Books Young Adult Fiction The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories

The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/d3/b7/9e/_the-curiosities-maggie-stiefvater-tessa-gratton-brenna-yovanoff-1344917819.jpg
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
735   1
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 01, 2012
ISBN
978-0761375272
Buy This Book
      
A vampire locked in a cage in the basement, for good luck.
-Bad guys, clever girls, and the various reasons why the guys have to stop breathing.
-A world where fires never go out (with references to vanilla ice cream).

These are but a few of the curiosities collected in this volume of short stories by three acclaimed practitioners of paranormal fiction.

ButThe Curiosities is more than the stories. Since 2008, Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff have posted more than 250 works of short fiction to their website merryfates.com. Their goal was simple: create a space for experimentation and improvisation in their writing--all in public and without a backspace key. In that spirit,The Curiosities includes the stories and each author's comments, critiques, and kudos in the margins. Think of it as a guided tour of the creative processes of three acclaimed authors.

So, are you curious now?

Editor reviews

I'm a huge fan of the Merry Sisters of Fate: Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff. I purchased their first collection of short stories back in 2008 and was hooked. So when I heard another collection of their stories was coming out, I had to have it. I was bummed that the galleys weren't available at ALA but when Tessa twittered rumor that THE CURIOSITIES was out early, I rushed out and purchased it.

How can I say how much I love this book? I'm going to have to include a best anthology category to my top 2012 YA picks this year. And yes, this book will be in it.

Why? Oh my gosh, let's just say this book is pure genius. Not only is it filled with amazing short stories but it has notes/comments from the authors on the writing process.

I'm totally in love with all these writer's writing. Maggie uses words in such a way that's it's like eating the most delectable bowl of dark chocolate ice cream. You want to savor each word.

My favorite line of hers comes from her take on a King Arthur prompt:

...And love means more if it is hard to do.

Tessa Gratton's writing is filled with passion, kissing, and awesomeness.

My favorite story--and it was really hard to chose just one--has to be THE VAMPIRE BOX. This story haunted me and I was dying(no pun intended) on what happens next!

Brenna Yovanoff's stories are haunting. I can't believe I haven't read one of her novels. Well, I will remedy that real fast!

My favorite of hers has to be NEIGHBORS a haunting twist on the familiar ghost tale.

There's notes, comments throughout. For example they share their favorite words:

Tessa- Sloughing, ecstatic, wrought, viscera, effervescent
Brenna- Hemorrhage, ostensibly, psychosomatic, harmonica, flirtatious
Maggie- Hectic, noble, squiffy, piscatorial, longing

I love how all the Merry sisters can take a word and weave it into a short tale in such a way that makes it magical. Yes, this collection is pure magic. I love the unique twist. That's one thing I love about Andrew Karre's new imprint--it's not afraid to take chances and experiment.

I want more! A delicious magical brew of short tales. This is a must read for fans of dark paranormal shorts.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor August 13, 2012
Last updated: August 15, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (382)

A Delicious Magical Brew of Short Tales

I'm a huge fan of the Merry Sisters of Fate: Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff. I purchased their first collection of short stories back in 2008 and was hooked. So when I heard another collection of their stories was coming out, I had to have it. I was bummed that the galleys weren't available at ALA but when Tessa twittered rumor that THE CURIOSITIES was out early, I rushed out and purchased it.

How can I say how much I love this book? I'm going to have to include a best anthology category to my top 2012 YA picks this year. And yes, this book will be in it.

Why? Oh my gosh, let's just say this book is pure genius. Not only is it filled with amazing short stories but it has notes/comments from the authors on the writing process.

I'm totally in love with all these writer's writing. Maggie uses words in such a way that's it's like eating the most delectable bowl of dark chocolate ice cream. You want to savor each word.

My favorite line of hers comes from her take on a King Arthur prompt:

...And love means more if it is hard to do.

Tessa Gratton's writing is filled with passion, kissing, and awesomeness.

My favorite story--and it was really hard to chose just one--has to be THE VAMPIRE BOX. This story haunted me and I was dying(no pun intended) on what happens next!

Brenna Yovanoff's stories are haunting. I can't believe I haven't read one of her novels. Well, I will remedy that real fast!

My favorite of hers has to be NEIGHBORS a haunting twist on the familiar ghost tale.

There's notes, comments throughout. For example they share their favorite words:

Tessa- Sloughing, ecstatic, wrought, viscera, effervescent
Brenna- Hemorrhage, ostensibly, psychosomatic, harmonica, flirtatious
Maggie- Hectic, noble, squiffy, piscatorial, longing

I love how all the Merry sisters can take a word and weave it into a short tale in such a way that makes it magical. Yes, this collection is pure magic. I love the unique twist. That's one thing I love about Andrew Karre's new imprint--it's not afraid to take chances and experiment.

I want more! A delicious magical brew of short tales. This is a must read for fans of dark paranormal shorts.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
This book is filled with short stories from three brilliant authors. It includes notes from all three and doodles galore. If you like ANY of these authors, this is a must read!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
N/A
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Brittany Reviewed by Brittany December 16, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (72)

Great stories

This book is filled with short stories from three brilliant authors. It includes notes from all three and doodles galore. If you like ANY of these authors, this is a must read!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)