Books Young Adult Fiction Crash (Visions #1)

Crash (Visions #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/b5/6e/bf/_crash-lisa-mcmann-1346624499.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.7 (3)
394   1
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 08, 2013
ISBN
1442403918
Buy This Book
      
If what you see is what you get, Jules is in serious trouble. The suspenseful first of four books from the New York Times bestselling author of the Wake trilogy.Jules lives with her family above their restaurant, which means she smells like pizza most of the time and drives their double-meatball-shaped food truck to school. It’s not a recipe for popularity, but she can handle that.

What she can’t handle is the recurring vision that haunts her. Over and over, Jules sees a careening truck hit a building and explode...and nine body bags in the snow.

The vision is everywhere—on billboards, television screens, windows—and she’s the only one who sees it. And the more she sees it, the more she sees. The vision is giving her clues, and soon Jules knows what she has to do. Because now she can see the face in one of the body bags, and it’s someone she knows. Someone she has been in love with for as long as she can remember.

In this riveting start to a gripping series from New York Times bestselling author Lisa McMann, Jules has to act—and act fast—to keep her vision from becoming reality.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (3)
Characters 
 
3.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
3.7  (3)
Nice story. All the worrying and anxiety got a bit tiring. The romance was more of a focus then I expected but I didn't mind. I loved the whole Romeo and Juliet forbidden romance thing but I can see some people not liking how much of the book it takes up. It was also a bit slow up until the ending which was absolutely amazing! It was exciting, action packed, and full of adrenalin. Can't wait to see what happens in the sequel!
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Kathryn Lynn Frank Reviewed by Kathryn Lynn Frank September 15, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (17)

Crash (Visions #1)

Nice story. All the worrying and anxiety got a bit tiring. The romance was more of a focus then I expected but I didn't mind. I loved the whole Romeo and Juliet forbidden romance thing but I can see some people not liking how much of the book it takes up. It was also a bit slow up until the ending which was absolutely amazing! It was exciting, action packed, and full of adrenalin. Can't wait to see what happens in the sequel!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have happily read all of Lisa Mcmann's book and am a fan of her stories as well as her writing style.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Ally offill Reviewed by Ally offill May 20, 2013
  -   View all my reviews (1)

Crash!

I have happily read all of Lisa Mcmann's book and am a fan of her stories as well as her writing style.

Was this review helpful to you? 
After seeing so many mixed reviews about this book, I needed to find out for my own whether it would be something I liked or not. And lo and behold, I did. Don't follow EVERY review you see.
A long time ago, before I started blogging, I read Wake by Lisa McMann. In short, I HATED it. Her writing style worked my last nerves. It seemed as if she was trying wayyyyyy too hard to be the age she portrayed her character and in the end she still failed miserably. This book is unfortunately the same way. I just can't make myself like her writing.
Because of this, the fact that I wasn't exactly blown away by this book didn't surprise me. What did surprise me is the fact that it had so much potential to be a great book, but it just didn't. It turned out feeling like a modern day Romeo and Juliet with a small twist of Juliet seeing visions. Sound weird? Yes, that's exactly what it was.
Now there were a few things I did like. Mainly the characters. And Sawyer was the number one thing on my character like list. I'm not sure why I liked him so much.... Well besides the forbidden love. I really have a soft sport for it. And this one was quite funny. (This is why I mentioned Romeo and Juliet earlier lol Warring families and all smh)
I also liked how fast paced this was. The chapters were short and because of this it kept me saying Just one more chapter" and ending up reading it until it was over. If it hadn't been for the short chapters making it feel like the story was moving quickly, I'm not sure that I would have finished it. It had the potential to be a gripping, fast paced, mystery where she had to learn about all the clues and then piece it together and save them in the nick of time from the body bags that keep popping up in her visions. But uhhhhhhhhh of course not. That was definitely wishful thinking. Although the premise is cool, I found myself caring about her family's and her crush's business rather than her vision. That's how I KNOW that I wasn't too intrigued.
But the ending! Wow. The best part was the 2 am part. And then the set up for book 2 now has me super intrigued to see what else is to come from this series. Let's hope the writing gets better....
All in all, it wasn't a bad read, but it wasn't a good one either. It was a fast paced novel that kept me thumbing through page after page and feigning for a slice of pizza.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Nikki H Reviewed by Nikki H January 26, 2013
Last updated: January 26, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (99)

Crash by Lisa McMann

After seeing so many mixed reviews about this book, I needed to find out for my own whether it would be something I liked or not. And lo and behold, I did. Don't follow EVERY review you see.
A long time ago, before I started blogging, I read Wake by Lisa McMann. In short, I HATED it. Her writing style worked my last nerves. It seemed as if she was trying wayyyyyy too hard to be the age she portrayed her character and in the end she still failed miserably. This book is unfortunately the same way. I just can't make myself like her writing.
Because of this, the fact that I wasn't exactly blown away by this book didn't surprise me. What did surprise me is the fact that it had so much potential to be a great book, but it just didn't. It turned out feeling like a modern day Romeo and Juliet with a small twist of Juliet seeing visions. Sound weird? Yes, that's exactly what it was.
Now there were a few things I did like. Mainly the characters. And Sawyer was the number one thing on my character like list. I'm not sure why I liked him so much.... Well besides the forbidden love. I really have a soft sport for it. And this one was quite funny. (This is why I mentioned Romeo and Juliet earlier lol Warring families and all smh)
I also liked how fast paced this was. The chapters were short and because of this it kept me saying Just one more chapter" and ending up reading it until it was over. If it hadn't been for the short chapters making it feel like the story was moving quickly, I'm not sure that I would have finished it. It had the potential to be a gripping, fast paced, mystery where she had to learn about all the clues and then piece it together and save them in the nick of time from the body bags that keep popping up in her visions. But uhhhhhhhhh of course not. That was definitely wishful thinking. Although the premise is cool, I found myself caring about her family's and her crush's business rather than her vision. That's how I KNOW that I wasn't too intrigued.
But the ending! Wow. The best part was the 2 am part. And then the set up for book 2 now has me super intrigued to see what else is to come from this series. Let's hope the writing gets better....
All in all, it wasn't a bad read, but it wasn't a good one either. It was a fast paced novel that kept me thumbing through page after page and feigning for a slice of pizza.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)