in his presence.

This book featured much less political maneuvering than its predecessor and this makes for a much faster paced plot. Beast and Sybella's lives have been closely intertwined for many years and the revelation of her secrets adds an air of mystery to the story. There are also a number of exciting battles and the introduction of an interesting new cast of characters. While this book moves the overall plot along and sets up for the series to continue, it also provides a satisfying ending to Sybella's personal story.

I will definitely be waiting with baited breath for the next installment in the His Dark Assassin series for more of Sybella but, as I remember very little of Annith, I am also excited for a story that follows her and one that finally reveals the secrets of the convent.

Was this review helpful to you? 
What I loved: Grave Mercy was one of my favorite reads from 2012 and I have been excited to get my hands on Dark Triumph for months. Sybella's story is much darker than even I had expected it to be. She had a painful childhood that has left her emotionally scarred and very untrusting. Sybella's hatred for d'Albret guides the plot and the cast of supporting characters is strong all around.


I also need to give a huge fan-girl shout out to Beast. I think he is one of my favorite historical men I have ever read. He may not fit the bill of everyone's favorite type of male lead but he is up at the top of my list. His brute strength alone makes him fascinating to read but once you uncover his personality you will find a loving, loyal, amazing man. I was surprised how much I ended up rooting for him.

Final Verdict: Dark Triumph is one of the most engrossing stories I have ever read. I was captivated and intrigued from the very beginning and I felt satisfied at the end, although I could have used a little more Beast. I think readers will root for Sybella despite the harshness of her personality and cheer for the successes in life and love that she finds.

Fans of Grave Mercy should not hesitate to pick this second book up. You will not be disappointed. Readers and lovers of historical fiction in the adult or young adult markets should look for this series as well, it is a gem! I am anxiously awaiting the next installment.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Claire Johnson, Staff Reviewer Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Staff Reviewer April 07, 2013
Last updated: April 08, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (234)

Superb Story

What I loved: Grave Mercy was one of my favorite reads from 2012 and I have been excited to get my hands on Dark Triumph for months. Sybella's story is much darker than even I had expected it to be. She had a painful childhood that has left her emotionally scarred and very untrusting. Sybella's hatred for d'Albret guides the plot and the cast of supporting characters is strong all around.


I also need to give a huge fan-girl shout out to Beast. I think he is one of my favorite historical men I have ever read. He may not fit the bill of everyone's favorite type of male lead but he is up at the top of my list. His brute strength alone makes him fascinating to read but once you uncover his personality you will find a loving, loyal, amazing man. I was surprised how much I ended up rooting for him.

Final Verdict: Dark Triumph is one of the most engrossing stories I have ever read. I was captivated and intrigued from the very beginning and I felt satisfied at the end, although I could have used a little more Beast. I think readers will root for Sybella despite the harshness of her personality and cheer for the successes in life and love that she finds.

Fans of Grave Mercy should not hesitate to pick this second book up. You will not be disappointed. Readers and lovers of historical fiction in the adult or young adult markets should look for this series as well, it is a gem! I am anxiously awaiting the next installment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
What I Loved:
I have made no secret of my immense love of Grave Mercy, and have been recommending it to everyone I know who enjoys historical fiction, fantasy, and powerful heroines. As with every sequel to a book I loved, trepidation filled me as I approached Dark Triumph. There's always that chance that the sequel will not live up to its predecessor and will color your enjoyment even of that first book. Robin LaFevers, though, hits her sequel out of the park. Dark Triumph does not fall victim to middle book syndrome and even surpasses Grave Mercy.

Grave Mercy was fairly dark, but still a nice read-a-like for Maria V. Snyder or Kristin Cashore. Dark Triumph is even darker, not a novel I would recommend to those who do not like unhappy tales. Sybella's dark past makes what Ismae went through look like a healthy childhood, and, those who read Grave Mercy know that Ismae's youth was no picnic. Ismae and Duval do make a couple of appearances in Dark Triumph, and it's startling how much more optimistic and friendly Ismae is in comparison to Sybella.

My attachment to Ismae formed immediately in Grave Mercy, but Sybella took me some time to adjust to. She's darker, moodier, more pained, and sometimes verges on crazy, though one can't blame her. However, as I got used to her and came to know more about why she is the way she is, I became even more bonded to Sybella, and even more desirous for her to overcome the horrors of her life.

Sybella's childhood, I will reiterate yet again, was...there aren't really words for it. Her father, d'Albret, used her as a pawn, and she had to watch him kill off wife after wife. Two of her brothers sexually harassed her, one for the fun of it and one from a misguided sense of love. Her past is without brightness, and I'm warning you now of triggers for rape and incest. On top of that, there is a whole lot of violence.

One of the main criticisms I've seen of Grave Mercy, even from those that liked it, had to do with the circumstances of the consummation of Ismae's romance. It was seen as a bit of a cop-out, as though Ismae needed an excuse to have sex. In Dark Triumph, the same could not be said. Sybella has had more than one sexual partner, some willed and some not, and does not have any hesitancy about having sex when she desires it. Sybella seems a bit more empowered than Ismae, and will likely be a big hit with those disappointed by that part of Grave Mercy.

The romance in Dark Triumph makes me even happier than that in Grave Mercy. Though I do think this series could just as easily have been marketed to an adult audience, I love that this book will be going to a young adult audience. LaFevers tosses aside convention and delivers a hero utterly unlike those to be found in the bulk of YA romances. He is not handsome; in fact, he is described as ugly more than once. That does not make him unlovable to Sybella or to me. This message is so important for teens, the importance of personality and common interests over physical appearance.

The Final Verdict:
If you loved Grave Mercy, get excited, because you will surely love Dark Triumph too. If you were in the camp of readers who thought LaFevers pulled some punches in the first book, then I urge you to give this installment a try, because it is much darker and more unique. My love for Robin LaFevers' writing has been firmly cemented, and I shall proceed to wait impatiently for the third His Fair Assassin novel.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Much Darker, More Emotional Read Than Grave Mercy

What I Loved:
I have made no secret of my immense love of Grave Mercy, and have been recommending it to everyone I know who enjoys historical fiction, fantasy, and powerful heroines. As with every sequel to a book I loved, trepidation filled me as I approached Dark Triumph. There's always that chance that the sequel will not live up to its predecessor and will color your enjoyment even of that first book. Robin LaFevers, though, hits her sequel out of the park. Dark Triumph does not fall victim to middle book syndrome and even surpasses Grave Mercy.

Grave Mercy was fairly dark, but still a nice read-a-like for Maria V. Snyder or Kristin Cashore. Dark Triumph is even darker, not a novel I would recommend to those who do not like unhappy tales. Sybella's dark past makes what Ismae went through look like a healthy childhood, and, those who read Grave Mercy know that Ismae's youth was no picnic. Ismae and Duval do make a couple of appearances in Dark Triumph, and it's startling how much more optimistic and friendly Ismae is in comparison to Sybella.

My attachment to Ismae formed immediately in Grave Mercy, but Sybella took me some time to adjust to. She's darker, moodier, more pained, and sometimes verges on crazy, though one can't blame her. However, as I got used to her and came to know more about why she is the way she is, I became even more bonded to Sybella, and even more desirous for her to overcome the horrors of her life.

Sybella's childhood, I will reiterate yet again, was...there aren't really words for it. Her father, d'Albret, used her as a pawn, and she had to watch him kill off wife after wife. Two of her brothers sexually harassed her, one for the fun of it and one from a misguided sense of love. Her past is without brightness, and I'm warning you now of triggers for rape and incest. On top of that, there is a whole lot of violence.

One of the main criticisms I've seen of Grave Mercy, even from those that liked it, had to do with the circumstances of the consummation of Ismae's romance. It was seen as a bit of a cop-out, as though Ismae needed an excuse to have sex. In Dark Triumph, the same could not be said. Sybella has had more than one sexual partner, some willed and some not, and does not have any hesitancy about having sex when she desires it. Sybella seems a bit more empowered than Ismae, and will likely be a big hit with those disappointed by that part of Grave Mercy.

The romance in Dark Triumph makes me even happier than that in Grave Mercy. Though I do think this series could just as easily have been marketed to an adult audience, I love that this book will be going to a young adult audience. LaFevers tosses aside convention and delivers a hero utterly unlike those to be found in the bulk of YA romances. He is not handsome; in fact, he is described as ugly more than once. That does not make him unlovable to Sybella or to me. This message is so important for teens, the importance of personality and common interests over physical appearance.

The Final Verdict:
If you loved Grave Mercy, get excited, because you will surely love Dark Triumph too. If you were in the camp of readers who thought LaFevers pulled some punches in the first book, then I urge you to give this installment a try, because it is much darker and more unique. My love for Robin LaFevers' writing has been firmly cemented, and I shall proceed to wait impatiently for the third His Fair Assassin novel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Grave Mercy was one of the most original books I had read last year and I was so eager to read R.L. LaFever's ongoing adventures of assassin nuns in 15th century Brittany. I am happy to say that Dark Triumph is just that - a triumph of the dark arts, political intrigue and even darker family secrets. Lady Sybella, assassin extraordinaire, is back within her father's castle walls fighting for her life, helping her Duchess escape her father's claws and fighting off the affection of her brother, Julian. She is waiting for her opportunity to finally kill her father when an unexpected escape means a new set of plans. Sybella meets a kindly knight and a mute dwarf who show her the meaning of love and kindness that she was only known in the convent. This is a must for any lover of historical fiction. The surprise is that it is in young adult.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kimberly McGee Reviewed by Kimberly McGee April 21, 2013
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

For Those That Love Game of Thrones - Historical Intrigue in Old Brittany

Grave Mercy was one of the most original books I had read last year and I was so eager to read R.L. LaFever's ongoing adventures of assassin nuns in 15th century Brittany. I am happy to say that Dark Triumph is just that - a triumph of the dark arts, political intrigue and even darker family secrets. Lady Sybella, assassin extraordinaire, is back within her father's castle walls fighting for her life, helping her Duchess escape her father's claws and fighting off the affection of her brother, Julian. She is waiting for her opportunity to finally kill her father when an unexpected escape means a new set of plans. Sybella meets a kindly knight and a mute dwarf who show her the meaning of love and kindness that she was only known in the convent. This is a must for any lover of historical fiction. The surprise is that it is in young adult.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

In an abandoned house, the ghosts gather. They argue, they laugh, and they tell their stories. Some tell their own...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A MEMOIR BY THE YOUNGEST RECIPIENT OF THE NOBEL PEACE PRIZE "I come from a country that was created at...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Finally, a phonics primer that's not un-bear-able! Written by elementary reading specialist Kevin Bolger, Lazy Bear, Crazy Bear is a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Written by elementary reading specialist Kevin Bolger, these short, wacky comics are designed to teach beginning readers the five short...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
What this story needs is a pig in a wig on a boat with some friends having fun in the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
April and her sons, Matthew and Connor, have never known the freedoms that regular Americans enjoy every day. They...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Scarlett doesn’t remember anything before the age of five. Her parents say it’s from the trauma of seeing her house...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
two for joy.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When an adored—and very independent—aunt suffers a fall and comes to live with them, Jenna and her mom discover what...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
23395640.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Want to encourage a child to write creatively? Introduce him to Rufus! The joy of writing (and reading) fills every...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunting story about the destructive power of secrets, The Secrets of Lake Road is an accomplished and gripping suspenseful...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Stepping aside eighteen years ago, Maevan’s mother had chosen exile rather than a war she could not win. Now, Mae...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
curse of the king.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders! The Curse of the King...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
In an exhilarating new series, New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine rewrites history, creating a...
 
4.7
 
3.3 (1)
little elfie one.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
From carolers to snowmen to stars, everyone's favorite Christmas characters sing, shiver, and shine their way through the North Pole...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
just a teacher pet.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Join Mercer Mayer's classic and loveable character, Little Critter®, as he sets out on a new adventure in this brand-new...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Ashley Watson walks through the halls of her high school, bullies taunt and shove...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The end is near . . . When Aris Haan brought down Safara’s biggest war criminal, she’d thought it was...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the action-packed sequel to Rebel Wing, Aris battles for life and love . . . and not everyone will...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Dr. Seuss tells three rhyming tales featuring the extended family of the Cat in the Hat in I Can Lick...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A never-before-seen picture book by Dr. Seuss! This never-ever-before-seen picture book by Dr. Seuss about making up one’s mind is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)