Books Young Adult Fiction Hidden (House of Night #10)

Hidden (House of Night #10) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/32/82/bb/13088_hidden-1348451739.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
876   1
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 16, 2012
ISBN
9780312594428
Buy This Book
      
Neferet’s true nature has been revealed to the Vampyre High Council, so Zoey and the gang might finally get some help in defending themselves and their beloved school against a gathering evil that grows stronger every day. And they’ll need it, because Neferet’s not going down without a fight. Chaos reigns at the House of Night

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
3.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Hmm... No say about the cover. Just no comment. Noo...

After all those books before Hidden, I was getting bored of this series. I mean, seriously, The House of Night series is just getting way too long. This is like Private by Kate Brian. Just no.

I think books like these (number ten in the series of The House of Night) should have a recap. (TV Talk now) Recaps are nice. They help readers like you and me remember books we read for over a year ago. Really helpful.

In this book, Hidden, P.C. Cast must learn to keep the dead dead. No soul transfers or any of that rubbish. Please, just no rubbish of Heath and all that crazy stuff. All of the main character's boyfriends are always like that. For example, there is the one that died, and another that betrayed Zoey. Please have a normal guy who will not die. (Pretty Please?)

I feel that Hidden is just another book with the same or similar plot. Zoey is happy. The Evil Queen strikes another terror of darkness. Zoey fights back. The queen goes to find sacrifices. Zoey stops the queen. The queen slips away. Zoey is happy again. The queen opens a new reign of terror. Zoey tries to find the way to counter her. Zoey fights against the queen. The queen goes to find more victims to stop Zoey. Zoey stops the queen. And the queen gets away again. The endless cycle of deaths and good versus evil.

This is getting old. OLD!!

One of the good things about this book is the humor. The humor that is fighting against the darkness of the story is the light of the book. I love the humor, the laughing, the I-need-to-catch-my-breath-or-I-am-going-to-die laughter.

The writing and poems in this book flows as usual. I hope P.C. Cast would just spice it up. Just a tiny little bit. That would make the book much more interesting. IF SHE DOES THAT FOR THE NEXT BOOK, I WILL READ ALL OF THE BOOKS IN THIS LONG BORING SERIES!!! I promise, I will. Promise.

The switching POVs are refreshing and easy to understand. (The name is there unlike some books). It helps you understand the story.

This book was a short read. It took me around one and a half hour to read this three hundred or so pages of this book by P.C. Cast.

If you don't want to read the spoilers or haven't read this book yet, SKIP THE SPOILERS SECTION.

Spoilers

1) The Evil Queen tries to kill Grandma.
2) Kalona is having second thoughts about joining light.
3) Heath doesn't die.
4) Lots of cats die.
5) Odd beginning.
6) Erin goes to the dark side.

End Spoilers

The rating of Hidden is THREE OUT OF FIVE.

-ofpaperandwords.blogspot.com
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Alison Hong Reviewed by Alison Hong July 15, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (37)

Review: Hidden (The house of Night #10)

Hmm... No say about the cover. Just no comment. Noo...

After all those books before Hidden, I was getting bored of this series. I mean, seriously, The House of Night series is just getting way too long. This is like Private by Kate Brian. Just no.

I think books like these (number ten in the series of The House of Night) should have a recap. (TV Talk now) Recaps are nice. They help readers like you and me remember books we read for over a year ago. Really helpful.

In this book, Hidden, P.C. Cast must learn to keep the dead dead. No soul transfers or any of that rubbish. Please, just no rubbish of Heath and all that crazy stuff. All of the main character's boyfriends are always like that. For example, there is the one that died, and another that betrayed Zoey. Please have a normal guy who will not die. (Pretty Please?)

I feel that Hidden is just another book with the same or similar plot. Zoey is happy. The Evil Queen strikes another terror of darkness. Zoey fights back. The queen goes to find sacrifices. Zoey stops the queen. The queen slips away. Zoey is happy again. The queen opens a new reign of terror. Zoey tries to find the way to counter her. Zoey fights against the queen. The queen goes to find more victims to stop Zoey. Zoey stops the queen. And the queen gets away again. The endless cycle of deaths and good versus evil.

This is getting old. OLD!!

One of the good things about this book is the humor. The humor that is fighting against the darkness of the story is the light of the book. I love the humor, the laughing, the I-need-to-catch-my-breath-or-I-am-going-to-die laughter.

The writing and poems in this book flows as usual. I hope P.C. Cast would just spice it up. Just a tiny little bit. That would make the book much more interesting. IF SHE DOES THAT FOR THE NEXT BOOK, I WILL READ ALL OF THE BOOKS IN THIS LONG BORING SERIES!!! I promise, I will. Promise.

The switching POVs are refreshing and easy to understand. (The name is there unlike some books). It helps you understand the story.

This book was a short read. It took me around one and a half hour to read this three hundred or so pages of this book by P.C. Cast.

If you don't want to read the spoilers or haven't read this book yet, SKIP THE SPOILERS SECTION.

Spoilers

1) The Evil Queen tries to kill Grandma.
2) Kalona is having second thoughts about joining light.
3) Heath doesn't die.
4) Lots of cats die.
5) Odd beginning.
6) Erin goes to the dark side.

End Spoilers

The rating of Hidden is THREE OUT OF FIVE.

-ofpaperandwords.blogspot.com

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was really getting sick of the house of night series, but this book really made me like it again. With everyone finally on Zoey’s side it was a much more enjoyable story.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Brittany Reviewed by Brittany November 21, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (72)

Back on Track

I was really getting sick of the house of night series, but this book really made me like it again. With everyone finally on Zoey’s side it was a much more enjoyable story.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Book n 10 is actually the best yet so far, still 2 more to come, n hopefully the next two will be as good,fingers cross.
camila Reviewed by camila November 08, 2012
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

one of the best so far

Book n 10 is actually the best yet so far, still 2 more to come, n hopefully the next two will be as good,fingers cross.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)