Books Young Adult Fiction The Paladin Prophecy (The Paladin Prophecy #1)

The Paladin Prophecy (The Paladin Prophecy #1) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/52/94/ef/12313_paladin-1348586483.jpeg
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
1699   1
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
9780375970450
Buy This Book
      

Will West is careful to live life under the radar. At his parents’ insistence, he’s made sure to get mediocre grades and to stay in the middle of the pack on his cross-country team. Then Will slips up, accidentally scoring off the charts on a nationwide exam. Now Will is being courted by an exclusive prep school . . . and is being followed by men driving black sedans. When Will suddenly loses his parents, he must flee to the school. There he begins to explore all that he’s capable of—physical and mental feats that should be impossible—and learns that his abilities are connected to a struggle between titanic forces that has lasted for millennia.

Editor reviews

The Paladin Prophesy keeps you on the edge of your seat! Fans of I am Number Four and The Bourne Identity will be fans of The Paladin Prophesy. Right from the very beginning the action draws you into the book. You instantly feel a connection to Will and want to take the journey with him. Although there is a paranormal theme running through the book, Will and his friends are realistic and honest. All of Will's friends come from different backgrounds and have different personalities. They deal with bullies, school stresses, and trying to figure out how to overcome challenges. There just happens to be one more huge thing looming over their heads - a prophesy they know nothing about and until they figure out what is going on their lives are in danger.

Mark Frost weaves in suspense flawlessly. The story is easy to follow and the plot twists keep the story moving. There are also a few laugh out loud moments. It is this wide mixture of suspense, humor, and a mix genre of paranormal, adventure that will appeal to all different types of readers,

This is definitely a must read for any middle schooler or young adult reader for the fall. I can't wait to put this on my classroom shelf.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Joanne, Editor Reviewed by Joanne, Editor September 24, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (99)

Perilous Prophecy Awaits

The Paladin Prophesy keeps you on the edge of your seat! Fans of I am Number Four and The Bourne Identity will be fans of The Paladin Prophesy. Right from the very beginning the action draws you into the book. You instantly feel a connection to Will and want to take the journey with him. Although there is a paranormal theme running through the book, Will and his friends are realistic and honest. All of Will's friends come from different backgrounds and have different personalities. They deal with bullies, school stresses, and trying to figure out how to overcome challenges. There just happens to be one more huge thing looming over their heads - a prophesy they know nothing about and until they figure out what is going on their lives are in danger.

Mark Frost weaves in suspense flawlessly. The story is easy to follow and the plot twists keep the story moving. There are also a few laugh out loud moments. It is this wide mixture of suspense, humor, and a mix genre of paranormal, adventure that will appeal to all different types of readers,

This is definitely a must read for any middle schooler or young adult reader for the fall. I can't wait to put this on my classroom shelf.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Background: Will West is a fifteen year old who is running for his life. One day out of nowhere he is being chased by these strange people in black caps, and his mother is acting super strange. He is forced to leave his home in search of answers and decides to go to an invite only school he was recently recruited into. Nothing seems to add up and weird things are happening all around him.

Review: I was very excited to pick up this book when I did. WOW, I am so happy to say that it has lived up to the epic nature everyone seems to be sharing about it. I read the first chapter on RandomBuzzers, a wonderful website for any of you YA booklovers. Here’s a Link if you wanna check it out. (They have chapter previews, discussions with authors, and book giveaways)

The book starts as a whirlwind, Will is almost immediately running for his life and the suspense is all there, even before you learn more about him as a character. After the first chapter it only gets better, the plot is a mix of fantasy, science, and an elaborate idea of guardians thrown together with some teenage insecurities and bullying.

Will is a likeable character, he is genuine and smart and follows all of the rules his father has taught him throughout his life…and boy are there a lot of them. The villains are all over the place, there are so many characters you aren’t sure who is out to get who, but that is the beauty of it. If I had to compare it, I would say it is a more mature version of Harry Potter: A boy meant to fulfill a prophecy he knows nothing about, and only his friends can help him solve the puzzles.

I am very interested to see where the story leads, I felt amazed by Frost’s ability to create such an awesome world in this first book and have high expectations for the next.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Stephanie Reviewed by Stephanie February 25, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

Action, Adventure

Background: Will West is a fifteen year old who is running for his life. One day out of nowhere he is being chased by these strange people in black caps, and his mother is acting super strange. He is forced to leave his home in search of answers and decides to go to an invite only school he was recently recruited into. Nothing seems to add up and weird things are happening all around him.

Review: I was very excited to pick up this book when I did. WOW, I am so happy to say that it has lived up to the epic nature everyone seems to be sharing about it. I read the first chapter on RandomBuzzers, a wonderful website for any of you YA booklovers. Here’s a Link if you wanna check it out. (They have chapter previews, discussions with authors, and book giveaways)

The book starts as a whirlwind, Will is almost immediately running for his life and the suspense is all there, even before you learn more about him as a character. After the first chapter it only gets better, the plot is a mix of fantasy, science, and an elaborate idea of guardians thrown together with some teenage insecurities and bullying.

Will is a likeable character, he is genuine and smart and follows all of the rules his father has taught him throughout his life…and boy are there a lot of them. The villains are all over the place, there are so many characters you aren’t sure who is out to get who, but that is the beauty of it. If I had to compare it, I would say it is a more mature version of Harry Potter: A boy meant to fulfill a prophecy he knows nothing about, and only his friends can help him solve the puzzles.

I am very interested to see where the story leads, I felt amazed by Frost’s ability to create such an awesome world in this first book and have high expectations for the next.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)