Echo (The Soul Seekers #2)

Echo (The Soul Seekers #2)

Featured
 
4.0
 
2.3 (1)
2476   2
Write Review
Echo (The Soul Seekers #2)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 13, 2012
ISBN
9780312664879
Buy This Book
      

The second book in the Soul Seekers series about a girl who can navigate between the worlds of the living and the dead by #1 New York Times bestselling author Alyson Noël!

Daire Santos just saved her grandmother's life—and her soul. But at a cost. The Richters, a dark family of sorcerers, have been let loose in the Lowerworld, and Daire and her boyfriend, Dace, must once again work together to find them before they upset the balance between good and evil, and destroy not only their small town in New Mexico, but the entire world.

As Daire and Dace's relationship deepens, Dace’s evil brother Cade grows stronger than ever, building his power and forcing Daire to confront the horrifying prophecy that has brought them all together. One that will leave Daire no choice but to claim her true destiny as Seeker, but only by making an unthinkable sacrifice for the greater good of all.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Enchanting Tale

I love paranormals that are able to swept readers away with addictive storytelling. Add romance to the mix and I'm hooked.

ECHO is the second book in The Soul Seekers series. I felt this book was Daire's heroine's journey as she learns more about her mystic abilities in order to battle Cade(Dace's evil twin) and bring order back to the Lowerworld. Cade has done lots of damage and it's Daire's destiny to help stop him. There's twists and turns along with some surprising revelations.

Daire is strong and not one of those girls that just swoons over a hot guy. I especially loved how it's her that chooses what to do and not to wait around for Dace to solve the problems that have come to Enchantment, New Mexico. Sometimes she's rash and other times unsure but still she's willing to confront the issues head on.

There's a surreal feel to this series that reminds me of BLESS ME, ULTIMA. Just like that classic tale, Daire is guided by her abuela, on finding her abilities and how to use them.

And did I mention the romance? Daire and Dace's chemistry is intense and sizzling. Whenever they are by each other, sparks fly. It's not just the physical attraction that keeps Daire coming back. Around his identical twin, she only feels revulsion to his darkness. Dace is filled with light and goodness.

The other characters in this story add to the flavor of this highly addictive read. The story alternates between Daire and Dace's point of view so readers can see how both of them deal with the serious problems destroying their town.

Towards the end there is metamorphosis that I'm sure is continued in MYSTIC, the next story in this series.

Mix surrealism, a prophecy, and a love that knows no bounds for one amazing read. I couldn't put this book down!

Good Points
1. Love the surrealist feel to this paranormal tale
2. Great chemistry between Daire and Dace
3. Engaging romance
4. Highly addictive read
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
1.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
2.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0

Better than anything else I've read of Noel's

I had a feeling Noel's Soul Seeker series would get better with time and it seems that hunch was somewhat on the mark for once! Though the series could still see some improvement in its characterization and overall writing mechanics, I genuinely enjoyed Echo and found myself lost in Daire's world more often than I did while reading Fated a few months ago.

The further development of Daire's world and exploration of the prophecy both Daire and Dace are having nightmares about drives the story from beginning to end and made the novel hard to put down. Moral dilemmas, fun friends, and more info on Dace's side of the world were everywhere. There was even sex! I like sex in YA. There should be more. If only they could have it freely instead of being barred from it because it makes evil more powerful... Why can't sex be sex and not a tool of evil, especially one that creates a plot hole later in the novel?

The darker turn Daire and Dace's characters take over the course of the novel is fantastic. Though their relationship and love for one another, the driving force behind their changes, have no depth or realism, it's very easy to suspend disbelief and get caught up as both of them consider breaking all the rules in order to save the world and defeat Cade. Unfortunately, Daire's development is robbed of its momentum too quickly; killing Cade is initially against the rules and presents a moral dilemma, but her ancestor later okays it and the morality of killing him becomes null and void. Dace's, however, comes full circle and contributes to one hell of an ending.

The author's style is her style and I can't expect that to change just because a handful of readers would like it, but Noel's way of writing grates on me. Whether it's Dace or Daire narrating (this book is mostly told in dual POV; telling the narrators apart is effortless, thank goodness), em-dashes are abused/used incorrectly and sentence fragments are everywhere. Really, fragments are supposed to be used for emphasis, but Noel uses them so much that they lose all their power and simply become annoying. If her writing didn't have those problems, the novel would get a significantly higher rating from me.

There are also a few instances where sense seems to fly the coop completely. In the middle of a battle in which Daire is killing a bunch of undead Richters, she stops without warning or reason in the middle of it and lets them beat her up because she deserves it for failing at everything. Just as soon as that lapse happens, she gets up and goes right back to killing undead Richters. That detour wasn't necessary at all. I've also got a few small issues with the flat characterization of Dace's ex-girlfriend Phyre (though her quick piece at the end of the novel promises development).

I'll definitely stay around for Mystic, book three in the series. How can I not? It still makes very little sense after three rereads of the last thirty pages, but such a bloody ending earns some serious respect.

Good Points
*Storyline is developed further
*Dual POV is done right for once; I can tell Dace and Daire apart in narration
*Characters are growing better
*Cade. 'nuff said.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Words on Bathroom Walls
Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."
 
3.5
"The story: Brooke dies in a car accident and discovers she’s no longer alive but a silhouette, still in her..."
Prophecy of Darkness (Legends of the Tri-Gard) (Volume 1)
 
5.0
"When Trystan is named Toha, he becomes the protector of the realm instead of the ordinary prince. Because of this..."
 
5.0
"An excellent follow up. The story: We meet Emma again when she is still in the early stages of..."
 
3.5
"An interesting plot with a lot of potential. The story: Katie has been raised by her mother and..."
The Good Citizen
 
4.3
"The story: In a futuristic society that oppresses immigrants and requires citizens, including children, to use guns to enforce..."
The Girl Who Saved Ghosts
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Saves Ghosts is as engaging, adventerous, and mysterious as the first in the series! There is murder,..."
The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts (The Unbelievables #1)
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts surprised me in a good way. I went in with very little expectations and now..."
The Key of F
 
5.0
"The Key of F- Freedom Fight Trilogy#1 by Jennifer Haskin (Goodreads Author) 27143663 Steph Warren's review Nov 18, 2017..."
 
5.0
"Into the Abyss: Vault of Verona is an enticing tale of empowered females and strong role models for its young..."
Sunshine at the Academy: Book 1 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.5
"I really enjoyed this book. It's a futuristic coming of age novel reminiscent of Harry Potter although no magic is..."
Blood Oath (The Darkest Drae Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always enjoyed Kelly St. Clare’s series and I’ve always enjoyed Raye Wagner’s as well, but together, these authors are..."
White (The Wings Trilogy, #1)
 
4.3
"With Claire's parents gone, she is uprooted and moves to Aurora with her sister. Here, she finds a new fascination..."
 
5.0
"What I loved about reading this book was the realness and the real hope. It would be so good if..."
Heart of Mist
 
5.0
"Heart of Mist (The Oremere Chronicales #1) by Heather Scheuerer The Story: Bleak, the town drunk, is hiding a..."
 
4.0
"Premonition (The Division Series, #1) by Leigh Walker The Story: With a drunk for a mother, Riley can’t..."
Blood Magic (Abnormals Underground #1)
 
4.5
"Blood Magic (Abnormals Underground, #1) The Story: In a world where paranormal species are outcasts, Alyssa is bitten..."
 
5.0
"A thrilling new addition to a fantastic series. The story: Crown's shield picks up right where Rebel's Blade leaves..."
That Night
 
3.0
"‘That Night’ is the story of Kayla and her two best friends Sarah, and Cassidy. Kayla is an honors student..."