If I Could Be Like Jennifer Taylor

If I Could Be Like Jennifer Taylor

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1108   0
Write Review
If I Could Be Like Jennifer Taylor
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 17, 2011
ISBN
978-1927085929
Buy This Book
      
Carolyn Samuels is obsessed with the idea of being popular. She is convinced that the only thing keeping her from happiness is her too heavy for fashion body and not being a cheerleader. Hyperventilating when she gets nervous doesn't help. When she is paired for a math project with the girl who tormented her in middle school, Jennifer Taylor, she is sure it is going to be another year of pain. With Carolyn's crush on Jennifer's hunky junior quarterback, Brad, her freshman year in high school looks like a rerun of middle school. When Jennifer is the only student who knows why she fell in gym class, Carolyn is blackmailed into doing her math homework in return for Jennifer's silence. Jennifer takes on Carolyn as a pity project since she can't be seen with someone who dresses in jeans and sweatshirts. When Jennifer invites Carolyn to spend the night to make her over and teach her to tumble, Carolyn learns Jennifer's secret and lies to her own friends to cover it up. Will Carolyn become a cheerleader and popular? Does she continue to keep Jennifer's secret? Or will she be a target of this mean girl again?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: May 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Real Contemporary Tale

Carolyn dreads going to her first day of high school as she doesn't fit what she considers to be the 'perfect' girl. She's plus sized and has her faithful two friends but she's nothing like Jennifer Taylor, who in Carolyn's eyes is nothing short of perfection. Though she fantasizes about being like Jennifer, she still remembers how she tormented her in middle school. Breathe, Carolyn, Breathe, was Jennifer's chant when Carolyn would become so nervous she'd hold her breath and pass out.

What I really liked about this novel is how the main protagonist isn't skinny but rather a healthy sized teen. Carolyn also deals with issues that are familiar with other teens such as struggling with wanting to be popular and fitting in. Her love of her family is shown throughout this book too. Another big plus has to been her attitude. She's not over the top negative or filled with 'tude which is refreshing in a market that at times is filled with darker stories. For teens that want a lighter story, this is the one for them.

It would have been so easy to have Jennifer be the stereotypical 'mean' girl. The author does a great job showing us the real Jennifer, who isn't all perfection.

The huge issue in this story is Jennifer's secret that not only high school but college girls have in common. How Carolyn deals with this information is the main crux of this novel. Jennifer's secret takes a toll on Carolyn in ways she can't even imagine. Add to that her crush, Jennifer's boyfriend, who seems to have taken an interest in her too.

If I Could Be Like Jennifer Taylor is a real, honest take on a girl who wants to be popular and then struggles with whether she wants to pay that price. I feel this book would be great for high school and book club discussions on food disorders and also peer pressure.

Good Points
1. Carolyn is very likeable and not over the top with 'tude
2. Sensitive issues are tackled in a realistic way
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

Goose on a Farm
When Sophie and Goose go on a class trip to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears
Perfect for fans of Goodnight, Already! and You Will Be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)