Underworld (Abandon Trilogy #2)

Underworld (Abandon Trilogy #2) Featured

 
4.7
 
3.5 (4)
2084   1
Write Review
Underworld (Abandon Trilogy #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 08, 2012
ISBN
978-0545284110
Buy This Book
      
Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera isn't dead. Not this time. But she is being held against her will in the dim, twilit world between heaven and hell, where the spirits of the deceased wait before embarking upon their final journey. Her captor, John Hayden, claims it's for her own safety. Because not all the departed are dear. Some are so unhappy with where they ended up after leaving the Underworld, they've come back as Furies, intent on vengeance . . . on the one who sent them there and on the one whom he loves. But while Pierce might be safe from the Furies in the Underworld, far worse dangers could be lurking for her there . . . and they might have more to do with its ruler than with his enemies. And unless Pierce is careful, this time there'll be no escape.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Just Wonderful

After reading Abandon, I simply could not wait to read Underworld. I am happy to share that Underworld was basically everything I was looking for in a sequel. It was enticing, quick paced, and one heck of a read. I cannot wait for Awaken, book 3, after the awesome that was Underworld.

Quite literally, by about page 3 I was completely sucked in and didn’t put Underworld down until I had finished. Meg Cabot has taken the myth of Persephone and Hades and modernized and changed it, which makes this series so much fun to read. Everything is new and exciting, since I never know what changes Meg Cabot is going to have made. The plot is always intense, and the scenes between Pierce and John are just adorable. I love the banter between them.

I love John. He is such a complex character and has such charm – I can’t help but to love him. Readers learn so much more about his character and background in Underworld, which was neat. Pierce really grows as a character in Underworld, which made me like her even more. She is just such a great main character. In Underworld, a lot of new characters are introduced, and I really loved them all. They all brought something different to the story.

The ending was an absolute killer! The wait for Awaken is going to be intense indeed. The way Meg Cabot has built the story, Awaken is going to just blow the tops off of both Abandon and Underworld, which I am super excited about. Is it next year yet?

This series is one of my favorites. I just love how Meg Cabot has really made the myth her own and went with it. It is so wonderful, and I could just reread it over and over. Underworld by Meg Cabot is a book you will be sad to have missed.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot 
 
3.3  (4)
Characters 
 
3.5  (4)
Writing Style 
 
3.8  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Fun series!

This version of Persephone and Hades is moving right along. Underworld was the second book in the Abandon series by Meg Cabot. So far, I've enjoyed the books.

The relationship between Pierce and John is interesting. Although Pierce got on my nerves a bit in this book at times, she's an overall pretty likeable character. I admire her determination and commitment to those she loves. Like all of Meg Cabot's books that I've read so far, the characters' actions and voice seem appropriate for their age. Pierce is not a 17-year-old girl acting 30. She makes stupid choices and whines just like any teenager would.

I think the best part of Underworld, though, has to be the subplot. John's history is dark and helps move the story along, while Alex's delimma really lights sparks. I found what was happening with Alex to be biggest driving force so far. I will even admit that the surprise at the end caught me off guard. (Not so much what happened, but who was there to witness it.)

Like any good middle book in a series, Underworld ends with a cliffhanger! So, if you don't like cliffhangers, you better wait to read this one until the final book comes out. You will be happy to know, also, that this is a super fast read. I was able to finish this one in just a few hours. Hooray for summer reading!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0

Underworld

Wait, what? Why does Underworld start off with Pierce saying how in love with John she is? When did that happen? There were no declarations of love from her at the end of Abandon! Now they’re talking about marriage, sex, and cohabitation? And how she could “never hate him,” yet he’s tricked her into staying in the Underworld with him forever? No. Just no. The previous book only covered two days! Two whole days in which she had ONE full conversation with him ! Then she spends all of Underworld referring to him as her boyfriend, which felt awkward since he’s 184 years old; not really a boy.

Much like the previous book, Underworld has a very small time frame in which the story is happening. This time it’s basically reduced to one day, but at least it’s an eventful day. Pierce starts out in the castle that is to be her home in the Underworld, but events bring her back to the land of the living where she’s being stalked by Furies. Then she and John are running all over the island, then back to the Underworld, then back to the cemetery.

At least there’s a plot this time. Aside from Pierce being hunted by Furies who want to torture her for all eternity in order to torture John, her cousin, Alex, has gotten himself into a bind. Or so Pierce thinks. She’s risking her life to save her cousin, who is really not that likeable, from being on the wrong side of a high school prank. If I was at risk of eternal torture, I wouldn’t give a crap about some stupid high school traditions that my stupid cousin got himself tangled in. Then there’s something about drugs and what not, and it was stupid. Get back to the Furies!

I did like Underworld better than Abandon, but that’s not really saying much. Both books are pretty bad. It’s basically the most extreme case of insta-love and undying devotion I have ever read. Pierce goes from “let’s take it slow” to having sex in less than 24 hours, and she never gets mad at John for any of his lies and manipulations. What is this relationship even based on?! However, I’ve come his far so I might as well read the final book to see where this mess is going.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Great Sequel

Pierce is now in the place she never wanted to go back to: the underworld! John says is to protect her but who is going to protect her family?
We got to know more about he lord of the underworld and what Pierce found out about him may be the end of them but their relationship grows. There was never a dull part in the book and I just kept on loving it.. it was so much better than Abandon.
I also loved the new addition to the series- Henry is my favourite!
The ending was great- Kayla's reaction when she found out about John and Pierce was priceless- I wonder what will happen next.

I can't wait for the next book in this series- Awaken- I hope I don't get disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Soooooo much better than the first book!

While I didn't like the first book much, Meg Cabot brings her magic to this one! Pierce and John's attraction to one another comes into play right away. This book follows Pierce trying to save her cousin Alex from being trapped in a coffin. Things are learned about the Furies, John's past, and Pierce's new role as Queen of the underworld.

Good Points
Pierce and John get serious!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)