Period 8 Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e4/ef/2f/_period-8-chris-crutcher-1347471997.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
514   0
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 26, 2013
ISBN
9780061914805
Buy This Book
      
In this full-length novel from Chris Crutcher, his first since the best-selling Deadline, the ultimate bully and the ultimate good guy tangle during Period 8.

Paul "the Bomb" Baum tells the truth. No matter what. It was something he learned at Sunday School. But telling the truth can cause problems, and not minor ones. And as Paulie discovers, finding the truth can be even more problematic. Period 8 is supposed to be that one period in high school where the truth can shine, a safe haven. Only what Paulie and Hannah (his ex-girlfriend, unfortunately) and his other classmates don't know is that the ultimate bully, the ultimate liar, is in their midst.

Terrifying, thought-provoking, and original, this novel combines all the qualities of a great thriller with the controversy, ethics, and raw emotion of a classic Crutcher story.

Editor reviews

What I liked: The cover, it's tag line, "They told him it was safe. They lied." and the synopsis grabbed my attention and I couldn't wait to read this. Period.8 was my first Chris Crutcher novel and I had no idea what to expect, but I was hoping for a story that would keep me on the edge of my seat and maybe even freak the jelly belly's out of me.

What left me wanting: This book struggled to hold my interest. I really wanted to love it but the conversational style of writing threw me for a loop and actually confused me at times. I had to reread several parts to clarify I knew who was speaking and when. I also found myself wondering what the characters were doing while they talked?

I just didn't connect well with any of these characters and as far as the mystery goes, I personally felt like too many clues were given away too early in the story which was a letdown.

Final verdict: I do think fans of Chris Crutcher will thoroughly enjoy this story and I would still encourage readers, like me, who haven't read any of his prior works to still give this one a shot!


Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor February 04, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (404)

Chris Crutcher fans will enjoy this.

What I liked: The cover, it's tag line, "They told him it was safe. They lied." and the synopsis grabbed my attention and I couldn't wait to read this. Period.8 was my first Chris Crutcher novel and I had no idea what to expect, but I was hoping for a story that would keep me on the edge of my seat and maybe even freak the jelly belly's out of me.

What left me wanting: This book struggled to hold my interest. I really wanted to love it but the conversational style of writing threw me for a loop and actually confused me at times. I had to reread several parts to clarify I knew who was speaking and when. I also found myself wondering what the characters were doing while they talked?

I just didn't connect well with any of these characters and as far as the mystery goes, I personally felt like too many clues were given away too early in the story which was a letdown.

Final verdict: I do think fans of Chris Crutcher will thoroughly enjoy this story and I would still encourage readers, like me, who haven't read any of his prior works to still give this one a shot!


Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)