Elixir (Covenant Series #3.5)

Elixir (Covenant Series #3.5)

Featured
 
5.0
 
5.0 (2)
2283   1
Write Review
Elixir (Covenant Series #3.5)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 27, 2012
ISBN
9781937053413
Buy This Book
      
Aiden St. Delphi will do anything to save Alex.

Even if it means doing the one thing he will never forgive himself for.

Even if it means making war against the gods.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

OhMyAiden

"There is love, which means there is always hope." (Yes. This.)

Holy Half-bloods, I didn't think it was possible to love Aiden St. Delphi any more than I did but OH.MY.AIDEN! I have been anxiously awaiting this novella for several reasons, the most obvious being, this is Aiden's POV. (Duh!) AIDEN! *shakes you to make sure you're paying attention* the uber hot Sentinel whose always so guarded (no pun intended) with his feelings and having the chance to get inside his head and heart is better than winning the lottery!

Let me back up a second and say, if you haven't read DEITY yet, DO NOT READ this until you do! Why? Because it picks up right where DEITY leaves off and you will have missed out on all the important things! (You may also want to STOP reading this review.)

Elixir is the perfect addition to The Covenant Series and not just because it's Aiden's POV. (If you can't tell, I'm Team Aiden) It has all of the elements I love so much like humor, romance and action, although the action in this novella is more the battle Aiden wages with himself. He feels responsible for what's happening to Alex yet helpless to fix it but a little comic relief is never far away, especially when his brother Deacon is around.

"I know." Deacon grinned. "I'm just awesome."

"And modest." ~ Aiden

Surrounded by others who are concerned for Alex as well as the fate of the human race, Aiden seems to be the only one determined not to give up on her or give in to the fear. His struggle to do what's best for Alex, despite her new split personality, is both endearing and heart-wrenching. *clutches chest* But he is determined to protect her no matter the cost and he doesn't shy away from encouraging her to fight because he knows what Alex is made of, what she can do. He wants to help her overcome this change that is threatening to rob her of who she is even if it means risking his own life to do it.

Time is running out and a war is brewing but you know what, if war is what the gods want, then I say, "BRING IT ON!" *hides behind Aiden*

Good Points
Aiden. LOTS of Aiden!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Good Gods, Best Novella I've EVER Read.

Steph’s Mini Review:

This has to be one of the best novella’s I’ve ever read. It probably is the best. In less than 80 pages, Jen is able to show us a whole new side and perspective of Aiden’s character. From all of the other books in the Covenant series, we see Aiden in Alex’s POV. He seems perfect, calm, and collected. Her prince and knight in shining armor.

Yeah, Aiden doesn’t exactly view himself quite that way. He is much more complex than anyone could have guessed, and he has his own internal struggles to face even though he needs to be out there to support Alex, especially after the events in Deity. He is...much more aggressive than I thought he was. It was also nice to see Aiden’s perspective of Alex, which is comparable to Alex’s view on Aiden :). You mean he’s a total perv. He’s like: OMG ALEX’S LEGS ARE SO....PURTY.

I think the thing I liked most about this novella was that it actually had a plot (shocker right?). I am pretty picky when it comes to novellas, because I think that if an author actually intends to write one, they should do all they can to make it on par with everything else in the series. In Elixir, all of the important characters from the Covenant series are present, and stuff actually happens with Aiden and Alex. Even this little novella had the twists that we know JLA so well for. If you read Elixir, you would definitely get more information about the brewing war. It picks up right after the torturous Deity ending, and covers the span of about a month There is a reason why this novella is named “Elixir”. ;)

It is a great Covenant installment, and definitely isn’t something you should skip over! Sometimes you can skip novellas in a series and still be okay, but I think it’s really beneficial to actually read Elixir. Plus, it helps feed your never ending thirst (or at least my never ending thirst AND DANI’S) for more of Covenant. Can’t wait for Apollyon to come out in April!!!

Good Points
Aiden.
Aiden's love for Alex.
Aiden standing up for Alex.
Deacon. He's hilarious.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Elixir by Jennifer L. Armentrout

(Warning: If you have not read Deity, you will not understand this novella!)

Where to start?! Of course I LOVED it because everyone knows I LOVE Aiden. But this novella from his POV was very hard to read. It was gut wrenching and I felt so bad for him. He was very emotional and I wanted to crawl in the book and comfort him myself. It was a nice change to be in his mind and see the love he has for Alex. He is no doubt the most wonderful, sweetest book boyfriend ever.
I also felt bad for Alex. Although she was being a certified crazy person, none of it was her fault. I don't believe that anything she did was her for a minute. Then when she had that "breakthrough," I really felt bad because I even knew it wouldn't last. Watching as she goes through this is like slamming my finger in the door time after time after time. It hurts. She was so strong and him taking her over like this makes her seem like a weakened, broken shell and I HATED it.
But overall, this was a great installment to the Covenant series. A war is brewing and Aiden seems to be the only one not reacting to the fear of the Apolloyons. He seems to see what everyone else does not, all for Alex's sake.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."
The Slithery Shakedown: The Nocturnals (Grow & Read Early Reader, Level 2)
 
3.5
"In this sequel to The Midnight Meeting, we rejoin Bismark the sugar glider, Tobin the pangolin and Dawn the fox...."
Beat Bugs: In My Life (I Can Read Level 1)
 
4.0
"Illustrated with stills from the television program with light colored font, children will enjoy identifying the characters they know from..."
Scroll of Kings (The Lost Books #1)
 
4.0
"Alex is struggling as the apprentice to an elderly librarian at a castle filled with old, musty diaries and laundry..."
 
5.0
"Tristan's family decides to move from New York City to a small town after his father loses his job and..."
Sparks!
 
4.5
"Canine configuration engage! August, a cat, has created a robotic dog that his friend Charlie helps him run. With the..."
A Warp in Time (Horizon, Book 3)
 
4.0
"The children in the Killbots whose plane went down have suffered from having friends die, being stuck in all sorts..."
Marge in Charge and the Stolen Treasure (#2)
 
4.0
"Jemima and her little brother Jakey are being bedeviled by their baby cousin, Zara. Their Aunt Sally claims that her..."
Super Sweet Dreams (Puppy Princess #2)
 
4.0
"In this sequel to Party Time, Princess Rosie finds out that her best friend (and cat-in-waiting) Cleo's birthday is coming..."
How to Be a Supervillain: Born to Be Good (#2)
 
4.0
"Victor Spoil is back after defeating Dr. Deplorable in How to Be a Supervillian. He's still struggling with wanting to..."
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
 
4.0
"Lucy lives with her supportive grandmother, and frequently sees her uncle, who is young, fun, and a bit misguided. Lucy..."
Me, Frida, and the Secret of the Peacock Ring
 
5.0
"Paloma Marquez has to spend the summer in Mexico City with her mother, who has gotten a fellowship to study..."
The Parker Inheritance
 
4.0
"Candice's grandmother was a city official in the small town of Lambert before she fell into disrepute. She thought there..."
 
4.0
"In this level one beginning reader, Pete and his friends adventure into the back yard to look for bugs. They..."
My Weird School: Teamwork Trouble (I Can Read Level 2)
 
5.0
"This level two I Can Read book follows the exploits of Ryan, who loves all sports! He is on a..."
The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody
 
5.0
"Oliver is very interested in all of the details of the Civil War, so he's thrilled when his 7th grade..."
There Was an Old Pirate Who Swallowed a Map!
 
4.0
""There was an old pirate who swallowed a map. I don't know why she swallowed that map but it wasn't..."