Son (The Giver Quartet #4)

Son (The Giver Quartet #4)

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1598   1
Write Review
Son (The Giver Quartet #4)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 02, 2012
ISBN
9780547887203
Buy This Book
      

They called her Water Claire. When she washed up on their shore, no one knew that she came from a society where emotions and colors didn’t exist. That she had become a Vessel at age thirteen. That she had carried a Product at age fourteen. That it had been stolen from her body. Claire had a son. But what became of him she never knew. What was his name? Was he even alive?  She was supposed to forget him, but that was impossible. Now Claire will stop at nothing to find her child, even if it means making an unimaginable sacrifice.

Son thrusts readers once again into the chilling world of the Newbery Medal winning book, The Giver, as well as Gathering Blue and Messenger where a new hero emerges. In this thrilling series finale, the startling and long-awaited conclusion to Lois Lowry’s epic tale culminates in a final clash between good and evil.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Completing the cycle

This is the book that everyone has been waiting for! Given the physical state of the first three books in my library, perhaps I need to splurge on a new set with the redesigned covers.

Good Points
Lowry's writing is always beautiful, intriguing, and hard to put down. English teachers everywhere will be glad of this final book in the Giver cycle. I saw a very interesting interview with Lowry about what she was trying to accomplish with this last book, and how she hoped to tie up all the loose ends and make sense of all of the characters. I think she managed to do this very well.
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Very Satisfying Conclusion to An Amazing Series

Before dystopias became hot, there was the book THE GIVER. I still remember how much I loved this story with it's powerful, haunting message. A true classic. I read all the other books that followed and fell in love with the writing.

The next book, SON, is no exception.

Beautifully written, this story follows Claire, who is a birthmother and has a 'product'. Only she has issues with her pregnancy and is sent to a fishery as she can no longer be of use. Claire isn't like the others in her society. She still feels and longs to know what happened to her son. She finds him and what happens next is sure to pull on your heartstrings.

I love this series so much. Haunting images of a future intertwined with a mysterious and evil Trademaster who seems to pull the strings of people. The relationships aren't clear cut but rather complicated. In the beginning we see Claire as a twelve year old receiving her calling as a birthmother. Then we follow her through her struggles, trials, and even a bittersweet relationship with Einar, a crippled villager, who had his own run in with the mysterious Trademaster. We also see what happened to characters in previous novels such as Kira and Jonas. Lowry is able to weave in all her previous story lines into a very satisfying conclusion.


Claire's encounter with the Trademaster comes at a cost. I couldn't help but think what would someone give up in order to have their heart's desire? The Trademaster reminded me of Ray Bradbury's SOMETHING WICKED CAME THIS WAY with promises made at a cost.

SON is sure to become a classic. A very satisfying conclusion to an amazing series.

Good Points
1. Beautifully written conclusion to THE GIVER series
2. Love how author is able to tie in all the other books
3. Satisfying conclusion
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

This Savage Song
 
4.0
"This Savage Song is a uniquely peculiar novel that cleverly combines magic, monsters and music. Dark, violent and monstrous, the..."
The 12 Dares of Christa
 
4.3
"'The 12 Dares of Christa' by Marissa Burt is a sweet story of friendship, determination, strength, and forgiveness. Main character..."
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
 
5.0
"'Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes' by Booki Vivat is an adorable, illustrated story that not only proves a fast..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
The Rest of Us Just Live Here
 
3.7
"I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this one. The characters seemed to me to..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
 
5.0
"*WARNING: There are no spoilers for FEROCIOUS, but there are spoilers for book 1, VICARIOUS* As a reader, sequels always..."
Blight
 
4.7
"BLIGHT by Alexandra Duncan is the next young adult dystopian novel that will set your world on fire. Torrest Tempest..."
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1)
 
5.0
"This book was so unusual and satisfying in so many ways. Then there was the one bit - if you've..."
Mask of Shadows
 
4.0
"MASK OF SHADOWS by Linsey Miller features Sal Leon, a genderfluid thief who wants nothing more than to exact revenge..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Everything, Everything
 
3.0
"This story is told in first-person present-tense entirely from the POV of Madeline, who is turning eighteen in the first..."
The Museum of Heartbreak
 
4.7
"I really relate to this book very much. Most especially with Pen. This book was so honest. Many symbolisms but..."
Loved (House of Night Other World series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"Zoe and the Nerd Herd from the House of Night Series have returned for another adventure in LOVED. All of..."
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! Someone Else's Summer was an amazing and emotional novel. It had a well written plot and captivating..."
Eden Summer
 
4.3
"EDEN SUMMER by Liz Flanagan is a rollercoaster of a novel. In this contemporary young adult book, Jess’ best friend,..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
4.3
"Tashi has had a rough life. With the power of an inhabitor, someone who bonds with an animal, they have..."
The Hollow Girl
 
5.0
"Content Warning: As the author mentions in the forward, there is sexual assault in this book. Disclaimer: I..."
Ash And Quill: The Great Library
 
4.3
"ASH AND QUILL is the third installment of The Great Library Series. Jess and his group of friends live in..."