The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories

The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories Featured

 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
1105   1
Write Review
The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 01, 2012
ISBN
978-0761375272
Buy This Book
      
A vampire locked in a cage in the basement, for good luck.
-Bad guys, clever girls, and the various reasons why the guys have to stop breathing.
-A world where fires never go out (with references to vanilla ice cream).

These are but a few of the curiosities collected in this volume of short stories by three acclaimed practitioners of paranormal fiction.

ButThe Curiosities is more than the stories. Since 2008, Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff have posted more than 250 works of short fiction to their website merryfates.com. Their goal was simple: create a space for experimentation and improvisation in their writing--all in public and without a backspace key. In that spirit,The Curiosities includes the stories and each author's comments, critiques, and kudos in the margins. Think of it as a guided tour of the creative processes of three acclaimed authors.

So, are you curious now?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: August 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Delicious Magical Brew of Short Tales

I'm a huge fan of the Merry Sisters of Fate: Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff. I purchased their first collection of short stories back in 2008 and was hooked. So when I heard another collection of their stories was coming out, I had to have it. I was bummed that the galleys weren't available at ALA but when Tessa twittered rumor that THE CURIOSITIES was out early, I rushed out and purchased it.

How can I say how much I love this book? I'm going to have to include a best anthology category to my top 2012 YA picks this year. And yes, this book will be in it.

Why? Oh my gosh, let's just say this book is pure genius. Not only is it filled with amazing short stories but it has notes/comments from the authors on the writing process.

I'm totally in love with all these writer's writing. Maggie uses words in such a way that's it's like eating the most delectable bowl of dark chocolate ice cream. You want to savor each word.

My favorite line of hers comes from her take on a King Arthur prompt:

...And love means more if it is hard to do.

Tessa Gratton's writing is filled with passion, kissing, and awesomeness.

My favorite story--and it was really hard to chose just one--has to be THE VAMPIRE BOX. This story haunted me and I was dying(no pun intended) on what happens next!

Brenna Yovanoff's stories are haunting. I can't believe I haven't read one of her novels. Well, I will remedy that real fast!

My favorite of hers has to be NEIGHBORS a haunting twist on the familiar ghost tale.

There's notes, comments throughout. For example they share their favorite words:

Tessa- Sloughing, ecstatic, wrought, viscera, effervescent
Brenna- Hemorrhage, ostensibly, psychosomatic, harmonica, flirtatious
Maggie- Hectic, noble, squiffy, piscatorial, longing

I love how all the Merry sisters can take a word and weave it into a short tale in such a way that makes it magical. Yes, this collection is pure magic. I love the unique twist. That's one thing I love about Andrew Karre's new imprint--it's not afraid to take chances and experiment.

I want more! A delicious magical brew of short tales. This is a must read for fans of dark paranormal shorts.

Good Points
1. Great collection of short stories by Merry Sisters of Fate
2. Maggie Stievater, Tessa Gratton, Brenna Yovanoff--Need I say more?
3. Pure genius
4. Unique twist on an anthology as this one shows notes/comments on the writing process
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
N/A
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Great stories

This book is filled with short stories from three brilliant authors. It includes notes from all three and doodles galore. If you like ANY of these authors, this is a must read!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

25664625.jpg
Little Red is on her way to visit Auntie Rosie...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
27210475.jpg
For fans of Fancy Nancy, Ladybug Girl, and Chu’s First...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cake Pop Crush
Alicia Ramirez has always loved baking. Her family owns Say...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Recreated (The Reawakened Series)
From Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Still a Gorilla
Will Willy be another type of animal? No! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Please Say Please
How do you ask for what you'd like? Do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pete the Cat's Got Class
New York Times bestselling author and artist James Dean brings...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Quinn Cutler is sixteen and the daughter of a high-profile...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
***Finalist in the National Indie Excellence Awards for Young...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Icarus
Daedelum's children pray for the honor of being chosen...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Run
Run
Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lost-in-Wonderland-evernightpublishing-JayAheer2016-smallpreview.jpg
Monsters, serial killers, and imaginary friends—being a Wonderlander can...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
P.S. I Like You
Signed, sealed, delivered... While spacing out in Chemistry class,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw
For the first time ever, drawing instructor and graphic novelist...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2)
This beauty isn’t sleeping! Sarah Prineas’s darkly imaginative retelling breaks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Retreat (The After Trilogy: Book One)
Earth was ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)