Books Young Adult Fiction The Girl Is Murder

The Girl Is Murder

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f7/cc/c2/_TheGirlIsMurderKathrynMillerHaines_1336750020.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
423   0
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 19, 2011
ISBN
9781596436091
Buy This Book
      

Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars. It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
The Girl is Murder was a cute mystery, and a fast read. I really like how the romance element was kept at a minimum, since some books—and I’m not pointing fingers—take it too far. I applaud Haines for presenting a mystery that can be enjoyed by all ages. The ending left me wondering about certain loose ends, which I hope will be explained in the second book.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Breana M. Reviewed by Breana M. February 10, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

I like it as a cute mystery.

The Girl is Murder was a cute mystery, and a fast read. I really like how the romance element was kept at a minimum, since some books—and I’m not pointing fingers—take it too far. I applaud Haines for presenting a mystery that can be enjoyed by all ages. The ending left me wondering about certain loose ends, which I hope will be explained in the second book.

Good Points
I like the characters. They weren’t one dimensional, and most of them had hidden depths, combined with the setting, well, it made for an enjoyable book. The plot had me guessing the whole time, and as clues were found it pointed in one direction, but led to another. I
Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

In an abandoned house, the ghosts gather. They argue, they laugh, and they tell their stories. Some tell their own...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A MEMOIR BY THE YOUNGEST RECIPIENT OF THE NOBEL PEACE PRIZE "I come from a country that was created at...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Finally, a phonics primer that's not un-bear-able! Written by elementary reading specialist Kevin Bolger, Lazy Bear, Crazy Bear is a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Written by elementary reading specialist Kevin Bolger, these short, wacky comics are designed to teach beginning readers the five short...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
What this story needs is a pig in a wig on a boat with some friends having fun in the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
April and her sons, Matthew and Connor, have never known the freedoms that regular Americans enjoy every day. They...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Scarlett doesn’t remember anything before the age of five. Her parents say it’s from the trauma of seeing her house...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
two for joy.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When an adored—and very independent—aunt suffers a fall and comes to live with them, Jenna and her mom discover what...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
23395640.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Want to encourage a child to write creatively? Introduce him to Rufus! The joy of writing (and reading) fills every...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunting story about the destructive power of secrets, The Secrets of Lake Road is an accomplished and gripping suspenseful...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Stepping aside eighteen years ago, Maevan’s mother had chosen exile rather than a war she could not win. Now, Mae...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
curse of the king.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders! The Curse of the King...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
In an exhilarating new series, New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine rewrites history, creating a...
 
4.7
 
3.3 (1)
little elfie one.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
From carolers to snowmen to stars, everyone's favorite Christmas characters sing, shiver, and shine their way through the North Pole...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
just a teacher pet.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Join Mercer Mayer's classic and loveable character, Little Critter®, as he sets out on a new adventure in this brand-new...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Ashley Watson walks through the halls of her high school, bullies taunt and shove...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The end is near . . . When Aris Haan brought down Safara’s biggest war criminal, she’d thought it was...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the action-packed sequel to Rebel Wing, Aris battles for life and love . . . and not everyone will...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Dr. Seuss tells three rhyming tales featuring the extended family of the Cat in the Hat in I Can Lick...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A never-before-seen picture book by Dr. Seuss! This never-ever-before-seen picture book by Dr. Seuss about making up one’s mind is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)