Books Young Adult Fiction Bad Hair Day (Kate Grable #2)

Bad Hair Day (Kate Grable #2) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/c1/e6/19/_12080400-1347567141.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
672   0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 13, 2012
ISBN
0385742150
Buy This Book
      
Senior year is positively hair-raising.

Kate Grable is geeked out to shadow the county medical examiner as part of her school’s pre-med program. Except when he’s arrested for murder, she’s left with the bodies. And when Kate’s brother Jonah stumbles upon a dead gamer girl, she realizes that the zombie epidemic she cured last fall was only the beginning of the weirdness taking over her town. Someone’s murdering kids—something really hairy. And strong. Possibly with claws.

Is it werewolf awesomeness like Jonah and his dorktastic friends think? Kate’s supposed to be a butt-kicking zombie killing genius...but if she can’t figure out who’s behind the freakish attacks, the victims—or what’s left of them—are going to keep piling up.

It’s scary. It’s twisted. It’s sick. It’s high school.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Carrie Harris never fails to deliver the giggles, whether it’s her blog, her twitter, or her first book, Bad Taste in Boys. And let me tell you, Bad Hair Day is just as funny and entertaining.

Bad Hair Day has an entertaining and engaging plot that makes the pages really fly by. I swear I had just started reading and suddenly it was an hour later and I was almost finished with Bad Hair Day.

I loved Kate in Bad Hair Day. There’s a certain character who throws a wrench into Kate’s new relationship with Aaron that I absolutely could not stand and I was totally rooting for Kate to throw down with that certain character. And I love Kate because even though she has a boyfriend now, she still stays true to her character, and her character is awesome. It’s so rare that we have a female protagonist who wants to do something science-y or medical and I really admire Kate’s goals. And her mega skills at solving crimes and creating cures!

I really liked how Carrie Harris set up the plot for Bad Hair Day. There were a few bits and pieces that I totally didn’t expect which was awesome.

If you’re looking for a highly entertaining and engaging series, I definitely recommend Bad Hair Day and the first book, Bad Taste in Boys. Carrie Harris combines humour with badass characters and interesting storylines and her books are not to be missed!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Tara Gonzalez Reviewed by Tara Gonzalez October 28, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (68)

Hobbitsies Reviews: Quick and Hilarious

Carrie Harris never fails to deliver the giggles, whether it’s her blog, her twitter, or her first book, Bad Taste in Boys. And let me tell you, Bad Hair Day is just as funny and entertaining.

Bad Hair Day has an entertaining and engaging plot that makes the pages really fly by. I swear I had just started reading and suddenly it was an hour later and I was almost finished with Bad Hair Day.

I loved Kate in Bad Hair Day. There’s a certain character who throws a wrench into Kate’s new relationship with Aaron that I absolutely could not stand and I was totally rooting for Kate to throw down with that certain character. And I love Kate because even though she has a boyfriend now, she still stays true to her character, and her character is awesome. It’s so rare that we have a female protagonist who wants to do something science-y or medical and I really admire Kate’s goals. And her mega skills at solving crimes and creating cures!

I really liked how Carrie Harris set up the plot for Bad Hair Day. There were a few bits and pieces that I totally didn’t expect which was awesome.

If you’re looking for a highly entertaining and engaging series, I definitely recommend Bad Hair Day and the first book, Bad Taste in Boys. Carrie Harris combines humour with badass characters and interesting storylines and her books are not to be missed!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)