Books Young Adult Fiction Son (The Giver Quartet #4)

Son (The Giver Quartet #4) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/24/d8/d1/_628x471-1347296282.jpg
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1015   1
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 02, 2012
ISBN
9780547887203
Buy This Book
      

They called her Water Claire. When she washed up on their shore, no one knew that she came from a society where emotions and colors didn’t exist. That she had become a Vessel at age thirteen. That she had carried a Product at age fourteen. That it had been stolen from her body. Claire had a son. But what became of him she never knew. What was his name? Was he even alive?  She was supposed to forget him, but that was impossible. Now Claire will stop at nothing to find her child, even if it means making an unimaginable sacrifice.

Son thrusts readers once again into the chilling world of the Newbery Medal winning book, The Giver, as well as Gathering Blue and Messenger where a new hero emerges. In this thrilling series finale, the startling and long-awaited conclusion to Lois Lowry’s epic tale culminates in a final clash between good and evil.

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)

This is the book that everyone has been waiting for! Given the physical state of the first three books in my library, perhaps I need to splurge on a new set with the redesigned covers.
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Karen Yingling, Editor Reviewed by Karen Yingling, Editor September 27, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (360)

Completing the cycle

This is the book that everyone has been waiting for! Given the physical state of the first three books in my library, perhaps I need to splurge on a new set with the redesigned covers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Before dystopias became hot, there was the book THE GIVER. I still remember how much I loved this story with it's powerful, haunting message. A true classic. I read all the other books that followed and fell in love with the writing.

The next book, SON, is no exception.

Beautifully written, this story follows Claire, who is a birthmother and has a 'product'. Only she has issues with her pregnancy and is sent to a fishery as she can no longer be of use. Claire isn't like the others in her society. She still feels and longs to know what happened to her son. She finds him and what happens next is sure to pull on your heartstrings.

I love this series so much. Haunting images of a future intertwined with a mysterious and evil Trademaster who seems to pull the strings of people. The relationships aren't clear cut but rather complicated. In the beginning we see Claire as a twelve year old receiving her calling as a birthmother. Then we follow her through her struggles, trials, and even a bittersweet relationship with Einar, a crippled villager, who had his own run in with the mysterious Trademaster. We also see what happened to characters in previous novels such as Kira and Jonas. Lowry is able to weave in all her previous story lines into a very satisfying conclusion.


Claire's encounter with the Trademaster comes at a cost. I couldn't help but think what would someone give up in order to have their heart's desire? The Trademaster reminded me of Ray Bradbury's SOMETHING WICKED CAME THIS WAY with promises made at a cost.

SON is sure to become a classic. A very satisfying conclusion to an amazing series.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor September 17, 2012
Last updated: September 18, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (389)

Very Satisfying Conclusion to An Amazing Series

Before dystopias became hot, there was the book THE GIVER. I still remember how much I loved this story with it's powerful, haunting message. A true classic. I read all the other books that followed and fell in love with the writing.

The next book, SON, is no exception.

Beautifully written, this story follows Claire, who is a birthmother and has a 'product'. Only she has issues with her pregnancy and is sent to a fishery as she can no longer be of use. Claire isn't like the others in her society. She still feels and longs to know what happened to her son. She finds him and what happens next is sure to pull on your heartstrings.

I love this series so much. Haunting images of a future intertwined with a mysterious and evil Trademaster who seems to pull the strings of people. The relationships aren't clear cut but rather complicated. In the beginning we see Claire as a twelve year old receiving her calling as a birthmother. Then we follow her through her struggles, trials, and even a bittersweet relationship with Einar, a crippled villager, who had his own run in with the mysterious Trademaster. We also see what happened to characters in previous novels such as Kira and Jonas. Lowry is able to weave in all her previous story lines into a very satisfying conclusion.


Claire's encounter with the Trademaster comes at a cost. I couldn't help but think what would someone give up in order to have their heart's desire? The Trademaster reminded me of Ray Bradbury's SOMETHING WICKED CAME THIS WAY with promises made at a cost.

SON is sure to become a classic. A very satisfying conclusion to an amazing series.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)