Burn Mark (Burn Mark #1)

Burn Mark (Burn Mark #1)

Featured
 
3.3
 
2.5 (2)
2040   1
Write Review
Burn Mark (Burn Mark #1)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 19, 2012
ISBN
9781408815229
Buy This Book
      
In a modern world—where witches are hunted down and burned at the stake—two live interact. Cleo is from a family of witches, and is desperate to develop the ‘Fae’ and become a witch herself. Lucas is the son of the Chief Prosecutor for the Inquisition and his privileged life is very different from the witches he is being trained to prosecute. And then one day, both Cleo and Lucas develop the Fae. In one fell stroke, their lives are inextricably bound together, whether they like it or not.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

An Intriguing Look at Witches

Burn Mark by Laura Powell was a really interesting take on witchcraft that really delved into a completely new territory. It was an enticing story, but for me, got a bit drawn out which took away from the book overall.

So I loved the premise of Burn Mark. I mean come on, witchcraft practices in a modern day Britain? You can't get much cooler than that! I loved seeing the intricate system put in place for witchcraft and how everything was carried out and enforced. That being said, some of the elements of witchcraft were a bit confusing to me. Laura Powell's witches are very different from any others I have encountered so I had no knowledge of their craft which made some things confusing.

Burn Mark really doesn't pick up until about the last quarter of the book. The vast majority of the book was very interesting, but it was very slow paced. I didn't have any "OMG I have to know what is happening" moments. The last quarter of the book presents a situation where the stakes are very high and it was really intriguing. I loved the ending - I am really curious after that if there will be a sequel, as I would just love to hear more of Glory and Lucas's story.
There characters were a mix - most really grew on me as the book went on. When I was first reading, I thought a good portion of the characters were very flat. By the end of the book, most of my opinions had changed and I was completely invested in the characters stories.

Burn Mark by Laura Powell was a very slow paced read with an overarching intriguing story wrapped up in a new take on the mythology of witches.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.5
Plot 
 
2.5  (2)
Characters 
 
2.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
2.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
(Updated: November 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0

.3Not the book for me

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to finish this book. The concept was intriguing, and I was really looking forward to diving into a book that focuses on witches. However, once I was 30% through and nothing had happened to really hook me, I gave up.

I think what really did me in was how many details there were as opposed to action. I felt like every crack inspired a flashback and every building required multiple pages of description. I got to the point where I skipped over whole pages trying to get to the point where the story really kicked off.

It might have gotten better had I stuck with it, but I would rather read a book that really hooks me than spend time trying to find the saving grace of a book that just doesn't work for me.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fascinating Witchy Alternate Universe

First off, I totally dig stories set in alternative universes. There's something about it that calls to me. In Burn Mark, everything about the world is the same (facebook, cell phones, cars, politicians, etc), except that witches are truly known to exist and have been. Witchy powers, known as the fae, are persecuted, just like the suspicion of them was in history. Powerless people fear the fae, and hate what they fear. Set in Britain, Burn Mark portrays the life of a witch in a Britain controlled by the Inquisition. Witches are still burned, dunked and blamed for everything.

Our main characters are Lucas and Glory. Lucas is a son of a Head Inquisitor, raised in privilege and the product of a quality magic-less lineage. Surprise, surprise, he develops the fae, and, not only that, he's a very powerful witch. Through his view, the reader can see the very few options open to a witch, and the mercurial nature of the power, the fact that it does not merely pass from parent to child but can spark up at random. Glory, on the other hand, is a bit of a street rat. She comes from a long line of powerful witches and has been waiting impatiently for her fae to come. Through her, the reader views the life of an unregistered witch, living in a rather seedy criminal coven.

While I wasn't especially emotionally attached to Glory and Lucas, I still liked them and was rooting for them to uncover and destroy the corruption in the Inquisition. (Seriously, the Inquisition? Come on, guys. Almost any other word would make you sound less like prejudiced bastards, but whatever.) Though there is some romantic tension between Glory and Lucas, this stories focus is not on romance. Instead, Burn Mark focuses on the political and ethical questions inherent in a world populated by people with powers and a jealous majority without.

For some, this book was slow-moving and boring. I recommend it to readers that enjoy considering sociological questions. This one focuses on world building more than characterization. If the idea fascinates you, I definitely think you should check it out. If you're looking for a YA paranormal romance, Burn Mark is not the book you want.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."
The Slithery Shakedown: The Nocturnals (Grow & Read Early Reader, Level 2)
 
3.5
"In this sequel to The Midnight Meeting, we rejoin Bismark the sugar glider, Tobin the pangolin and Dawn the fox...."
Beat Bugs: In My Life (I Can Read Level 1)
 
4.0
"Illustrated with stills from the television program with light colored font, children will enjoy identifying the characters they know from..."
Scroll of Kings (The Lost Books #1)
 
4.0
"Alex is struggling as the apprentice to an elderly librarian at a castle filled with old, musty diaries and laundry..."
 
5.0
"Tristan's family decides to move from New York City to a small town after his father loses his job and..."
Sparks!
 
4.5
"Canine configuration engage! August, a cat, has created a robotic dog that his friend Charlie helps him run. With the..."
A Warp in Time (Horizon, Book 3)
 
4.0
"The children in the Killbots whose plane went down have suffered from having friends die, being stuck in all sorts..."
Marge in Charge and the Stolen Treasure (#2)
 
4.0
"Jemima and her little brother Jakey are being bedeviled by their baby cousin, Zara. Their Aunt Sally claims that her..."
Super Sweet Dreams (Puppy Princess #2)
 
4.0
"In this sequel to Party Time, Princess Rosie finds out that her best friend (and cat-in-waiting) Cleo's birthday is coming..."
How to Be a Supervillain: Born to Be Good (#2)
 
4.0
"Victor Spoil is back after defeating Dr. Deplorable in How to Be a Supervillian. He's still struggling with wanting to..."
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
 
4.0
"Lucy lives with her supportive grandmother, and frequently sees her uncle, who is young, fun, and a bit misguided. Lucy..."
Me, Frida, and the Secret of the Peacock Ring
 
5.0
"Paloma Marquez has to spend the summer in Mexico City with her mother, who has gotten a fellowship to study..."
The Parker Inheritance
 
4.0
"Candice's grandmother was a city official in the small town of Lambert before she fell into disrepute. She thought there..."
 
4.0
"In this level one beginning reader, Pete and his friends adventure into the back yard to look for bugs. They..."
My Weird School: Teamwork Trouble (I Can Read Level 2)
 
5.0
"This level two I Can Read book follows the exploits of Ryan, who loves all sports! He is on a..."
The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody
 
5.0
"Oliver is very interested in all of the details of the Civil War, so he's thrilled when his 7th grade..."
There Was an Old Pirate Who Swallowed a Map!
 
4.0
""There was an old pirate who swallowed a map. I don't know why she swallowed that map but it wasn't..."