The Friday Society Featured

 
4.3 (2)
 
4.7 (1)
1064   0
Write Review
The Friday Society
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 06, 2012
ISBN
978-0803737617
Buy This Book
      

An action-packed tale of gowns, guys, guns--and the heroines who use them all Set in Edwardian London, The Friday Society follows the stories of three very intelligent and talented young women, all of whom are assistants to powerful men: Cora, lab assistant; Michiko, Japanese fight assistant; and Nellie, magician's assistant. The three young women's lives become inexorably intertwined after a chance meeting at a ball that ends with the discovery of a murdered mystery man. It's up to these three, in their own charming but bold way, to solve the murder--and the crimes they believe may be connected to it--without calling too much attention to themselves. Told with Adrienne Kress's sharp wit and a great deal of irreverence, this Steampunk whodunit introduces three unforgettable and very ladylike--well, relatively ladylike--heroines poised for more dangerous adventures.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Kick Butt Edwardian Heroines

The cover of this book is great, because it offers a lot of clues about what we should expect from the story. The costumes are somewhat anachronistic but show that the girls are ready for action. The nod to the latest "Charlie's Angels" pose indicates that this is not a book that should be taken too seriously, but should just be enjoyed for the hectic ride it is.

The Edwardian era is getting a lot of attention now (credit Downton Abbey, perhaps?), and the details of elaborate dresses and entertainment in this ring true. There's plenty of historic detail even if replicating the language of the era sometimes falls short.

The struggles of the three girls from different backgrounds is really interesting, as is their interaction with each other. Supporting characters add some romance and depth-- interesting how Cora is mad that her employer has a new assistant, but this doesn't keep her from finding him attractive!

Good Points
Lots of adventure and a Jack the Ripper, Edwardian era vibe. Steampunk gadgets (cavorite-- which glows and makes objects impervious to gravity!), martial arts, kick butt heroines, mad scientists, and some steamy kisses make this lots of fun.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Really Liked It

What I Loved:

The characters! Such distinct, fascinating heroines! I really enjoyed that all three of the heroines felt fully realized (complete backstory, hobbies/interests, unique agenda) and that each of them sounded different from the rest. They each brought their own strengths to the team, and I think any reader can find something relatable here. I was highly entertained and interested by all three.

The scope of the world. I do enjoy a story set in London, no matter what time period, and this was no exception. Turn of the century London, with its flower girls and poverty, its MPs and Parliament meetings, and its privileged few come to life in this story. Add in some steampunk, and you have a fascinating setting!

I enjoyed that the author took her time developing the characters, the situation, and the plot. The plot was an enjoyable journey for the most part as I got to see each heroine's individual personal journey along with the trio's efforts to solve the crimes. I felt fully invested in the outcome of the story.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Overall, this was a very well-written story. There were just a few things that pulled me out of the narrative. In a few instances, two of the heroines would use words that are common slang *now.* Like referring to herself as "smoking hot." That just doesn't sound like something a girl in 1900 London would say. It sounds like something I'd hear from one of my teens today.

I also sometimes got lost a bit during the action scenes. There weren't quite enough setting details given to help me keep a picture in my head of the surroundings or the direction everyone was moving.

Finally, the grand finale fell into the "villain stands there explaining every single detail of the grand plot in a huge monologue" trope, and it interrupted what was, until then, a really awesome action sequence.

Final Verdict:

Three fascinating, fully realized heroines with entertaining voices make this steampunk murder mystery a real page turner.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Chick Steampunk!!!

Love the steampunk elements!

Good Points
Wow! Liked the whole steampunk take on it! Loved their friendship (which pretty much came out of nowhere). The whole take on the gender roles was great. The fact that there rarely seen other than a pretty face or a man's "servant" was great that they, including the Fog,took a stand against the discrimination. Wouldn't mind reading another book based on The Friday Society
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Xalata Orbit and Melody Fret: The Hammer of Asttar
Xalata Orbit meets danger head-on when she leaves a troubled...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)