The Girl Is Murder

 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
548   0
Write Review
The Girl Is Murder
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 19, 2011
ISBN
9781596436091
Buy This Book
      

Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars. It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

I like it as a cute mystery.

The Girl is Murder was a cute mystery, and a fast read. I really like how the romance element was kept at a minimum, since some books—and I’m not pointing fingers—take it too far. I applaud Haines for presenting a mystery that can be enjoyed by all ages. The ending left me wondering about certain loose ends, which I hope will be explained in the second book.

Good Points
I like the characters. They weren’t one dimensional, and most of them had hidden depths, combined with the setting, well, it made for an enjoyable book. The plot had me guessing the whole time, and as clues were found it pointed in one direction, but led to another. I
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

    

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

The Retreat (The After Trilogy: Book One)
Earth was ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She Stood For Freedom
Joan Trumpauer Mulholland grew up in Virginia in the 1950s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Capers! (LEGO DC Super Heroes: Reader)
It's summer in Gotham City, and Batman treats Robin, Beast...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
And The Trees Crept In
A stunning, terrifying novel about a house the color of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A World Without You
Seventeen-year-old Bo has always had delusions that he can...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Rocks Fall Everyone Dies
Twin Peaks meets Stars Hollow in this paranormal suspense...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Call
The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller where...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Mirror and the Mage
Fourteen-year old Lucius Junius Brutus yearns to join the...
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
The Darkest Hour
Never underestimate a pretty face. My name is Lucie...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
51wP-G8MtPL__SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Haunting photographs and dark family secrets make this second...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Age of Myth: Book One of The Legends of the First Empire
Michael J. Sullivan's trailblazing career began with the breakout...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Today, he’s a high school dropout with no future. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Nate: Doodlepalooza
This third Big Nate activity book—now in paperback—is jam-packed with...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Top Prospect
Travis Gardner lives to play quarterback. He's a standout QB...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Floozombies! (Fizzopolis #2)
Harold Fuzzwonker, Floyd, and the Fizzies are under attack: Floozombies...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Famouse Fjord Race (Geronimo Stilton Micekings #2)
Who is Geronimo Stiltonord? He is a mouseking --...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)