The Girl Is Murder

 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
517   0
Write Review
The Girl Is Murder
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 19, 2011
ISBN
9781596436091
Buy This Book
      

Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars. It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

I like it as a cute mystery.

The Girl is Murder was a cute mystery, and a fast read. I really like how the romance element was kept at a minimum, since some books—and I’m not pointing fingers—take it too far. I applaud Haines for presenting a mystery that can be enjoyed by all ages. The ending left me wondering about certain loose ends, which I hope will be explained in the second book.

Good Points
I like the characters. They weren’t one dimensional, and most of them had hidden depths, combined with the setting, well, it made for an enjoyable book. The plot had me guessing the whole time, and as clues were found it pointed in one direction, but led to another. I
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

  

   

   

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smell of Other People's Houses
In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn’t like being...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Haters
From Jesse Andrews, author of the New York Times bestselling...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Defender
From the Edgar Award­–winning author of Acceleration comes a mystery...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Hidden Oracle (Trials of Apollo #1)
After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ferret (The Ferret Books 1)
Pia Wade's life is a book with torn-out pages, she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A New Leash On Life
Smokey, the miniature apricot poodle, is blessed. But can it...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Darkest Corners
The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
School of the Dead
In this spine-tingling story from Newbery Medal winner Avi, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
25664563.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Isis Blake hasn’t fallen in love in three years,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
5 Times Revenge
Five unlikely friends. Two bullies. One epic prank. Part The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Single Second
Twelve-year-old Nella Sabatini’s life is changing too soon, too fast....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eleven and Holding
Macy Hollinquest is eleven years old, and don’t count on...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sealed with a Secret
When Phoebe finds a beautiful antique at a flea market,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Moonburner
When 17-year old Kai is exposed as a female sorceress—a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Monster Trucks
Readers will delight in this lively read-aloud story with a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ms. Bixby's Last Day
John David Anderson, author of Sidekicked and The Dungeoneers, returns...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)