Books Young Adult Fiction The Friday Society

The Friday Society Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/8a/e7/4d/_the-friday-society-adrienne-kress-1339612981.jpg
 
4.3 (2)
 
4.7 (1)
800   0
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 06, 2012
ISBN
978-0803737617
Buy This Book
      

An action-packed tale of gowns, guys, guns--and the heroines who use them all Set in Edwardian London, The Friday Society follows the stories of three very intelligent and talented young women, all of whom are assistants to powerful men: Cora, lab assistant; Michiko, Japanese fight assistant; and Nellie, magician's assistant. The three young women's lives become inexorably intertwined after a chance meeting at a ball that ends with the discovery of a murdered mystery man. It's up to these three, in their own charming but bold way, to solve the murder--and the crimes they believe may be connected to it--without calling too much attention to themselves. Told with Adrienne Kress's sharp wit and a great deal of irreverence, this Steampunk whodunit introduces three unforgettable and very ladylike--well, relatively ladylike--heroines poised for more dangerous adventures.

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)

The cover of this book is great, because it offers a lot of clues about what we should expect from the story. The costumes are somewhat anachronistic but show that the girls are ready for action. The nod to the latest "Charlie's Angels" pose indicates that this is not a book that should be taken too seriously, but should just be enjoyed for the hectic ride it is.

The Edwardian era is getting a lot of attention now (credit Downton Abbey, perhaps?), and the details of elaborate dresses and entertainment in this ring true. There's plenty of historic detail even if replicating the language of the era sometimes falls short.

The struggles of the three girls from different backgrounds is really interesting, as is their interaction with each other. Supporting characters add some romance and depth-- interesting how Cora is mad that her employer has a new assistant, but this doesn't keep her from finding him attractive!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Kick Butt Edwardian Heroines

The cover of this book is great, because it offers a lot of clues about what we should expect from the story. The costumes are somewhat anachronistic but show that the girls are ready for action. The nod to the latest "Charlie's Angels" pose indicates that this is not a book that should be taken too seriously, but should just be enjoyed for the hectic ride it is.

The Edwardian era is getting a lot of attention now (credit Downton Abbey, perhaps?), and the details of elaborate dresses and entertainment in this ring true. There's plenty of historic detail even if replicating the language of the era sometimes falls short.

The struggles of the three girls from different backgrounds is really interesting, as is their interaction with each other. Supporting characters add some romance and depth-- interesting how Cora is mad that her employer has a new assistant, but this doesn't keep her from finding him attractive!

Was this review helpful to you? 
What I Loved:

The characters! Such distinct, fascinating heroines! I really enjoyed that all three of the heroines felt fully realized (complete backstory, hobbies/interests, unique agenda) and that each of them sounded different from the rest. They each brought their own strengths to the team, and I think any reader can find something relatable here. I was highly entertained and interested by all three.

The scope of the world. I do enjoy a story set in London, no matter what time period, and this was no exception. Turn of the century London, with its flower girls and poverty, its MPs and Parliament meetings, and its privileged few come to life in this story. Add in some steampunk, and you have a fascinating setting!

I enjoyed that the author took her time developing the characters, the situation, and the plot. The plot was an enjoyable journey for the most part as I got to see each heroine's individual personal journey along with the trio's efforts to solve the crimes. I felt fully invested in the outcome of the story.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Overall, this was a very well-written story. There were just a few things that pulled me out of the narrative. In a few instances, two of the heroines would use words that are common slang *now.* Like referring to herself as "smoking hot." That just doesn't sound like something a girl in 1900 London would say. It sounds like something I'd hear from one of my teens today.

I also sometimes got lost a bit during the action scenes. There weren't quite enough setting details given to help me keep a picture in my head of the surroundings or the direction everyone was moving.

Finally, the grand finale fell into the "villain stands there explaining every single detail of the grand plot in a huge monologue" trope, and it interrupted what was, until then, a really awesome action sequence.

Final Verdict:

Three fascinating, fully realized heroines with entertaining voices make this steampunk murder mystery a real page turner.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor December 27, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Really Liked It

What I Loved:

The characters! Such distinct, fascinating heroines! I really enjoyed that all three of the heroines felt fully realized (complete backstory, hobbies/interests, unique agenda) and that each of them sounded different from the rest. They each brought their own strengths to the team, and I think any reader can find something relatable here. I was highly entertained and interested by all three.

The scope of the world. I do enjoy a story set in London, no matter what time period, and this was no exception. Turn of the century London, with its flower girls and poverty, its MPs and Parliament meetings, and its privileged few come to life in this story. Add in some steampunk, and you have a fascinating setting!

I enjoyed that the author took her time developing the characters, the situation, and the plot. The plot was an enjoyable journey for the most part as I got to see each heroine's individual personal journey along with the trio's efforts to solve the crimes. I felt fully invested in the outcome of the story.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Overall, this was a very well-written story. There were just a few things that pulled me out of the narrative. In a few instances, two of the heroines would use words that are common slang *now.* Like referring to herself as "smoking hot." That just doesn't sound like something a girl in 1900 London would say. It sounds like something I'd hear from one of my teens today.

I also sometimes got lost a bit during the action scenes. There weren't quite enough setting details given to help me keep a picture in my head of the surroundings or the direction everyone was moving.

Finally, the grand finale fell into the "villain stands there explaining every single detail of the grand plot in a huge monologue" trope, and it interrupted what was, until then, a really awesome action sequence.

Final Verdict:

Three fascinating, fully realized heroines with entertaining voices make this steampunk murder mystery a real page turner.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Love the steampunk elements!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Duks Castro Reviewed by Duks Castro August 03, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (82)

Chick Steampunk!!!

Love the steampunk elements!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)