The Girl Is Murder

 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
568   0
Write Review
The Girl Is Murder
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 19, 2011
ISBN
9781596436091
Buy This Book
      

Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars. It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

I like it as a cute mystery.

The Girl is Murder was a cute mystery, and a fast read. I really like how the romance element was kept at a minimum, since some books—and I’m not pointing fingers—take it too far. I applaud Haines for presenting a mystery that can be enjoyed by all ages. The ending left me wondering about certain loose ends, which I hope will be explained in the second book.

Good Points
I like the characters. They weren’t one dimensional, and most of them had hidden depths, combined with the setting, well, it made for an enjoyable book. The plot had me guessing the whole time, and as clues were found it pointed in one direction, but led to another. I
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

 

   

    

   

   

   

   

   

   

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Avenging the Owl
A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Interference
As a Congressman's daughter in Washington, DC, Kate Hamilton is...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winning
Who ever said being nice would get you to the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Mans Up
All Pen wants is to be the kind of girl...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beast
Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The History Book (Big Ideas Simply Explained)
The History Book is a fascinating journey through the most...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Faerie Guardian
Protecting humans from dangerous magical creatures is all in a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unforgiven (Fallen #5)
It’s the book FALLEN fans have been waiting for: Cam’s...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Forced to spend the summer of 1976 with relatives, Chris...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Poet of the Wrong Generation
“It’s not that I don’t love you, and my tears...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Like A River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy #2)
After a harrowing journey across the country, Leah Westfall and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phoenix
Magic never ceased to bring Violetta joy, until the day...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark and Fevered Dreams, Volume 1: The Boy in the Black Coat
Zac Dryden is a titan among teenagers. Popular, handsome and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Draw It 3d
Learn how to make your art POP off the page...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Cruel Crown
Two women on either side of the Silver and Red...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
FAETE
They say your life can turn on a dime. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)