The Girl Is Murder

 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
559   0
Write Review
The Girl Is Murder
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 19, 2011
ISBN
9781596436091
Buy This Book
      

Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars. It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

I like it as a cute mystery.

The Girl is Murder was a cute mystery, and a fast read. I really like how the romance element was kept at a minimum, since some books—and I’m not pointing fingers—take it too far. I applaud Haines for presenting a mystery that can be enjoyed by all ages. The ending left me wondering about certain loose ends, which I hope will be explained in the second book.

Good Points
I like the characters. They weren’t one dimensional, and most of them had hidden depths, combined with the setting, well, it made for an enjoyable book. The plot had me guessing the whole time, and as clues were found it pointed in one direction, but led to another. I
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

  

   

   

   

   

  

   

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

The Killer In Me
Hasn't he lived long enough? Why not? I could take...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The domed city of Evanescence is in ruins. With nowhere...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“It’s dark magic brings him back.” ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mission Mumbai: A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets
Travel to the colorful and chaotic streets of India from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreams
Moving on is the hardest thing she’ll ever have to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Call
The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kook
A heart-pounding love story that grips like a riptide,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Beneath Wandering Stars
After her soldier brother is horribly wounded in Afghanistan,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The One Left Behind: Magic
Many generations have passed since the Guardians crafted the world...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ferals
A sinister threat. A city in danger. A boy with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Black Cloak
“Never go into the deep parts of the forest, for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Monstrous
The city of Bryre suffers under the magic of an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Thousandth Floor.jpg
New York City as you’ve never seen it before....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For This Life Only
A young man struggles to move forward after the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Recoil
When a skilled gamer gets recruited as a sniper...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
An epic fantasy inspired by the Rumpelstiltskin fairy tale, about...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)