Books Young Adult Fiction Wentworth Hall

Wentworth Hall Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/99/22/52/_WentworthHallbyAbbyGrahame_1335036451.jpg
 
4.7
 
2.7 (1)
898   1
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 01, 2012
ISBN
978-1442451964
Buy This Book
      

The prettiest people often have the ugliest secrets…

Eighteen-year-old Maggie Darlington has turned into an entirely different person. The once spirited teen is now passive and reserved. A change Lord and Lady Darlington can’t help but be grateful for. It’s 1912, and the Darlingtons of Wentworth Hall have more than just the extensive grounds to maintain. As one of Britain’s most elite families, they need to keep up appearances that things are as they have always been…even as their carefully constructed facade rapidly comes undone. Maggie has a secret. And she’s not the only one…the handsome groom Michael, the beautiful new French nanny Therese, the Darlingtons’ teenage houseguests Teddy and Jessica, and even Maggie’s younger sister Lila are all hiding something.

Passion, betrayal, heartache, and whispered declarations of love take place under the Darlingtons’ massive roof. And one of these secrets has the power to ruin the Darlingtons forever. When scandalous satires start appearing in the newspaper with details that closely mirror the lives of the Darlingtons, everyone is looking over their shoulder, worrying their scandal will be next. Because at Wentworth Hall, nothing stays secret for long.

Editor reviews

What a fun read! Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame was almost like a historical Gossip Girl. This book was just a darling to read, and I really enjoyed it. For fans of historical fiction, this is a must read. Even people who haven’t given historical fiction a try before should read Wenthworth Hall, as I found it read very easily and almost read more along the lines of a contemporary with the secrets, betrayal, and gossip. And it was just so fun!

There wasn’t a lot of depth to the plot, as it was more based around the gossip and secrets everyone had. The book is written in two parts almost – there is the normal storyline, but there is also a newsprint going around the satirizes the lif of the Darlingtons that is interspersed between the chapters.

I really liked most of the characters. Therese was a bit bland, but Maggie, Lila, Michael, and everyone else was quite lovely. This was one of those character driven books, which are always a ton of fun to read when the characters were as awesome as they were in this one.

The one thing I would have liked more is if the ending was extended out a bit. I would have loved to know what happened to the Twins or maybe some of the reactions to what other characters did. It was a drastic ending, so I feel like those reactions would have been quite fun to read.

Wentworth Hall was such a treat, and I highly recommend it. It’s a fast read and an enjoyable one at that. A wonderful debut – I cannot wait to see what is next for Abby Grahame.
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Erica, Editor Reviewed by Erica, Editor April 21, 2012
Last updated: April 21, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (192)

A Delightful Historical Fiction Debut

What a fun read! Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame was almost like a historical Gossip Girl. This book was just a darling to read, and I really enjoyed it. For fans of historical fiction, this is a must read. Even people who haven’t given historical fiction a try before should read Wenthworth Hall, as I found it read very easily and almost read more along the lines of a contemporary with the secrets, betrayal, and gossip. And it was just so fun!

There wasn’t a lot of depth to the plot, as it was more based around the gossip and secrets everyone had. The book is written in two parts almost – there is the normal storyline, but there is also a newsprint going around the satirizes the lif of the Darlingtons that is interspersed between the chapters.

I really liked most of the characters. Therese was a bit bland, but Maggie, Lila, Michael, and everyone else was quite lovely. This was one of those character driven books, which are always a ton of fun to read when the characters were as awesome as they were in this one.

The one thing I would have liked more is if the ending was extended out a bit. I would have loved to know what happened to the Twins or maybe some of the reactions to what other characters did. It was a drastic ending, so I feel like those reactions would have been quite fun to read.

Wentworth Hall was such a treat, and I highly recommend it. It’s a fast read and an enjoyable one at that. A wonderful debut – I cannot wait to see what is next for Abby Grahame.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
2.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Let's talk about books that disappoint you.



I mean, this sounds a lot like a YA Downton Abbey should! It's super promising in its description! But no. There's a reason Downton Abbey has already been renewed for season five. Besides just being good, that dedicated time is necessary to really help connect viewers with characters. In a book as short as this with as many plot lines as it has? That connection can't happen.

That was the big disappointment that has stuck with me, a year and a half after reading. There was nothing stand out about the writing or the characters, but I can still remember so vividly how disappointing it was to be ready to get invested in these characters' lives and struggles and to support them in trying to be happy, but I couldn't. I need a few hundred more pages or more books in a series. Maybe if the writing had been a knockout or some of the characters had really come away with me, it's something I could have been invested in. But...nope.

The plot lines were rather stereotypical and expected. There's only so much you can do to create major scandals and I get that but...when there's not much else going, I need a plot that really grabs me. And these kinds of stereotypical plot lines also tend to pigeon hole the characters into certain types, which is what I'm guessing happened here since I remember nothing about the characters.

So, basically, this book was a massive let down for me. I had such high hopes when I read it, but now, even with all of this time, I'm still kind of bitter. If you're looking for something Downton Abbey related, this should not be where you turn, but if you're into Gossip Girl and history? Then it might be worth trying. Or if you just need an easy read to fly through. This can also serve that purpose.
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Julie Reviewed by Julie November 15, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (44)

A Disappointment

Let's talk about books that disappoint you.



I mean, this sounds a lot like a YA Downton Abbey should! It's super promising in its description! But no. There's a reason Downton Abbey has already been renewed for season five. Besides just being good, that dedicated time is necessary to really help connect viewers with characters. In a book as short as this with as many plot lines as it has? That connection can't happen.

That was the big disappointment that has stuck with me, a year and a half after reading. There was nothing stand out about the writing or the characters, but I can still remember so vividly how disappointing it was to be ready to get invested in these characters' lives and struggles and to support them in trying to be happy, but I couldn't. I need a few hundred more pages or more books in a series. Maybe if the writing had been a knockout or some of the characters had really come away with me, it's something I could have been invested in. But...nope.

The plot lines were rather stereotypical and expected. There's only so much you can do to create major scandals and I get that but...when there's not much else going, I need a plot that really grabs me. And these kinds of stereotypical plot lines also tend to pigeon hole the characters into certain types, which is what I'm guessing happened here since I remember nothing about the characters.

So, basically, this book was a massive let down for me. I had such high hopes when I read it, but now, even with all of this time, I'm still kind of bitter. If you're looking for something Downton Abbey related, this should not be where you turn, but if you're into Gossip Girl and history? Then it might be worth trying. Or if you just need an easy read to fly through. This can also serve that purpose.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)