Period 8 Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e4/ef/2f/_period-8-chris-crutcher-1347471997.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
651   0
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 26, 2013
ISBN
9780061914805
Buy This Book
      
In this full-length novel from Chris Crutcher, his first since the best-selling Deadline, the ultimate bully and the ultimate good guy tangle during Period 8.

Paul "the Bomb" Baum tells the truth. No matter what. It was something he learned at Sunday School. But telling the truth can cause problems, and not minor ones. And as Paulie discovers, finding the truth can be even more problematic. Period 8 is supposed to be that one period in high school where the truth can shine, a safe haven. Only what Paulie and Hannah (his ex-girlfriend, unfortunately) and his other classmates don't know is that the ultimate bully, the ultimate liar, is in their midst.

Terrifying, thought-provoking, and original, this novel combines all the qualities of a great thriller with the controversy, ethics, and raw emotion of a classic Crutcher story.

Editor reviews

What I liked: The cover, it's tag line, "They told him it was safe. They lied." and the synopsis grabbed my attention and I couldn't wait to read this. Period.8 was my first Chris Crutcher novel and I had no idea what to expect, but I was hoping for a story that would keep me on the edge of my seat and maybe even freak the jelly belly's out of me.

What left me wanting: This book struggled to hold my interest. I really wanted to love it but the conversational style of writing threw me for a loop and actually confused me at times. I had to reread several parts to clarify I knew who was speaking and when. I also found myself wondering what the characters were doing while they talked?

I just didn't connect well with any of these characters and as far as the mystery goes, I personally felt like too many clues were given away too early in the story which was a letdown.

Final verdict: I do think fans of Chris Crutcher will thoroughly enjoy this story and I would still encourage readers, like me, who haven't read any of his prior works to still give this one a shot!


Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor February 04, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Chris Crutcher fans will enjoy this.

What I liked: The cover, it's tag line, "They told him it was safe. They lied." and the synopsis grabbed my attention and I couldn't wait to read this. Period.8 was my first Chris Crutcher novel and I had no idea what to expect, but I was hoping for a story that would keep me on the edge of my seat and maybe even freak the jelly belly's out of me.

What left me wanting: This book struggled to hold my interest. I really wanted to love it but the conversational style of writing threw me for a loop and actually confused me at times. I had to reread several parts to clarify I knew who was speaking and when. I also found myself wondering what the characters were doing while they talked?

I just didn't connect well with any of these characters and as far as the mystery goes, I personally felt like too many clues were given away too early in the story which was a letdown.

Final verdict: I do think fans of Chris Crutcher will thoroughly enjoy this story and I would still encourage readers, like me, who haven't read any of his prior works to still give this one a shot!


Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)