Katya's World (Katya Kuriakova #1)

Katya's World (Katya Kuriakova #1)

Featured
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
1371   0
Write Review
Katya's World (Katya Kuriakova #1)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
November 06, 2012
ISBN
978-1908844132
Buy This Book
      
The distant and unloved colony world of Russalka has no land, only the raging sea. No clear skies, only the endless storm clouds. Beneath the waves, the people live in pressurised environments and take what they need from the boundless ocean. It is a hard life, but it is theirs and they fought a war against Earth to protect it. But wars leave wounds that never quite heal, and secrets that never quite lie silent. Katya Kuriakova doesn't care much about ancient history like that, though. She is making her first submarine voyage as crew; the first nice, simple journey of what she expects to be a nice, simple career. There is nothing nice and simple about the deep black waters of Russalka, however; soon she will encounter pirates and war criminals, see death and tragedy at first hand, and realise that her world's future lies on the narrowest of knife edges. For in the crushing depths lies a sleeping monster, an abomination of unknown origin, and when it wakes, it will seek out and kill every single person on the planet.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A different kind of Waterworld

To tell you the truth, when I first heard of this book, I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it because science-fiction novels tend to be a hit or miss with me. I found the premise intriguing enough to pick it up since it’s a novel set on a planet covered in water. Growing up, I was a huge fan of the movie Waterworld so personally, the premise really caught my attention. But don’t be fooled. KATYA’S WORLD is something quite different from Waterworld and I was surprised when I realized how much I enjoyed it.

Think Battlestar Galactica, but instead of ships in space, you have submarines in an ocean. The main reason the book reminded me of the sci-fi TV series is mostly because of the artificial intelligence that is set out to destroy everything human on the planet. Its sets a very somber and gripping story that I’m sure many fans of the genre will enjoy. War submarines and pirate ships are also main objects of the book that create suspense and intrigue. The whole concept of a military organization that controls the planet is another reason the novel reminds me so much of Battlestar Galactica. While I understand how a people would turn to the military during times of war, I still don’t understand how the people of this water world soon forgot the idea of democracy shortly after their departure from Earth.

Personally, I wasn’t very fond of the prologue, which simply describes the history of Russalka, the water world. It was very dry and cold and I think it would have been more interesting incorporated into the actual story instead of reading it as if from a history book. Sometimes, science-fiction tends to be difficult to understand because of the lack of description. In KATYA’S WORLD, the author gave us just enough information to follow the story and to create are own visual of the the scenes. It wasn’t overly detailed but there were a few scenes where more description could have been appreciated.

The characters, while numerous and sometimes hard to follow, are very well thought out. I love how some of the “bad guys” have redeeming qualities and I really enjoyed having to guess who was on who’s side. However, I will warn you that many of the characters are killed throughout the story, so don’t get attached to your favorite too soon. The main character is Katya is a newly license submarine navigator who, at the beginning of the novel, is making her maiden voyage as part of her uncle’s ship’s crew. Unluckily, things go wrong from the beginning as the ship is commandeered by the military. Then the crew keeps getting into more and more trouble which eventually leads to structural damage to the ship. I don’t want to reveal to much and spoil the story, so I’ll just leave it at that. Katya is very mature for her age and I think her intelligence and her quick thinking are the character traits that make her such a great heroine. I really hope we get to see more of her in the rest of the trilogy because she’s what makes this book so enjoyable.

Overall, I think this is a great beginning to a promising trilogy. KATYA’S WORLD is one of the debut books of a new YA imprint called Strange Chemistry, that features science-fiction and fantasy novels. If all the books from this imprint are as enjoyable as this one, then I can’t wait to read them all!

¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨°º©©º°¨¨¨¨¨¨¨°º©©º°¨¨¨¨¨¨
An advance reader's copy was provided by the publisher

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Not if I Save You First
 
5.0
"Maddie's father is a Secret Service agent who is protecting Logan's father, the president of the United States. "Mad Dog"..."