Burn Mark (Burn Mark #1)

Burn Mark (Burn Mark #1) Featured

 
3.3
 
2.5 (2)
1458   1
Write Review
Burn Mark (Burn Mark #1)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 19, 2012
ISBN
9781408815229
Buy This Book
      
In a modern world—where witches are hunted down and burned at the stake—two live interact. Cleo is from a family of witches, and is desperate to develop the ‘Fae’ and become a witch herself. Lucas is the son of the Chief Prosecutor for the Inquisition and his privileged life is very different from the witches he is being trained to prosecute. And then one day, both Cleo and Lucas develop the Fae. In one fell stroke, their lives are inextricably bound together, whether they like it or not.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

An Intriguing Look at Witches

Burn Mark by Laura Powell was a really interesting take on witchcraft that really delved into a completely new territory. It was an enticing story, but for me, got a bit drawn out which took away from the book overall.

So I loved the premise of Burn Mark. I mean come on, witchcraft practices in a modern day Britain? You can't get much cooler than that! I loved seeing the intricate system put in place for witchcraft and how everything was carried out and enforced. That being said, some of the elements of witchcraft were a bit confusing to me. Laura Powell's witches are very different from any others I have encountered so I had no knowledge of their craft which made some things confusing.

Burn Mark really doesn't pick up until about the last quarter of the book. The vast majority of the book was very interesting, but it was very slow paced. I didn't have any "OMG I have to know what is happening" moments. The last quarter of the book presents a situation where the stakes are very high and it was really intriguing. I loved the ending - I am really curious after that if there will be a sequel, as I would just love to hear more of Glory and Lucas's story.
There characters were a mix - most really grew on me as the book went on. When I was first reading, I thought a good portion of the characters were very flat. By the end of the book, most of my opinions had changed and I was completely invested in the characters stories.

Burn Mark by Laura Powell was a very slow paced read with an overarching intriguing story wrapped up in a new take on the mythology of witches.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.5
Plot 
 
2.5  (2)
Characters 
 
2.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
2.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
(Updated: November 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0

.3Not the book for me

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to finish this book. The concept was intriguing, and I was really looking forward to diving into a book that focuses on witches. However, once I was 30% through and nothing had happened to really hook me, I gave up.

I think what really did me in was how many details there were as opposed to action. I felt like every crack inspired a flashback and every building required multiple pages of description. I got to the point where I skipped over whole pages trying to get to the point where the story really kicked off.

It might have gotten better had I stuck with it, but I would rather read a book that really hooks me than spend time trying to find the saving grace of a book that just doesn't work for me.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fascinating Witchy Alternate Universe

First off, I totally dig stories set in alternative universes. There's something about it that calls to me. In Burn Mark, everything about the world is the same (facebook, cell phones, cars, politicians, etc), except that witches are truly known to exist and have been. Witchy powers, known as the fae, are persecuted, just like the suspicion of them was in history. Powerless people fear the fae, and hate what they fear. Set in Britain, Burn Mark portrays the life of a witch in a Britain controlled by the Inquisition. Witches are still burned, dunked and blamed for everything.

Our main characters are Lucas and Glory. Lucas is a son of a Head Inquisitor, raised in privilege and the product of a quality magic-less lineage. Surprise, surprise, he develops the fae, and, not only that, he's a very powerful witch. Through his view, the reader can see the very few options open to a witch, and the mercurial nature of the power, the fact that it does not merely pass from parent to child but can spark up at random. Glory, on the other hand, is a bit of a street rat. She comes from a long line of powerful witches and has been waiting impatiently for her fae to come. Through her, the reader views the life of an unregistered witch, living in a rather seedy criminal coven.

While I wasn't especially emotionally attached to Glory and Lucas, I still liked them and was rooting for them to uncover and destroy the corruption in the Inquisition. (Seriously, the Inquisition? Come on, guys. Almost any other word would make you sound less like prejudiced bastards, but whatever.) Though there is some romantic tension between Glory and Lucas, this stories focus is not on romance. Instead, Burn Mark focuses on the political and ethical questions inherent in a world populated by people with powers and a jealous majority without.

For some, this book was slow-moving and boring. I recommend it to readers that enjoy considering sociological questions. This one focuses on world building more than characterization. If the idea fascinates you, I definitely think you should check it out. If you're looking for a YA paranormal romance, Burn Mark is not the book you want.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Xalata Orbit and Melody Fret: The Hammer of Asttar
Xalata Orbit meets danger head-on when she leaves a troubled...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)