Broken Illusions (Midnight Dragonfly #2)

Broken Illusions (Midnight Dragonfly #2) Featured

 
2.3
 
0.0 (0)
1143   0
Write Review
Broken Illusions (Midnight Dragonfly #2)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 08, 2012
ISBN
9780312647032
Buy This Book
      
It’s almost Mardi Gras, but for 16 year-old psychic Trinity Monsour this is no time for celebration. Another girl is missing. Tormented by visions she doesn’t understand—of an empty street lined by crumbling old buildings, a terrified voice warning her to be careful, and a body lying motionless in the grass, Trinity embarks upon a dark odyssey she could never have imagined. She’ll stop at nothing to better understand her abilities, convinced that doing so is the only way she can make sure the terrifying images she sees never actually happen. But it seems everyone wants to stop her. Her aunt is worried Trinity might discover secrets best left in the past. Her best friend, Victoria, is afraid Trinity is slipping away, her boyfriend, Chase, fears she’s taking too many chances, and the lead detective will barely let her out of his sight. Only one person stands by her side, and in doing so, he slips deeper and deeper into her heart and her dreams—blurring the lines of reality and illusion. When the dust settles, one of them will be dead.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
2.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
2.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0

Pretty Cover

This is the second book in a series but you don't necessarily have to read the first book, Shattered Dreams, to know what's going on.

This was not my favorite book. I felt it was a bit slow and a little on the dark side, with the characters seeming too broodish and immature for my taste. Chase and Trinity are at odds with each other a lot and his answer to conflict resolution is either a) walk away from her or b) grab her and kiss her like there's no tomorrow. I don't care how hot a guy is, there's only so much kissing I'd allow before I'd serve him a knuckle sandwich for lunch for trying to avoid having a conversation. Chase also spent way too much time with his ex and the bracelet thing would have been a deal breaker for me.

The situation with Dylan was a mix of restrained attraction and awkwardness, he too walks away when things get tense with Trinity. While it was nice that he seemed to magically show up to rescue her from danger, it was also kind of stalkerish. I felt like the guys needed to grow up and she needed to just decide who she wanted to be with.

It appears that a crime was solved in the first book, and there's one to solve in this one as well. My guess is there will be one that drives the plot of the next book and Trinity will also work out her feelings surrounding the boys.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frannie and Tru
When Frannie Little eavesdrops on her parents fighting she discovers...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)