The Girl Is Murder

 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
644   0
Write Review
The Girl Is Murder
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 19, 2011
ISBN
9781596436091
Buy This Book
      

Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars. It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

I like it as a cute mystery.

The Girl is Murder was a cute mystery, and a fast read. I really like how the romance element was kept at a minimum, since some books—and I’m not pointing fingers—take it too far. I applaud Haines for presenting a mystery that can be enjoyed by all ages. The ending left me wondering about certain loose ends, which I hope will be explained in the second book.

Good Points
I like the characters. They weren’t one dimensional, and most of them had hidden depths, combined with the setting, well, it made for an enjoyable book. The plot had me guessing the whole time, and as clues were found it pointed in one direction, but led to another. I
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

    

    

   

 

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unexpected Life of Oliver Cromwell Pitts
In the seaside town of Melcombe Regis, England, 1724, Oliver...
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Izzy Kline Has Butterflies
It's a new school year, and Izzy Kline is having...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The World's Greatest Detective
Daisy is in the pound, and not enjoying it much....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Dog Like Daisy
Daisy has only ten weeks to prove her usefulness or...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Letters to the Lost
Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
THE ELECT
For the past twelve years, seventeen-year-old August has been a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Booked
Like lightning/you strike/fast and free/legs zoom/down field/eyes fixed/on the checkered...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wolf-Hollow.jpg
Growing up in the shadows cast by two world wars,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Joplin, Wishing
A heartfelt and magical middle grade novel in the tradition...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wild Lily
It's the 1920s -- cars and planes are new. ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Moon Platoon (Space Runners #1)
In the year 2085, Benny Love is pretty used to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Invisible Emmie
This is the story of two totally different girls— ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
10 Things I Can See From Here
Think positive. Don’t worry; be happy. ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fancy Nancy and the Missing Easter Bunny
Join Fancy Nancy in a fabulous 8x8 storybook adventure, complete...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Defy the Stars
Noemi Vidal is a teen soldier from the planet Genesis,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Pretend We Never Met
If it were up to Mattie Markham, there would be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)