The Girl Is Murder

 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
599   0
Write Review
The Girl Is Murder
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 19, 2011
ISBN
9781596436091
Buy This Book
      

Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars. It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

I like it as a cute mystery.

The Girl is Murder was a cute mystery, and a fast read. I really like how the romance element was kept at a minimum, since some books—and I’m not pointing fingers—take it too far. I applaud Haines for presenting a mystery that can be enjoyed by all ages. The ending left me wondering about certain loose ends, which I hope will be explained in the second book.

Good Points
I like the characters. They weren’t one dimensional, and most of them had hidden depths, combined with the setting, well, it made for an enjoyable book. The plot had me guessing the whole time, and as clues were found it pointed in one direction, but led to another. I
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

  

  

 

   

  

   

    

   

   

   

   

  

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

The Witch's Vacuum Cleaner and Other Stories
Do you believe in magic? Can you imagine a war...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Escape From Prison Island (LEGO CITY)
In this new LEGO(R) CITY 8x8, three crooks have escaped...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Our Story
No one knows what happened that morning at River...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Make Out
Sixteen-year-old Renley needs three thousand dollars for the math...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Top Prospect
Travis Gardner lives to play quarterback. He's a standout...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Alterations
If anyone saw the prom boards Amelia Blanco makes...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas #1)
Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of...
 
4.3
 
3.5 (2)
Curse of the Sphinx
An Ancient Curse. An Immortal Monster. A Forbidden Love....
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Sidekick Showdown! (LEGO DC Super Heroes)
When Harley Quinn(TM) and her friends capture Superman(TM), Batman(TM) and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A List of Cages
When Adam Blake lands the best elective ever in his...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Football Superstars 2016
Featuring the biggest stars from the most exciting games of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
BASEBALL SUPERSTARS 2016
BASEBALL SUPERSTARS 2016 features the greatest superstars from the previous...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
We can be one world, one mind, one soul.-The.jpg
A call of souls. Union of power. Transcendent of time....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful fantasy story with strong female leads. An emotional...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl in the Picture
Nicole Morgan has been labeled many things — the geeky...
 
2.7
 
0.0 (0)
Weregirl
C. D. Bell's WEREGIRL is a fast-paced teen thriller...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)