Katya's World (Katya Kuriakova #1)

Katya's World (Katya Kuriakova #1)

Featured
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
1267   0
Write Review
Katya's World (Katya Kuriakova #1)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
November 06, 2012
ISBN
978-1908844132
Buy This Book
      
The distant and unloved colony world of Russalka has no land, only the raging sea. No clear skies, only the endless storm clouds. Beneath the waves, the people live in pressurised environments and take what they need from the boundless ocean. It is a hard life, but it is theirs and they fought a war against Earth to protect it. But wars leave wounds that never quite heal, and secrets that never quite lie silent. Katya Kuriakova doesn't care much about ancient history like that, though. She is making her first submarine voyage as crew; the first nice, simple journey of what she expects to be a nice, simple career. There is nothing nice and simple about the deep black waters of Russalka, however; soon she will encounter pirates and war criminals, see death and tragedy at first hand, and realise that her world's future lies on the narrowest of knife edges. For in the crushing depths lies a sleeping monster, an abomination of unknown origin, and when it wakes, it will seek out and kill every single person on the planet.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A different kind of Waterworld

To tell you the truth, when I first heard of this book, I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it because science-fiction novels tend to be a hit or miss with me. I found the premise intriguing enough to pick it up since it’s a novel set on a planet covered in water. Growing up, I was a huge fan of the movie Waterworld so personally, the premise really caught my attention. But don’t be fooled. KATYA’S WORLD is something quite different from Waterworld and I was surprised when I realized how much I enjoyed it.

Think Battlestar Galactica, but instead of ships in space, you have submarines in an ocean. The main reason the book reminded me of the sci-fi TV series is mostly because of the artificial intelligence that is set out to destroy everything human on the planet. Its sets a very somber and gripping story that I’m sure many fans of the genre will enjoy. War submarines and pirate ships are also main objects of the book that create suspense and intrigue. The whole concept of a military organization that controls the planet is another reason the novel reminds me so much of Battlestar Galactica. While I understand how a people would turn to the military during times of war, I still don’t understand how the people of this water world soon forgot the idea of democracy shortly after their departure from Earth.

Personally, I wasn’t very fond of the prologue, which simply describes the history of Russalka, the water world. It was very dry and cold and I think it would have been more interesting incorporated into the actual story instead of reading it as if from a history book. Sometimes, science-fiction tends to be difficult to understand because of the lack of description. In KATYA’S WORLD, the author gave us just enough information to follow the story and to create are own visual of the the scenes. It wasn’t overly detailed but there were a few scenes where more description could have been appreciated.

The characters, while numerous and sometimes hard to follow, are very well thought out. I love how some of the “bad guys” have redeeming qualities and I really enjoyed having to guess who was on who’s side. However, I will warn you that many of the characters are killed throughout the story, so don’t get attached to your favorite too soon. The main character is Katya is a newly license submarine navigator who, at the beginning of the novel, is making her maiden voyage as part of her uncle’s ship’s crew. Unluckily, things go wrong from the beginning as the ship is commandeered by the military. Then the crew keeps getting into more and more trouble which eventually leads to structural damage to the ship. I don’t want to reveal to much and spoil the story, so I’ll just leave it at that. Katya is very mature for her age and I think her intelligence and her quick thinking are the character traits that make her such a great heroine. I really hope we get to see more of her in the rest of the trilogy because she’s what makes this book so enjoyable.

Overall, I think this is a great beginning to a promising trilogy. KATYA’S WORLD is one of the debut books of a new YA imprint called Strange Chemistry, that features science-fiction and fantasy novels. If all the books from this imprint are as enjoyable as this one, then I can’t wait to read them all!

¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨°º©©º°¨¨¨¨¨¨¨°º©©º°¨¨¨¨¨¨
An advance reader's copy was provided by the publisher

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Words on Bathroom Walls
Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."
You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome
 
5.0
"'You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome' by Kate Peterson will allow anyone..."
The Riddle (Pellinor #2)
 
4.7
"THE RIDDLE by Alison Croggon is the second in the author's Pellinor series, and it picks up right where book..."
A Taxonomy of Love
 
3.3
"A story of love that spans a childhood. The story: Spencer is a lonely boy with Tourette's when he..."
The Selection Coloring Book
 
4.0
"Selection fans get excited! THE SELECTION COLORING BOOK, based on the series by Kiera Cass, is getting ready to celebrate..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."
Glow
 
5.0
"'There's a certain kind of light that I should have been afraid of all along.' Radium was discovered..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."
Stolen Secrets
 
4.3
"What worked: This is an amazing tale with an unique twist on the holocaust and the survivors. What I really..."