Books Young Adult Fiction Anything But Ordinary

Anything But Ordinary Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/10/f3/0c/_13455498-1342458177.jpg
 
4.0
 
4.5 (1)
1376   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 11, 2012
ISBN
9781423163862
Buy This Book
      
Bryce remembers it like it was yesterday. The scent of chlorine. The blinding crack and flash of pain. Blood in the water.

When she wakes up in the hospital, all Bryce can think of is her disastrous Olympic diving trial. But everything is different now. Bryce still feels seventeen, so how can her little sister be seventeen, too? Life went on without her while Bryce lay in a coma for five years. Her best friend and boyfriend have just graduated from college. Her parents barely speak. And everything she once dreamed of doing—winning a gold medal, traveling the world, falling in love—seems beyond her reach.

But Bryce has changed too, in seemingly impossible ways. She knows things she shouldn’t. Things that happened while she was asleep. Things that haven’t even happened yet. During one luminous summer, as she comes to understand that her dreams have changed forever, Bryce learns to see life for what it truly is: extraordinary.

Editor reviews

This is a well written, interesting book about making every day count but it broke my heart. I found myself torn throughout most of it, because while I wanted to know, HAD TO KNOW how it all ended...I also wanted to stop reading because it hurt too much at times. *cries* For the record, I was so unhappy with how this book ended that when I went to sleep that night, I actually dreamed it ended differently. (Yes, I'm aware of my issues.)

I can not imagine being in Bryce's shoes, waking up to find that five years have passed and everything she's ever known, ever loved, has changed and moved on without her. *clutches chest* She experiences changes too, unexplainable ones that force her to see herself and life differently. She learns how precious life can be and decides to make every day count which is great but heartbreaking nonetheless.

Carter, the Resident she meets in the hospital is there to help her as she starts over. He's smart, cute and seems to understand this new version of Bryce in ways that no one else can. But her past won't leave her alone and what she thought was lost to her forever wants to be a part of her future. Bryce will have to choose between the possibility of life as she once dreamed of and a new future full of promises.

I really wanted to love this book, honestly, I did but just when things begin to look promising for Bryce, her world is turned upside down again with an ending that left me shocked and sobbing, SOBBING! *cries all the tears*
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor August 20, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Emotional Read

This is a well written, interesting book about making every day count but it broke my heart. I found myself torn throughout most of it, because while I wanted to know, HAD TO KNOW how it all ended...I also wanted to stop reading because it hurt too much at times. *cries* For the record, I was so unhappy with how this book ended that when I went to sleep that night, I actually dreamed it ended differently. (Yes, I'm aware of my issues.)

I can not imagine being in Bryce's shoes, waking up to find that five years have passed and everything she's ever known, ever loved, has changed and moved on without her. *clutches chest* She experiences changes too, unexplainable ones that force her to see herself and life differently. She learns how precious life can be and decides to make every day count which is great but heartbreaking nonetheless.

Carter, the Resident she meets in the hospital is there to help her as she starts over. He's smart, cute and seems to understand this new version of Bryce in ways that no one else can. But her past won't leave her alone and what she thought was lost to her forever wants to be a part of her future. Bryce will have to choose between the possibility of life as she once dreamed of and a new future full of promises.

I really wanted to love this book, honestly, I did but just when things begin to look promising for Bryce, her world is turned upside down again with an ending that left me shocked and sobbing, SOBBING! *cries all the tears*

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
This book drew me in from the first words. Bryce is so easy to connect with and I wanted the best for her, and it was painful to go through her journey with her, especially at first when she realized that she lost five years of her life, and everything around her is so uncertain. Lara Avery writes beautifully, inserting just enough conflict, suspense, and character development to leave me hooked.
There is so much leaving me wondering, about her dreams/flashbacks/forwards wondering if they are true to life, or only in her head. I was so torn with the Greg situation, and I can totally understand all three sides. Its messy, and it is realistic, and it kept me hooked.
I also hung onto every scene with Carter. I pictured him kinda like John Carter in ER, and the image stuck with me. I liked Carter on TV, and I like the Carter in Anything but Ordinary as well.
Speaking of characters, I so felt for and wanted to smack Sydney all at once. I can totally see where she is coming from and what she must be feeling though.
The ending. Oh the ending. First I was furious, then I wanted to throw something, then I felt like crying. And then realized how poetic it was and felt like giving Lara an ovation for having such guts to write what she did.
Honestly, I think this will be a book that is either very well received or not liked at all. But I am of course on the loved it side of things, and Lara Avery is an author to watch for me.
Bottom Line: I was immersed in Anything but Ordinary. Superb main character with a cast of memorable secondary characters. Sad but weaved with the theme of hope, fight and strength.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
Brandi Reviewed by Brandi August 16, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (187)

I was immersed in Anything but Ordinary

This book drew me in from the first words. Bryce is so easy to connect with and I wanted the best for her, and it was painful to go through her journey with her, especially at first when she realized that she lost five years of her life, and everything around her is so uncertain. Lara Avery writes beautifully, inserting just enough conflict, suspense, and character development to leave me hooked.
There is so much leaving me wondering, about her dreams/flashbacks/forwards wondering if they are true to life, or only in her head. I was so torn with the Greg situation, and I can totally understand all three sides. Its messy, and it is realistic, and it kept me hooked.
I also hung onto every scene with Carter. I pictured him kinda like John Carter in ER, and the image stuck with me. I liked Carter on TV, and I like the Carter in Anything but Ordinary as well.
Speaking of characters, I so felt for and wanted to smack Sydney all at once. I can totally see where she is coming from and what she must be feeling though.
The ending. Oh the ending. First I was furious, then I wanted to throw something, then I felt like crying. And then realized how poetic it was and felt like giving Lara an ovation for having such guts to write what she did.
Honestly, I think this will be a book that is either very well received or not liked at all. But I am of course on the loved it side of things, and Lara Avery is an author to watch for me.
Bottom Line: I was immersed in Anything but Ordinary. Superb main character with a cast of memorable secondary characters. Sad but weaved with the theme of hope, fight and strength.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)