Point of Origin (The Survivors #2)

Point of Origin (The Survivors #2) Featured

 
4.7
 
4.7 (1)
954   0
Write Review
Point of Origin (The Survivors #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 12, 2012
ISBN
978-0983319047
Buy This Book
      
The winter is upon us. The Survivors are in chaos. The war is coming.

One year ago, Sadie Matthau was living among humans, existing as one of them. But now she wakes each morning in a house in the Survivors City, listening to the invocations and insults of her family members as they cope with their new future. A war. Rogue abandoners turned monsters. Sadie and the icy Winters living in their midst, bringing the outside world in.

The Survivors: Point of Origin is Sadie's quest to save her family. But can she find what she is looking for when she can barely stomach the Winters wintry demeanor and finds herself distracted by Cole Hardwick s warm heart? Will she be able to uncover her family's history even as the elders grip tightens around her throat? In an action packed ride full of magic and misery, terror and triumph, Sadie Matthau seeks the Survivors beginning just in time to face her end.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

An Even Better Sequel!

Amanda Havard has delivered a book so intricately woven and so richly diverse in the mythology she uses with Point of Origin. The Survivors Series is paranormal as its finest, and I absolutely loved this one.

Amanda Havard is one heck of a story teller - she manages to draw readers right back into the world of the Survivors within a few pages of Point of Origin. And once she draws you in, she doesn't let you go. The characters in Point of Origin have a trying journey and I felt like I was transported right alongside them in their world. I was on the edge of my seat cheering for the characters and worrying for them when things weren't going exactly how they planned. Point of Origin was a book full of twists and turns I could never see coming. It was such a fun ride.

The concept of The Survivors series is so intriguing, unique, and utterly bewitching. Everything that was established in The Survivors has only been explored more indepthly in Point of Origin, all while new ideas are introduced alongside these. I love Amanda Havard's use of mythology and history - it is so interesting to see the how the mythology plays out. There are such unique creatures in Amanda Havard's world that I had never heard of. Point of Origin poses nearly as many questions as it answers, so I cannot wait to discover those answers in the next installment of the series!

I just love the characters of this series. Something about each of them is just so special. I like Sadie - she is not afraid to be herself, no matter what others think. I also really like Mark and Ginny - both of them are just so endearing and I love every scene they are in. Point of Origin really lets characters get to know Everett a lot better as a character - to see all the facets of his personality. Though, I am still very much a part of Team Cole - I can't help it, I just love Cole!

Point of Origin by Amanda Havard was everything I was looking for in the sequel to The Survivors - it was fast paced, enticing, and kept me on the edge of my seat. Amanda Havard is one talented woman and I cannot wait to see where she takes her characters in the next installment of The Survivors series.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Phenomenal Sequel

I can't believe this book is not getting more attention on here!

As with the first book in the series, this is a refreshing twist on the supernatural that will constantly leave the reader anticipating the heroine Sadie's next move. Uniquely, the series combines history, mythology, and legends to create an explanation for vampires, witches, shape-shifters, etc. The plot has multiple layers as well, and on top of the action and conflict, it also offers the reader a love story, including the love triangle, and a main character's struggle of figuring out her place in the world.

Hopefully, if you are considering reading this, you have already read The Survivors, which is book one in the series, as I did. I opened the book knowing that war was imminent. However, Havard threw me through a loop, because the war is not in full swing during the novel, but instead follows Sadie as she is preparing for the war. At this point, Sadie has made the mistake of encouraging her siblings to leave their sheltered lifestyle, which puts the entire human race in danger. Sadie must figure out how to stop them, which in turn means that she must figure out how to kill a Survivor. Her journey takes so many twists and turns that it is impossible to guess what is happening next.

The other negative aspect that I can identify about the novel is that things are progressing very slow. I read on Havard's facebook page that there will be five books in the series. However, I cannot imagine how she can drag the storyline out that far. I guess readers will have to just wait to see!

I strongly encourage any mythology lovers, supernatural lovers, and history buffs give this one a chance. I doubt that you will regret it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)