Books Young Adult Fiction Son (The Giver Quartet #4)

Son (The Giver Quartet #4) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/24/d8/d1/_628x471-1347296282.jpg
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
969   1
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 02, 2012
ISBN
9780547887203
Buy This Book
      

They called her Water Claire. When she washed up on their shore, no one knew that she came from a society where emotions and colors didn’t exist. That she had become a Vessel at age thirteen. That she had carried a Product at age fourteen. That it had been stolen from her body. Claire had a son. But what became of him she never knew. What was his name? Was he even alive?  She was supposed to forget him, but that was impossible. Now Claire will stop at nothing to find her child, even if it means making an unimaginable sacrifice.

Son thrusts readers once again into the chilling world of the Newbery Medal winning book, The Giver, as well as Gathering Blue and Messenger where a new hero emerges. In this thrilling series finale, the startling and long-awaited conclusion to Lois Lowry’s epic tale culminates in a final clash between good and evil.

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)

This is the book that everyone has been waiting for! Given the physical state of the first three books in my library, perhaps I need to splurge on a new set with the redesigned covers.
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Karen Yingling, Editor Reviewed by Karen Yingling, Editor September 27, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (360)

Completing the cycle

This is the book that everyone has been waiting for! Given the physical state of the first three books in my library, perhaps I need to splurge on a new set with the redesigned covers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Before dystopias became hot, there was the book THE GIVER. I still remember how much I loved this story with it's powerful, haunting message. A true classic. I read all the other books that followed and fell in love with the writing.

The next book, SON, is no exception.

Beautifully written, this story follows Claire, who is a birthmother and has a 'product'. Only she has issues with her pregnancy and is sent to a fishery as she can no longer be of use. Claire isn't like the others in her society. She still feels and longs to know what happened to her son. She finds him and what happens next is sure to pull on your heartstrings.

I love this series so much. Haunting images of a future intertwined with a mysterious and evil Trademaster who seems to pull the strings of people. The relationships aren't clear cut but rather complicated. In the beginning we see Claire as a twelve year old receiving her calling as a birthmother. Then we follow her through her struggles, trials, and even a bittersweet relationship with Einar, a crippled villager, who had his own run in with the mysterious Trademaster. We also see what happened to characters in previous novels such as Kira and Jonas. Lowry is able to weave in all her previous story lines into a very satisfying conclusion.


Claire's encounter with the Trademaster comes at a cost. I couldn't help but think what would someone give up in order to have their heart's desire? The Trademaster reminded me of Ray Bradbury's SOMETHING WICKED CAME THIS WAY with promises made at a cost.

SON is sure to become a classic. A very satisfying conclusion to an amazing series.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor September 17, 2012
Last updated: September 18, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (382)

Very Satisfying Conclusion to An Amazing Series

Before dystopias became hot, there was the book THE GIVER. I still remember how much I loved this story with it's powerful, haunting message. A true classic. I read all the other books that followed and fell in love with the writing.

The next book, SON, is no exception.

Beautifully written, this story follows Claire, who is a birthmother and has a 'product'. Only she has issues with her pregnancy and is sent to a fishery as she can no longer be of use. Claire isn't like the others in her society. She still feels and longs to know what happened to her son. She finds him and what happens next is sure to pull on your heartstrings.

I love this series so much. Haunting images of a future intertwined with a mysterious and evil Trademaster who seems to pull the strings of people. The relationships aren't clear cut but rather complicated. In the beginning we see Claire as a twelve year old receiving her calling as a birthmother. Then we follow her through her struggles, trials, and even a bittersweet relationship with Einar, a crippled villager, who had his own run in with the mysterious Trademaster. We also see what happened to characters in previous novels such as Kira and Jonas. Lowry is able to weave in all her previous story lines into a very satisfying conclusion.


Claire's encounter with the Trademaster comes at a cost. I couldn't help but think what would someone give up in order to have their heart's desire? The Trademaster reminded me of Ray Bradbury's SOMETHING WICKED CAME THIS WAY with promises made at a cost.

SON is sure to become a classic. A very satisfying conclusion to an amazing series.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)