The Infects

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
5.0 (2)
2522   0
Write Review
The Infects
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
978-0763659479
Buy This Book
      

A feast for the brain, this gory and genuinely hilarious take on zombie culture simultaneously skewers, pays tribute to, and elevates the horror genre. Seventeen-year-old Nero is stuck in the wilderness with a bunch of other juvenile delinquents on an "Inward Trek." As if that weren’t bad enough, his counselors have turned into flesh-eating maniacs overnight and are now chowing down on his fellow miscreants. As in any classic monster flick worth its salted popcorn, plentiful carnage sends survivors rabbiting into the woods while the mindless horde of "infects" shambles, moans, and drools behind. Of course, these kids have seen zombie movies. They generate "Zombie Rules" almost as quickly as cheeky remarks, but attitude alone can’t keep the biters back. Serving up a cast of irreverent, slightly twisted characters, an unexpected villain, and an ending you won’t see coming, here is a savvy tale that that’s a delight to read — whether you’re a rabid zombie fan or freshly bitten — and an incisive commentary on the evil that lurks within each of us.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

True and Solid Zombie Tale

I might never look at fast food the same way again...

The Infects pays tribute to the classic zombie tale with a unique twist. Sean Beaudoin has a style that is all his own. The story stays true to the purity of the zombie novel while not being afraid to be gory and sarcastic at the same time.

I love how the book puts everything out on the table. It is full of humor and puns- which I love. It is filled with pop culture references while keeping the story fast and fun. The characters are well written and quirky -which makes you want to read more about them. I couldn't put the book down.

Highly recommended to anyone who loves zombie books. A satisfying read, but not for the faint of heart.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Zombie Novel With A Twist

What I Loved:

This is a fabulous addition to the horror genre. I especially enjoyed the voice of the narrator, Nick. He is a teenage boy who thinks and talks like a teenage boy. He is at once a reluctant hero, a quiet leader, and a boy too insecure to strike up a conversation with the girl he loves. He is also a hard worker and a devoted older brother to a sister who has Asperger's. I loved every scene between Nick and his sister Amanda. The author did a fabulous job developing the secondary characters, weaving in their backstories and character traits, and providing an arc for more than just Nick. The one-liners and pop culture references are funny and ring very true for a pack of teens trying to use humor to deflect the horror of their situation.

I also really enjoyed this new take on what caused the zombie outbreak, what the government decided to do to fix it, and what Nick and his friends (as some of the few survivors of the initial outbreak area) decide to do about it instead. I don't want to give any spoilers away, but the twist is very unexpected. I love being surprised, and I love that whether or not readers agree with Nick's decisions, readers can dissect this novel and discuss good vs evil in all its many forms for hours and still not come to a unanimous conclusion.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Not much, to be honest. This book is exactly what it advertises itself to be: a zombie apocalypse novel in the horror genre. There's no swoony romance, although there is devotion and awkwardness and love. There is blood and gore, and plenty of it. There were a few places where I wanted a bit more detail about the secondary character's facial expressions etc so I could understand them better, but overall, this novel is fantastic.

Final Verdict:

This is a solid addition to the horror genre, full of punchy one liners, painful emotions, blood and gore, and a surprising examination of what it really means to survive in an ever-evolving world.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Chicken and Zombies!

Background: Nick aka Nero has been sent away to juvenile delinquent camp for bleeding all over chicken at his job and while he is away rehabilitating some weird things start to happen. Nick along with his "camp" mates soon become part of their worst nightmare when their peers and counselors become zombies, yup straight outta the movies, zombies.

Review: It took me a little while to read this book, not for lack of excitement or witty-ness, but you can only have so many zombies before falling asleep... I had zombie dreams for about a week. What does this say about Beaudoin's writing- IT IS AWESOME! His characters, Nick, and the others are hilarious, even in the face of dangers and while being eaten. The descriptions are right on, zombie kids eating someone in a pot-o-potty?... I mean, what is not to love?

Some things that took some getting used to: Nick aka Nero talks to the reader like an audience- cool but weird, he does this to state his "Zombrules." Then there is The Rock, yes, wrestler, actor, producer man with the eyebrow thing- he is in Nick's head, sort of... Nick hears someone talking to him and the voice is that of the Rock. So there is a lot of question as to if Nick is talking to others or himself, or hallucinating...

I must say though, that the ending was my favorite, it was ready for some BS it was all a dream cop-out, but that didn't happen and I am super thankful for it. I was also super excited when an explanation was given for the Zombie outbreak and what had caused it all, I think that is what some zombie movies and books are lacking recently. So good show Beaudoin!

If you are a zombie lover or a fan of chicken-- yes I know this sounds weird-- go grab this book!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Infects

The Infects is badass on epic proportions! I loved it, and I want more.
This book is not just a vague, zombie book. Nope, it is smart. Like “get you thinking on a different level” smart. It is also funny as hell.
I love books that are from a guy’s perspective. The way Nick interacts with the other IT guys is a great story in itself. Even before the zombies showed up, I was hooked.
And Nick’s relationship with his little sister is just about the sweetest thing I have read in a while. Amanda, like the rest of this book, is badass.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."
You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome
 
5.0
"'You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome' by Kate Peterson will allow anyone..."
The Riddle (Pellinor #2)
 
4.7
"THE RIDDLE by Alison Croggon is the second in the author's Pellinor series, and it picks up right where book..."
A Taxonomy of Love
 
3.3
"A story of love that spans a childhood. The story: Spencer is a lonely boy with Tourette's when he..."
The Selection Coloring Book
 
4.0
"Selection fans get excited! THE SELECTION COLORING BOOK, based on the series by Kiera Cass, is getting ready to celebrate..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."