Crash (Visions #1)

 
0.0
 
3.7 (3)
672   1
Write Review
Crash (Visions #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 08, 2013
ISBN
1442403918
Buy This Book
      
If what you see is what you get, Jules is in serious trouble. The suspenseful first of four books from the New York Times bestselling author of the Wake trilogy.Jules lives with her family above their restaurant, which means she smells like pizza most of the time and drives their double-meatball-shaped food truck to school. It’s not a recipe for popularity, but she can handle that.

What she can’t handle is the recurring vision that haunts her. Over and over, Jules sees a careening truck hit a building and explode...and nine body bags in the snow.

The vision is everywhere—on billboards, television screens, windows—and she’s the only one who sees it. And the more she sees it, the more she sees. The vision is giving her clues, and soon Jules knows what she has to do. Because now she can see the face in one of the body bags, and it’s someone she knows. Someone she has been in love with for as long as she can remember.

In this riveting start to a gripping series from New York Times bestselling author Lisa McMann, Jules has to act—and act fast—to keep her vision from becoming reality.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (3)
Characters 
 
3.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
3.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Crash (Visions #1)

Nice story. All the worrying and anxiety got a bit tiring. The romance was more of a focus then I expected but I didn't mind. I loved the whole Romeo and Juliet forbidden romance thing but I can see some people not liking how much of the book it takes up. It was also a bit slow up until the ending which was absolutely amazing! It was exciting, action packed, and full of adrenalin. Can't wait to see what happens in the sequel!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Crash!

I have happily read all of Lisa Mcmann's book and am a fan of her stories as well as her writing style.

Good Points
The plot of Crash is completely unique like all of Lisa's books. The story is short and sweet and draws that reader in quickly. I loved the characters most of all her openly gay brother who just adds a little bit extra to the story. The plot very original and has a way of making the reader think. The book is packed full of story in just a few pages. Oh My Dog!! I cannot wait till that next book due to the ending that was left.
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0

Crash by Lisa McMann

After seeing so many mixed reviews about this book, I needed to find out for my own whether it would be something I liked or not. And lo and behold, I did. Don't follow EVERY review you see.
A long time ago, before I started blogging, I read Wake by Lisa McMann. In short, I HATED it. Her writing style worked my last nerves. It seemed as if she was trying wayyyyyy too hard to be the age she portrayed her character and in the end she still failed miserably. This book is unfortunately the same way. I just can't make myself like her writing.
Because of this, the fact that I wasn't exactly blown away by this book didn't surprise me. What did surprise me is the fact that it had so much potential to be a great book, but it just didn't. It turned out feeling like a modern day Romeo and Juliet with a small twist of Juliet seeing visions. Sound weird? Yes, that's exactly what it was.
Now there were a few things I did like. Mainly the characters. And Sawyer was the number one thing on my character like list. I'm not sure why I liked him so much.... Well besides the forbidden love. I really have a soft sport for it. And this one was quite funny. (This is why I mentioned Romeo and Juliet earlier lol Warring families and all smh)
I also liked how fast paced this was. The chapters were short and because of this it kept me saying Just one more chapter" and ending up reading it until it was over. If it hadn't been for the short chapters making it feel like the story was moving quickly, I'm not sure that I would have finished it. It had the potential to be a gripping, fast paced, mystery where she had to learn about all the clues and then piece it together and save them in the nick of time from the body bags that keep popping up in her visions. But uhhhhhhhhh of course not. That was definitely wishful thinking. Although the premise is cool, I found myself caring about her family's and her crush's business rather than her vision. That's how I KNOW that I wasn't too intrigued.
But the ending! Wow. The best part was the 2 am part. And then the set up for book 2 now has me super intrigued to see what else is to come from this series. Let's hope the writing gets better....
All in all, it wasn't a bad read, but it wasn't a good one either. It was a fast paced novel that kept me thumbing through page after page and feigning for a slice of pizza.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

25664625.jpg
Little Red is on her way to visit Auntie Rosie...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
27210475.jpg
For fans of Fancy Nancy, Ladybug Girl, and Chu’s First...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cake Pop Crush
Alicia Ramirez has always loved baking. Her family owns Say...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Recreated (The Reawakened Series)
From Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Still a Gorilla
Will Willy be another type of animal? No! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Please Say Please
How do you ask for what you'd like? Do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pete the Cat's Got Class
New York Times bestselling author and artist James Dean brings...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Quinn Cutler is sixteen and the daughter of a high-profile...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
***Finalist in the National Indie Excellence Awards for Young...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Icarus
Daedelum's children pray for the honor of being chosen...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Run
Run
Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lost-in-Wonderland-evernightpublishing-JayAheer2016-smallpreview.jpg
Monsters, serial killers, and imaginary friends—being a Wonderlander can...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
P.S. I Like You
Signed, sealed, delivered... While spacing out in Chemistry class,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw
For the first time ever, drawing instructor and graphic novelist...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2)
This beauty isn’t sleeping! Sarah Prineas’s darkly imaginative retelling breaks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Retreat (The After Trilogy: Book One)
Earth was ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)