Books Young Adult Fiction Hidden (House of Night #10)

Hidden (House of Night #10) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/32/82/bb/13088_hidden-1348451739.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
977   1
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 16, 2012
ISBN
9780312594428
Buy This Book
      
Neferet’s true nature has been revealed to the Vampyre High Council, so Zoey and the gang might finally get some help in defending themselves and their beloved school against a gathering evil that grows stronger every day. And they’ll need it, because Neferet’s not going down without a fight. Chaos reigns at the House of Night

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
3.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Hmm... No say about the cover. Just no comment. Noo...

After all those books before Hidden, I was getting bored of this series. I mean, seriously, The House of Night series is just getting way too long. This is like Private by Kate Brian. Just no.

I think books like these (number ten in the series of The House of Night) should have a recap. (TV Talk now) Recaps are nice. They help readers like you and me remember books we read for over a year ago. Really helpful.

In this book, Hidden, P.C. Cast must learn to keep the dead dead. No soul transfers or any of that rubbish. Please, just no rubbish of Heath and all that crazy stuff. All of the main character's boyfriends are always like that. For example, there is the one that died, and another that betrayed Zoey. Please have a normal guy who will not die. (Pretty Please?)

I feel that Hidden is just another book with the same or similar plot. Zoey is happy. The Evil Queen strikes another terror of darkness. Zoey fights back. The queen goes to find sacrifices. Zoey stops the queen. The queen slips away. Zoey is happy again. The queen opens a new reign of terror. Zoey tries to find the way to counter her. Zoey fights against the queen. The queen goes to find more victims to stop Zoey. Zoey stops the queen. And the queen gets away again. The endless cycle of deaths and good versus evil.

This is getting old. OLD!!

One of the good things about this book is the humor. The humor that is fighting against the darkness of the story is the light of the book. I love the humor, the laughing, the I-need-to-catch-my-breath-or-I-am-going-to-die laughter.

The writing and poems in this book flows as usual. I hope P.C. Cast would just spice it up. Just a tiny little bit. That would make the book much more interesting. IF SHE DOES THAT FOR THE NEXT BOOK, I WILL READ ALL OF THE BOOKS IN THIS LONG BORING SERIES!!! I promise, I will. Promise.

The switching POVs are refreshing and easy to understand. (The name is there unlike some books). It helps you understand the story.

This book was a short read. It took me around one and a half hour to read this three hundred or so pages of this book by P.C. Cast.

If you don't want to read the spoilers or haven't read this book yet, SKIP THE SPOILERS SECTION.

Spoilers

1) The Evil Queen tries to kill Grandma.
2) Kalona is having second thoughts about joining light.
3) Heath doesn't die.
4) Lots of cats die.
5) Odd beginning.
6) Erin goes to the dark side.

End Spoilers

The rating of Hidden is THREE OUT OF FIVE.

-ofpaperandwords.blogspot.com
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Alison Hong Reviewed by Alison Hong July 15, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (37)

Review: Hidden (The house of Night #10)

Hmm... No say about the cover. Just no comment. Noo...

After all those books before Hidden, I was getting bored of this series. I mean, seriously, The House of Night series is just getting way too long. This is like Private by Kate Brian. Just no.

I think books like these (number ten in the series of The House of Night) should have a recap. (TV Talk now) Recaps are nice. They help readers like you and me remember books we read for over a year ago. Really helpful.

In this book, Hidden, P.C. Cast must learn to keep the dead dead. No soul transfers or any of that rubbish. Please, just no rubbish of Heath and all that crazy stuff. All of the main character's boyfriends are always like that. For example, there is the one that died, and another that betrayed Zoey. Please have a normal guy who will not die. (Pretty Please?)

I feel that Hidden is just another book with the same or similar plot. Zoey is happy. The Evil Queen strikes another terror of darkness. Zoey fights back. The queen goes to find sacrifices. Zoey stops the queen. The queen slips away. Zoey is happy again. The queen opens a new reign of terror. Zoey tries to find the way to counter her. Zoey fights against the queen. The queen goes to find more victims to stop Zoey. Zoey stops the queen. And the queen gets away again. The endless cycle of deaths and good versus evil.

This is getting old. OLD!!

One of the good things about this book is the humor. The humor that is fighting against the darkness of the story is the light of the book. I love the humor, the laughing, the I-need-to-catch-my-breath-or-I-am-going-to-die laughter.

The writing and poems in this book flows as usual. I hope P.C. Cast would just spice it up. Just a tiny little bit. That would make the book much more interesting. IF SHE DOES THAT FOR THE NEXT BOOK, I WILL READ ALL OF THE BOOKS IN THIS LONG BORING SERIES!!! I promise, I will. Promise.

The switching POVs are refreshing and easy to understand. (The name is there unlike some books). It helps you understand the story.

This book was a short read. It took me around one and a half hour to read this three hundred or so pages of this book by P.C. Cast.

If you don't want to read the spoilers or haven't read this book yet, SKIP THE SPOILERS SECTION.

Spoilers

1) The Evil Queen tries to kill Grandma.
2) Kalona is having second thoughts about joining light.
3) Heath doesn't die.
4) Lots of cats die.
5) Odd beginning.
6) Erin goes to the dark side.

End Spoilers

The rating of Hidden is THREE OUT OF FIVE.

-ofpaperandwords.blogspot.com

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was really getting sick of the house of night series, but this book really made me like it again. With everyone finally on Zoey’s side it was a much more enjoyable story.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Brittany Reviewed by Brittany November 21, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (72)

Back on Track

I was really getting sick of the house of night series, but this book really made me like it again. With everyone finally on Zoey’s side it was a much more enjoyable story.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Book n 10 is actually the best yet so far, still 2 more to come, n hopefully the next two will be as good,fingers cross.
camila Reviewed by camila November 08, 2012
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

one of the best so far

Book n 10 is actually the best yet so far, still 2 more to come, n hopefully the next two will be as good,fingers cross.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)