The Girl Is Murder

 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
615   0
Write Review
The Girl Is Murder
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 19, 2011
ISBN
9781596436091
Buy This Book
      

Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars. It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

I like it as a cute mystery.

The Girl is Murder was a cute mystery, and a fast read. I really like how the romance element was kept at a minimum, since some books—and I’m not pointing fingers—take it too far. I applaud Haines for presenting a mystery that can be enjoyed by all ages. The ending left me wondering about certain loose ends, which I hope will be explained in the second book.

Good Points
I like the characters. They weren’t one dimensional, and most of them had hidden depths, combined with the setting, well, it made for an enjoyable book. The plot had me guessing the whole time, and as clues were found it pointed in one direction, but led to another. I
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future author,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an absorbing,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
NanoBots
A boy inventor creates the ultimate in high-tech superheroes that...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Hoffman - Pathway to Dragons - Book Cover - 100616 - Crop.jpg
Nine-year-old Billy Jones dreams of having a pet dragon! After...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unbound: A Novel in Verse
The day Grace is called from the slave cabins to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Lady of the Sea: The Aureate Chronicles, Book One
An illness, rapidly spreading among her people, becomes the catalyst...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenn Diagram
Eva Walker is a seventeen-year-old math genius. And if that...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Agent of Chaos.jpg
How did Fox Mulder become a believer? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devilsadvocate.jpg
How did Dana Scully become a skeptic? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lostinthe Pacific.jpg
World War II, October 21, 1942. A B-17 bomber drones...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)