Destined (Wings, #4)

Destined (Wings, #4)

 
0.0
 
4.1 (5)
1401   0
Write Review
Destined (Wings, #4)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 01, 2012
ISBN
0061668125
Buy This Book
      
Tamani looked at her gravely, and reached up to tuck her hair behind her ear. He hesitated for an instant, then his hands found the sides of her face, pulling her to him. He didn't kiss her, just held her face close to his, their foreheads resting together, their noses almost touching. She hated how much it felt like good-bye. Laurel now knows the truth: Yuki is a rare Winter faerie, the most powerful—and deadly—of all, and Klea plans to use her to help conquer and destroy Avalon. But Klea's reach extends far beyond one wild Winter faerie. With Tamani, David, and Chelsea by her side, Laurel prepares to face what may be Avalon's final days, in the stunning conclusion to the Wings series.

User reviews

5 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.1
Plot 
 
4.2  (5)
Characters 
 
4.2  (5)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (5)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0

Not my thing. Not particularly emotional about its ending either.

I've never particularly liked the Wings series by Aprilynne Pike but Destined brought it to a very nice closing point. Nice, but only nice.

For me, the entire plot was way too predictable, the characters too clean cut. I mean, they all are too perfect and lead a very calm, charming life. The conflict between the characters, the villains, and themselves seemed lacking and somewhat phony. The characters didn't progress through the story. They did not grow up at all. As for the carbon dioxide and oxygen conversion between humans and the fae? Smart, very scientific, but plain overkill. It just doesn't cut it. Destined and the rest of the series didn't suck too bad, but I wouldn't read it again.

Last word to Laurel: You've got two guys hanging all over you. Just make a decision, alright? They're not going to stick around forever.

Good Points
Some people might like it. Probably.
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Destined by Aprilynne Pike

-

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Perfect ending until the letter!

Yuki's secret is discovered and Avalon is in danger. Our group of hero's cross into the fae land to defend it, humans included. Many lives will be lost, many truths discovered, and nothing will ever be the same.
I should have just stopped at the happy ending and let myself think everything was going to be great. I read David's letter. :( Dang it.

Good Points
Finally Laurel chooses!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Loved it!

I LOVED this book! Who am I kidding? I loved the entire series. This book was the perfect ending to a perfect series. I even loved the original ending that the author put at the back of the book. If you loved the other books in the series, you must read this one. It wraps everything perfectly up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The fight has come, down to every last man, woman, and child, and no one is safe.

I've gone from hating this series at points, loving it at others, but it wasn't until I actually had to twiddle my thumbs in a show of helpless waiting for this final showdown that I realized I'm terminally in love with this series. Despite our differences, our ups and downs, I'm a character girl and Pike's characters have stitched their way into my heart. I can't forget them, I won't stop loving them, and Destined by Aprilynne Pike, this last story, is my every hope shining back at me within each word. Our emotions are drained until we are left hollow one moment and everything comes waterfalling back in the next, and Pike has one of her talented hands on the faucet knob and the other on the drain plug. Everything is so fast-paced, the action almost instantly begins, and so our moods are a thing of speed and pain, like whiplash. Sobs are covered by quick hands, our eyes mourn too, drowning in a pool of liquid salt, and, for a while, smiling is a ghost with no home, an apparition that taunts our desires for joy, joy for ourselves and for these wonderful characters. Destined by Aprilynne Pike is fatally emotional.

Death cries all around us, the characters, and his black tears wash over so many, soaking our own hearts with surprise and suffering as he stops others. Mothers, fathers, sisters, brothers in arms or in blood, defend their families, their neighbors, themselves, and battle with crashing tides of near-invincible enemies. Magic and animals rise to surf and cut through them, in a way like we've never seen in the series thus far. Pieces fall from their hiding spots and connect to materialize the truth. Yet so much more is needed. Finding the answers isn't enough. Putting them into action to combat all that lay astray is. Struggling past falling, breathless bodies, dodging poisons and potions designed to kill, Laurel and those she loves hurry against fading daylight to rescue many and refortify Avalon's defenses to arise victorious.

Romance is rightfully assigned the backseat, but hearts entwined are never far out of each other's reach, always worrying, always ready to defend. Friendships are risked with demise around every corner, but friends are indeed necessary to stop what has arrived. Thankfully, personalities brighten the pages and shine truly with all that they are and more. The bond that is forged between each character in this circle of confidants is unshakeable and more pure, despite all the hardships and turmoil of the last three books, than any true friendship can be, full of heart-melting love and deep understanding, a strong tie woven in the midst of endless blood and loss.

The end showers over us and brings us poignant pangs, wide, watery smiles, and a love for this series that is almost boundless, because, fabulous world-building and plot twists aside, the characters are a lovable bunch, a fortified wall of support who can lean on each other in all the troubles of the future yet to come. The ending isn't necessarily over once we hit a special Author's Note explaining that there is one thing for Pike left to share, a bittersweet gift we can choose to accept or return that nonetheless arouses are curiosity enough to gain inspection. After reading those final few pages, the tears come in unstoppable twin rivers of aches and happiness.

Destined by Aprilynne Pike is a vital read for fans, and the perfect incentive for newcomers to the series to get started.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."
You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome
 
5.0
"'You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome' by Kate Peterson will allow anyone..."
The Riddle (Pellinor #2)
 
4.7
"THE RIDDLE by Alison Croggon is the second in the author's Pellinor series, and it picks up right where book..."
A Taxonomy of Love
 
3.3
"A story of love that spans a childhood. The story: Spencer is a lonely boy with Tourette's when he..."
The Selection Coloring Book
 
4.0
"Selection fans get excited! THE SELECTION COLORING BOOK, based on the series by Kiera Cass, is getting ready to celebrate..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."
Glow
 
5.0
"'There's a certain kind of light that I should have been afraid of all along.' Radium was discovered..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."