Period 8 Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e4/ef/2f/_period-8-chris-crutcher-1347471997.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
708   0
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 26, 2013
ISBN
9780061914805
Buy This Book
      
In this full-length novel from Chris Crutcher, his first since the best-selling Deadline, the ultimate bully and the ultimate good guy tangle during Period 8.

Paul "the Bomb" Baum tells the truth. No matter what. It was something he learned at Sunday School. But telling the truth can cause problems, and not minor ones. And as Paulie discovers, finding the truth can be even more problematic. Period 8 is supposed to be that one period in high school where the truth can shine, a safe haven. Only what Paulie and Hannah (his ex-girlfriend, unfortunately) and his other classmates don't know is that the ultimate bully, the ultimate liar, is in their midst.

Terrifying, thought-provoking, and original, this novel combines all the qualities of a great thriller with the controversy, ethics, and raw emotion of a classic Crutcher story.

Editor reviews

What I liked: The cover, it's tag line, "They told him it was safe. They lied." and the synopsis grabbed my attention and I couldn't wait to read this. Period.8 was my first Chris Crutcher novel and I had no idea what to expect, but I was hoping for a story that would keep me on the edge of my seat and maybe even freak the jelly belly's out of me.

What left me wanting: This book struggled to hold my interest. I really wanted to love it but the conversational style of writing threw me for a loop and actually confused me at times. I had to reread several parts to clarify I knew who was speaking and when. I also found myself wondering what the characters were doing while they talked?

I just didn't connect well with any of these characters and as far as the mystery goes, I personally felt like too many clues were given away too early in the story which was a letdown.

Final verdict: I do think fans of Chris Crutcher will thoroughly enjoy this story and I would still encourage readers, like me, who haven't read any of his prior works to still give this one a shot!


Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor February 04, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Chris Crutcher fans will enjoy this.

What I liked: The cover, it's tag line, "They told him it was safe. They lied." and the synopsis grabbed my attention and I couldn't wait to read this. Period.8 was my first Chris Crutcher novel and I had no idea what to expect, but I was hoping for a story that would keep me on the edge of my seat and maybe even freak the jelly belly's out of me.

What left me wanting: This book struggled to hold my interest. I really wanted to love it but the conversational style of writing threw me for a loop and actually confused me at times. I had to reread several parts to clarify I knew who was speaking and when. I also found myself wondering what the characters were doing while they talked?

I just didn't connect well with any of these characters and as far as the mystery goes, I personally felt like too many clues were given away too early in the story which was a letdown.

Final verdict: I do think fans of Chris Crutcher will thoroughly enjoy this story and I would still encourage readers, like me, who haven't read any of his prior works to still give this one a shot!


Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)