Elemental Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/45/a1/5e/_elemental-antony-john-1346855488.jpg
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
1224   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 21, 2012
ISBN
9780803736825
Buy This Book
      

A lost colony is reborn in this heart-pounding fantasy adventure set in the near future . . .

Sixteen-year-old Thomas has always been an outsider. The first child born without the power of an Element—earth, water, wind or fire—he has little to offer his tiny, remote Outer Banks colony. Or so the Guardians would have him believe.

In the wake of an unforeseen storm, desperate pirates kidnap the Guardians, intent on claiming the island as their own. Caught between the plague-ridden mainland and the advancing pirates, Thomas and his friends fight for survival in the battered remains of a mysterious abandoned settlement. But the secrets they unearth will turn Thomas’ world upside-down, and bring to light not only a treacherous past but also a future more dangerous than he can possibly imagine.

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

The concept of a tiny band of humans who posses the ability to understand and control the elements taking refuge on an island shelter because the rest of the world has been destroyed by plague is intriguing. I also enjoyed that there are other survivors of the plague who sail endlessly around the ocean, afraid to place their feet on land again until the threat of plague has been definitely destroyed.

The characters, for me, are what made this book truly interesting. I had a good sense of each of the main characters, and I liked the way relationships shifted and grew, either closer or further apart, as the plot unfolded. I was especially interested in Alice and Rose, the two girls that our narrator, Thom, is very attracted to and feels connected to, albeit in different ways. Both are strong, capable girls in their own right, though Rose takes longer to step into her own.

I found the writing style to be fairly straightforward and concise, which made for quick and easy reading. With high stakes like pirates and plague and magical control of the elements, combined with a likable male narrator, I can see readers who like adventurous, swashbuckling tales gravitating toward this series.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Unfortunately, as compelling as I found the initial concept, I found myself increasing frustrated as I read because there were a lot of "ah-ha" moments from the characters' perspectives that I'd either seen coming a mile away or that meant absolutely nothing to me because the ah-ha moment arrived at the same time as the explanation for why it was an ah-ha. That took all the punch out of the revelation and left me struggling to wonder why it even mattered. I had a very hard time figuring out what was really going on (and yes, I get that the kids were having a hard time figuring out what parts of their world were true and which were lies), and eventually, I stopped trying to piece anything together because the author just hadn't given me enough of the world to enable me to interact with the mystery.

I think if I'd had a chapter or two of normalcy in the beginning, where I could see how the camp life worked, what everyone's roles were, and what rules/traditions etc were in place, I would've been able to feel emotionally connected to the characters when things started to go wrong, and I've have had a much better understanding of what each revelation meant.

I also had a hard time understanding how a small group of people who all happened to control an element managed to escape to Roanoke Island together in time to escape the plague. We're given to understand that the plague hit during what we would consider modern times, so it's not like elementals are a common sight at our local Starbucks. I wanted to understand how these families knew each other, if the elemental control was centuries old in their bloodstream, how they'd remained hidden etc. so that instead of looking like a coincidence, it would make sense to me that all of them escaped together.

The overall vagueness of the world set-up and the lack of an established normalcy to help highlight the abnormalcy when revelations began would've taken this book from a 3+ star to a 4 or better for me.

Final Verdict:

ELEMENTALS has an intriguing premise and moves quickly, and despite worldbuilding and pacing issues, will appeal to readers who like bold adventures.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor November 22, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Intriguing but a bit Confusing

What I Loved:

The concept of a tiny band of humans who posses the ability to understand and control the elements taking refuge on an island shelter because the rest of the world has been destroyed by plague is intriguing. I also enjoyed that there are other survivors of the plague who sail endlessly around the ocean, afraid to place their feet on land again until the threat of plague has been definitely destroyed.

The characters, for me, are what made this book truly interesting. I had a good sense of each of the main characters, and I liked the way relationships shifted and grew, either closer or further apart, as the plot unfolded. I was especially interested in Alice and Rose, the two girls that our narrator, Thom, is very attracted to and feels connected to, albeit in different ways. Both are strong, capable girls in their own right, though Rose takes longer to step into her own.

I found the writing style to be fairly straightforward and concise, which made for quick and easy reading. With high stakes like pirates and plague and magical control of the elements, combined with a likable male narrator, I can see readers who like adventurous, swashbuckling tales gravitating toward this series.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Unfortunately, as compelling as I found the initial concept, I found myself increasing frustrated as I read because there were a lot of "ah-ha" moments from the characters' perspectives that I'd either seen coming a mile away or that meant absolutely nothing to me because the ah-ha moment arrived at the same time as the explanation for why it was an ah-ha. That took all the punch out of the revelation and left me struggling to wonder why it even mattered. I had a very hard time figuring out what was really going on (and yes, I get that the kids were having a hard time figuring out what parts of their world were true and which were lies), and eventually, I stopped trying to piece anything together because the author just hadn't given me enough of the world to enable me to interact with the mystery.

I think if I'd had a chapter or two of normalcy in the beginning, where I could see how the camp life worked, what everyone's roles were, and what rules/traditions etc were in place, I would've been able to feel emotionally connected to the characters when things started to go wrong, and I've have had a much better understanding of what each revelation meant.

I also had a hard time understanding how a small group of people who all happened to control an element managed to escape to Roanoke Island together in time to escape the plague. We're given to understand that the plague hit during what we would consider modern times, so it's not like elementals are a common sight at our local Starbucks. I wanted to understand how these families knew each other, if the elemental control was centuries old in their bloodstream, how they'd remained hidden etc. so that instead of looking like a coincidence, it would make sense to me that all of them escaped together.

The overall vagueness of the world set-up and the lack of an established normalcy to help highlight the abnormalcy when revelations began would've taken this book from a 3+ star to a 4 or better for me.

Final Verdict:

ELEMENTALS has an intriguing premise and moves quickly, and despite worldbuilding and pacing issues, will appeal to readers who like bold adventures.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)